We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Cheapest hotel in south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
The Clay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
UK
Level Contributor
447 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“One of the Cheapest hotel in south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Nestled on the corner of quaint Española Way and bustling Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the Historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach.

Twenty-four hours a day,you can step throughFrench doorsonto the cool terracotta floor staffed front desk- The same desk that's been there since 1925. Apparantly.

Came in very handy for location, cost, ability to ride the bus around the beach and to downtown and ultimately the airport, TV in rooms and aircon

Unique Qualities: Great location, in spanish locale, friendly staff and easy to deal with, not far from local shops, bus links and within 5 mins walk of the beach

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue,South Beach, Florida 33139
Website: http://www.clayhotel.com/

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jh6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    639
    429
    139
    132
See reviews for
236
652
137
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

It's a hostel place so don't come here if u r looking for a fancy place. Room is small but it's just a place to sleep and take a shower for us. We spent most of the time somewhere else. It wasn't too noisy like some people said. Bathroom smelled strange. We had to open the window in the toilet whole time but people outside could see us if we turned on the light. Not very clean but maid was honest. My boyfriend forgot his wallet in the room but maid didn't steal anythin :-) U need to bring your own toilet stuff but toilet paper. It's on Espanola way wit Spanish and mexican restaurants. Only 10 mins walk to the beach and few mins to other restaurants, bars, clubs on Washington Ave. We recommend "Thai House South Beach, our favorite and Thai restaurant. Cheaper, nicer and better service that other Asian restaurants we found in South Beach. No beach towel or room service for u here. Very easy to walk around Collins Ave, Ocean Drive or even walkin street in Lincoln Ave. I recommend u to stay here if u r on the budget :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Whent with my girlfriend, hoped for an inexpensive regular accomodation after being alone in a hostel (South Beach Hostel, far better overall experience, consifering it was a hostel). The published location is great, only that's just for the "lobby" and front desk, which is shared by two restaurants and a "deli", which are not hotel's outlets but different stores. The room is located two blocks from there in an old, almost destroyed building. Parking not included, breakfast not included, adding for a total of 117 USD after tax (spend your money elsewere). When you get to the building you need to take your luggage upstairs, no elevator. Small room, smaller bathroom, no room for unpack your stuff.
Front desk staff is kinda friendly, valet parking guy is a disaster.
Española way is a nice place, though very noisy at night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jotaemepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Fantastic BUDGET hotel.
Inexpensive and at a great location.
I’ve been there 2 times and going back next week.
First time, with two friends while in college. We loved the location, the room, the street noise, and the people.
Second time, 4 years later with the fiancée. We didn’t love it as much. We wanted to sleep, and a comfortable bed and being close to the beach was more important than in my previous trip.
Third time, a friend and I are flying in from different cities to have a guys weekend. I’m sure I’ll love it again for the same reasons I loved the first time around.
To sum it all up: great budget hotel for low maintenance people. Definitely, not for couples with kids or for couples looking for a romantic weekend. Not recommended for business travelers either.
If you are single, on a budget, and want to be close to everything, then this is it for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

this hostel doesn't have elevator !! and if you are so lucky to have your room at the third floor , how do you manage with your luggage ? think about !! i have still backache !! rooms are noisy especially with the window on espanola way,in the middle of the night you can listen guests drunk in the hotel corridors, clay hotel need urgent renovation !!! it's falling down

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhonny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

I was in Miami for a conference and on a tight budget, and this hotel came recommended, I guess because it's walking distance from the convention center. The staff were nice enough. However, the room was tiny and had just a bed and a TV, no chair or closet to hang clothes. The carpet was so old and grey I didn't want to walk on it in bare feet, and the whole place just seemed seedy. The bathroom seemed relatively new and was clean. I could probably have tolerated the rest except that the bed was so old and uncomfortable that I woke up after only 2 hours of sleep and was unable to go back to sleep for the rest of the night. I could feel every spring digging into my back and it was unbearable. There was nothing else to sit on in the room and I didn't feel like sitting on the filthy carpet, so it was a rough night. It's also a pretty noisy place, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on in nearby rooms or in the hall (and depending on which side of the hotel you're in, you may also hear one of the loud bars downstairs that is open almost all night. The next morning I looked at another room from which someone had just checked out, and it also had an ancient, horrible bed. I checked out of the Clay and would never return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger52619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for 4 days at the beginning of our trip. Cheap and great location for a bargain price!! Loads of bars and resturants near and just a few blocks from the beach, also the staff were nice and helpful. They had computers you are able to use for only a dollar. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baltic Hotel
#135 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#130 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#157 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing