We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not only Jews were in the Holocaust...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holocaust Memorial

Holocaust Memorial
Book In Advance
$64*
and up
Miami To The Max
Ranked #6 of 114 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1990, Kenneth Treister's striking environmental memorial is dominated by the Sculpture of Love and Anguish, a 40-foot-tall outstretched hand, reaching to the sky.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not only Jews were in the Holocaust...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

But according to this place that's the case.

Either intentionally or unintentionally I don't know, but they left out an important part: not only Jewish people were subjected to the horrors of the Holocaust!

I hate to leave a bad review for subject matter such as this, but if they ignore basic history you're better off skipping it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jessycubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,210
    469
    113
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
163 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Heart wrenching visit, but well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We did not know what to expect when we read about this, but we're very glad we stopped to see it when we were in Miami. It is powerful and memorable and perhaps the most impressive monument I have ever seen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sobering Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It only takes a few minutes to experience the reminder of a difficult time in the history of the world. The wall is reminiscent of the Viet Nam Memorial in DC. Visit this free memorial and you will never forget it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sk1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very moving, spend time here and look at all the photographs, better still go round with one of the guides.Everyone who comes to Miami should visit so we don't forget. Miami has the most holocaust survivors in the USA they are true survivors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandlhixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went to the memorial and found it to be very informative. Most people know of what happened but this cast a personal light onto history. It was very moving and very respectful. Jewish or not it is hard to stand in the shadow of the hand and not feel something.

Helpful?
Thank BrambleB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing