We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important for my teenagers to experience”
Review of Holocaust Memorial

Holocaust Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Miami to the Max Tour with Lunch
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Miami Beach Bike Tour
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Miami City Bus Tour
Ranked #5 of 119 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1990, Kenneth Treister's striking environmental memorial is dominated by the Sculpture of Love and Anguish, a 40-foot-tall outstretched hand, reaching to the sky.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Manhasset, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Important for my teenagers to experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My kids live in a wonderful bubble. So it's extremely difficult to comprehend the reality of the Holocaust and other horrible world brutalities that continue to plague our world. It is important that they see as closely as possible the unfortunate realities that have happened and continue to happen outside their currently narrow world. I believe this memorial evokes much more emotion and intellect than just reading about it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    543
    130
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very impressive and moving monument”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Holocaust Memorial itself is a huge sculpure in the middle of a lake which is impressive in itself. We were even more impressed and deeply moved by the "exhibition" around the memorial where the facts and figures of the Holocaust are displayed. A very beautiful gateway with a hole in the roof in the shape of the Star Of David (so its shadow / conture is shown on the ground) leads to the monument itself.
We were deeply moved by the place. You should definitely go there and experience it yourself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ttvvuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sobering, spectacular”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a must in SOBE. Plan to spend an hour reading the wall inscriptions and viewing this amazing structure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonnyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“POWERFUL”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

One of the most humbling experiences of my life! I felt the same as I did the first time I saw the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington, DC. The sculpture seemed to be alive and the child kneeling by the entrance to the Sculpture of Love and Anguish is still in my mind. It was very educational, even for 2 adults who had believed themselves to be fairly well informed of the history of the Holocaust. The black water surrounding the memorial is the perfect accent and the mood is somber to say the least. We were the only 2 people there at the time, but it made it no less powerful. It might be frightening for smaller children so I would exercise some caution. There is no admission fee, but I was happy to make a donation toward the upkeep of this important memorial. Parking could also be an issue, but please persevere, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful sculpture to commemorate Holocaust victims”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you're more interested in history and nature than Miami Beach night scene, I would recommend visiting the Holocaust Memorial. The sculpture is beautiful, the place is serene and it's right by Miami Beach Botanical Garden which you may want to visit as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunnyInes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing