We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting place to visit”

Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU
Ranked #10 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewish Museum of Florida-FIU is the only Museum dedicated to telling the story of 250 years of Florida Jewish heritage, arts and culture. The museum is housed in two adjacent lovingly restored historic buildings, at 301 Washington Avenue on South Beach, that were once synagogues for Miami Beach's first Jewish congregation. The museum's focal point is its core exhibit, "MOSAIC: Jewish Life in Florida, 1763 to Present" and its temporary history and art exhibits that change periodically. A Collections and Research Center, several films, Timeline Wall of Jewish history, museum Store filled with unique items and Bessie's Bistro complete the experience for visitors of all ages and backgrounds. The museum is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An interesting place to visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Jewish Museum of Florida (Ziff has no connection with it) presents changing programs throughout the year with it's focus on the history of the jewish people in Florida. It does have constantly changing exhibits of other Jewish History and memorabilia also. The volunteer guides are both interesting and knowledgable and makes the time spent there more enjoyable. By the way, looking for a gift? They have a wonderful array of things that you won't find elsewhere.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    136
    30
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn NY
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Gem in an unexpected place”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

jews used to be restricted to living south of 5th St. in Miami Beach. They created a vibrant community there. The synagogue is lovely and it houses a museum that highlights the lives and accomplishments (many!) of Florida's early Jews. This is living history. It is not just for Jews or elderly people. It is for everyone. You only need an hour or so for a visit

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank mkairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A beautiful collection of history and stories from Florida Jewish Families”
Reviewed February 8, 2011

When I travel, I try to include some type of Jewish connection to the area. I already knew it, but It is really interesting to actually see how many of our other destinations (ie.: Curacao, London, Amsterdam) are all inter-connected.

Firstly, I was really impressed with the museums security. Then, I walked into a lovely gift shop; which of course, I could not leave empty handed. The selection was quite good and the prices were very fair.

The museum is actually housed in 2 side-by-side synagogues, the first and second synagogues on Miami Beach. The museum is made up of wonderful pictures and treasures given by Jewish Families who are, or have been, connected to army, war, or the history of the Floridian Jewish communities. It also has a fantastic section of beautiful photographs taken of Holocaust survivors.

My 18 year old son, who didn't want to go, and refused to have a good time, really enjoyed reading the families' stories and seeing the different donated items like army uniforms, Judaic treasures, and other photos. As a matter of fact, when explaining to our family over dinner what we saw, he corrected me several times with distinctive facts that he totally absorbed.

I wish there had been someone on the floor to ask a question or two to, but this was a wonderful compliment to our South Beach day in Miami. I am so glad we went, and I would highly recommend this museum to everyone.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank DannaFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“very interesting hour”
Reviewed November 23, 2006

We visited this museum on a saturday, when it's free admission. This must make it the best value attraction in Florida let alone Miami Beach! Exhibition was easy to follow, and very informative. You can also sit and watch a short film. We learnt many interesting things about the Jewish community in Miami. Staff were also very friendly, and spoke from their own experiences, rather than just reading a script.

Helpful?
2 Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
Reviewed May 23, 2006

My wife and I were on our 10th anniversary trip and stopped into visit this museum after Joe's Stone Crabs restaurant was closed for lunch. What a great treat! We are not Jews but this museum told such a compelling story, it was worth the visit. It is not a big place but the tour guide was fantastic in telling the story and giving information. This place is worth visiting.

Helpful?
1 Thank eddiep_okc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing