We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Clay - A M A Z I N G!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #119 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ireland
1 review
“The Clay - A M A Z I N G!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Amazing hotel/hostel for the (fussy, yet fun) budget traveller! Fabulous location, clean facilites, excellent prices and friendly staff!! Loved this place soooo much ended up staying 3 weeks instead of 5 nights. Oozes character, and espanola way is one of the nicest places in South Beach, always buzzing, close to the beaches, nightclubs, restaurants, shops, supermarkets, internet cafes! The staff were so nice they even looked after our suitcases when we went on a 5-day cruise of the Bahamas! Couldn't recommend The Clay more highly... I loved it! Absolutely loved it, so much so I actually miss it now I'm home! A true gem of a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblegirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    657
    438
    139
    133
See reviews for
246
674
139
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at the Clay Hotel for 3 nights in September 2009. We found the hotel to be in a fantastic location, right in the Art Deco district, and two blocks from the beach.

Parking was a bit of an issue but there is valet parking for $15 a night with in/out facilities.

The hotel itself is spacious and nicely decorated. The rooms were small in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at in Florida for a cheaper price. However, you are paying for the location here. The a/c was brilliant, and our room also had a fridge, a safe and a tv. The hotel also had internet facilities ($0.05 per minute) with Skype but only two computers and these were always busy.

The real gem is the mexican restaurant downstairs (Oh Mexico!) which offered great value fresh tex mex food and was very charming on Espanola Way. Don't go to the Italian opposite without looking at the menu first as it is ridiculously overpriced and the food is not that great. Prepare to be disappointed.

Our highlights of the area include:
- Oh Mexico restaurant
- The Front Porch cafe on Ocean Drive (really good breakfast/brunch food)
- Lost Weekend (a bar which has a great jukebox and pool tables - ladies drink for free on a Wednesday!)
- Lincoln Road (a 5 minute walk north) which has lots of shops, bars and outside dining
- Key Biscayne (it's a 20 minute drive from downtown Miami and the state park on the south of the island is devastatingly beautiful).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiekp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCKER
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

I got to Miami on Friday morning before check in, around 10:00am, the lady at the front desk let me check in early. The staff was very nice, the rooms are small but for what you pay and the location, you can not beat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Satyed at the Clay Hotel 6 nights ( July 2009 ). We had a VIP room with balcony on the 2nd floor. Room had bath tub, shower, hairdryer, big fridge, in-room safe, coffee-making facility, air-con, balcony with 2 chairs and small table with a nice wiev to Espanola way. Room was very clean and decorated nicely. Nothing to complain about! There was a restaurant under the room but the noise did not disturb us. If You like to make coffee there are just plastic cups in room so I would prefer bringing better cups or mugs with You.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I have stayed there for a week of beach. My intention was pay a little to be near the beach and nightlife. If you are used to hostel, you will have no surprises :-) poor sheets, bad looking bathroom, horrible and old forniture. But my room was cleaned everyday. I few unsafe there, I stayed in the village and no one secure this entry. we have eletronic cards to open the gate, but since there are bars/restaurants in the same building, the gate remains open and unwatched sometimes and the room's doors are too old and there is almost 2 inchs space between door's bottom and the floor.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gio_poa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

lyon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Non much things to say. Just shelter and spend a couple nights.Rooms are clean as i seen. but dont expect a super hygienic room service. 6 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

we loved this great little hotel not far from south beach, it was a real home from home, our room was great with a balcony over looking the street below with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_pownall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#111 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#150 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chelsea
#80 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,738 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#127 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Budget Places, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing