We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League
Ranked #4 of 131 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sponsored by the Miami Design Preservation League, the daily walking tours of the Miami Beach historic district are a terrific way to see the amazing architecture of the area. The tour guides are knowledgable and helpful.The ninety-minute tour provides an introduction to the Art Deco, Mediterranean Revival, and Miami Modern (MiMo) styles found within the Miami Beach Architectural Historic District. Explore hotels, restaurants, and other commercial structures with a visit to a number of interiors. The tours depart from the Art Deco Welcome Center at 1001 Ocean Drive (at 10th Street) on the following schedule: Daily, Monday through Sunday at 10:30 am and every Thursday evening at 6:30 pm. You do not need to make advance reservations - simply arrive at the Art Deco Welcome Center within 10-15 minutes of the scheduled departure time in order to purchase your ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Warwick, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“2nd time in two months”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a great tour. Do not miss it. I now walk around South Beach will more education and delight in the buildings and the history. Doing it twice was great. The guides are all good and cover slightly different material. It is too much to remember in one tour so doing it twice does NOT feel repetitive. It is divine

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    108
    16
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well worth it !”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I would recommend this tour. Lasting about 1 hour 45 minutes, we were taken in and around the hotels which make up the Art Deco historical district. Our guide, Kent, was informative, easy to listen to, and he looked after us well. You can always tell when someone is passionate about their subject rather than reading from a script. There were about 15 to 20 persons in each tour party and we considered it to be interesting and pleased that the cost went towards the Preservation League.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“A must-do tour. And the Preservation League is the must-use guide.”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A friend highly recommended this South Beach walking tour, and even though our time in Miami was limited, we were glad we made it a priority. We're not really "into" architecture, and often find walking tours a waste of time -- but this one was a great bargain on many fronts. Our volunteer tour guide, Kent, was passionate about the history and architecture of the South Beach area, and we saw the district with new eyes thanks to his insider and encyclopedic knowledge. Before the tour, we saw a funky tourist area. Post-tour, we understood much more about an area with a rich history that made us want to make a return visit -- we actually learned something, and had some fun in the doing. Plus, the cost was right, and we knew our money was going to a good cause.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Informative tour”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A 90 minute walking tour where we learned about the history of Miami Beach as well as an overview of the architecture of these fascinating buildings. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank T8travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My friend and I were so thankful to learn that your tour was available. I have always considered Art Deco to be my favorite building style and was thrilled to be able to see Miami Beach's examples. Our guide, Pamela, really knew her stuff and was able to point out and explain features that I would have probably missed. All this along with the history presented made for a wonderful afternoon. Thank you so much. Carolyn G.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League also viewed

 

Been to The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing