We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Worthwhile Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holocaust Memorial

Holocaust Memorial
Book In Advance
$64*
and up
Miami To The Max
Ranked #6 of 114 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1990, Kenneth Treister's striking environmental memorial is dominated by the Sculpture of Love and Anguish, a 40-foot-tall outstretched hand, reaching to the sky.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Worthwhile Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Memorial was done very well. A history with photographs provides a solid introduction. The sculptures and the walls with the names of victims of the Holocaust were tastefully done. the benches and arbors with greenery provide a somber mood and time for reflection.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nycresident92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    469
    113
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is difficult to see these images but that is the point. Sculpture is so touching and photos will share this awful time in history to younger audience. Well planned layout as the viewer winds around the walk viewing all the facts and photos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarshaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

In my opinion, no trip to South Beach would be complete without a visit to this memorial. I truly believe that we must see what mistakes we have made in the past so that we will not do them again. Unfortunately, this happens in our present day world..only with different people. Maybe more people should visit this memorial... I found this memorial to be very informative...with the pictures, names of all that died, statues, monuments ...so much to learn. I especially found the middle monument with the hand rising up and people in agony to be beyond words. With the music playing in he background, it really brought home the suffering that so many people suffered during this time. It is hard to believe that all that suffering went on yet so many countries decided not to do anything to help them... So many generations wiped out because of a hatred toward a group of people..... Why can we not learn from this.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well done and worthwhile memorial.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This memorial was very well done and worthwhile. The art work was well done as well. Such a sad time in our collective history. I am pleased my children were able to see this and make somewhat real what they've only read about previously.

Helpful?
1 Thank jennshel1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“serene.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice memorial, free, worth a visit, we were fortunate to speak to survivor so was ever more poignant and to feel that this was not so long ago..

set around a big hand sculpture, lilllies and water.....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sudeshBunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing