We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Quality...as long as you're in the first building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #108 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Quality...as long as you're in the first building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Clay Hotel is in a great location, right above Espanola Way which has tons of restaurants and bars. This does mean that it's very noisy outside and inside the guestrooms.

Initially, we were given a room in the second building. Clay Hotel is in the middle of renovations, and it is VERY obvious. The first main building is totally renovated, however, the back building is awful. There was ply-wood on the hallway floors and a bad odor. Our room smelled awful! We called down to the front desk and complained, and they were able to move us to a room in the first building (thank goodness!). The second room was much nicer and well decorated.

Overall, the hotel was good quality for the price. Make sure to get a room in the main building though!

Room Tip: Get a room in the first main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdalke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    688
    451
    142
    141
See reviews for
256
709
142
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tracys landing, md
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is located in a great area, rooms are laid out weird but comfortable. The thing that bothered me is no elevator and no bellhop, and this is not disclosed elsewhere. So if you stay here pack light we are in our 50's and drug our bags up two flights of steps

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kblackstock718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed one night here before leaving for a cruise. There were four of us and we stayed in a two queen room with a bathroom in between the rooms. Jose at the front desk was very friendly and helpful during check-in/out. Room was quite small but as expected and we didn't plan to spend much time in the room anyway. Location was perfect- walked to the beach, central location with Espanola Way, Ocean Dr, Collins, Washington, Lincoln Road Mall all right there. No shortage of things to see and do! Oh Mexico downstairs had a great dinner and breakfast menu, not to mention a fun people-watching location on a Friday night.
Would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The rooms here are small and no frills, but they are clean. There is a nice common area on the second floor with a dining table and balcony. They offer valet parking for $20/day and are within walking distance to beautiful beaches, great restaurants, and nightlife. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisvancil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, which were 2 too many. Rooms are tiny, and there's nowhere to store your luggage. Carpets are horrible and bathrooms likewise. Noisy street, high prices, no friendly welcome at arrival. Only positive note is the location which is good and close to the beach. But not recommendable and certainly not worth the 250 dollars a night

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Frafranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here for just tonight - a quick stop in south beach as we make our way to the keys. Booked this hotel two months in advance and paid in full. ($250) for a room with two double beds. We called ahead to ask about parking and early check in. We were told the valet parking is $19 per day and they would store our luggage if the room wasn't ready yet. Upon arrival the valet charged us $20. Not a big deal but confusing when you hear the front desk telling people it's $19 lol.
While waiting to check in another hotel guest approached the front desk and was very angry about where her room was and the conditions of the hallway/building. Renovations are on going and there is a huge mess. We find out that her room is the floor above us - and when we question the desk clerk she assures us that we will not have that problem as it is another floor. We decided to have our girls (21yr olds) wait with the luggage while we go down the block to check it out. All I can say is WOW. I was appalled. There are mattresses in the hallway. You have to climb over tools and garbage to get down the hallway. We open the door to the room and it's the size of a shoe box. (Room #506) one bed. (For four people?) I didn't see a bathroom - I think it was a shared hall bath. .?? We went back to the desk and my husband told them no way are we staying in that room or that building. I took pictures of it. He gave them the option to move us or refund our money and we'll move on. The girl at the front desk was very un professional and got huffy with us. She pretty much ignored us after that and wasn't going to help us. My hubby went over to the guy and asked where the manager was. We were told that there was none on tonight and no one was accountable for the guests or the rooms or problems. His response "I only make $10 an hour". Really? So they don't pay front desk customer service employees enough to make sure hotel guests are happy and rooms are clean and safe? Okkkk.
The guy did however make an effort to move our room to the main building - and after checking it out we gave the ok to stay. This room has two beds and the room is clean and the bathroom is new. Air works great. TV is new and controls work. The hallways are a bit dingy but the building is old (1920's) and it does have some character.
Will update my review after staying the night and checking out the sights. First it's time for a much needed nap.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jobosumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hi All,
Don't normally do this but thought I'd share my view of The Clay Hotel.
I stayed here for what was meant to be two nights whilst on a 2 week holiday to Florida. My boyfriend and I decided to book this hotel as it looked reasonable and it was one of the cheaper options for around this area. Although I read all the reviews I dismissed alot of the negative. It wasn't until we arrived we were hugely disappointed.

The hotel reception area was very outdated however this wasn't an issue and thought the room would be better. Our view was from the trash area of the restaurant. The room has burn marks on the carpets, it smelled really bad i.e damp and the aircon sounded like it was going to explode. We tried to change rooms but said that they were fully occupied. The area itself is brilliant couldn't have asked for a better area your right amongst everything from the beach to shops including miami ink and Dash. I would advise to save a little more and go for a nicer hotel because it shortened our trip and we ended up going home really early the following morning because I was exhaused. If I didn't keep the aircon on the smell would become worse because it was too stuffy in the room and when I did keep the aircon on it was too noisy.

I know alot of people say not to pay attention to tripadvisor as people have different opinions but this was extremely bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#94 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#184 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Budget Places and Hotels.com so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing