We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #105 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very clean. Rooms are small but when in South Beach the most important is the cleansiness. Hallway floors need replacing, they literally sink in.

People at the front desk arent so friendly. We had a 4:30 am pick up I asked an older gentleman if he can call the shuttle to confirm and he refused and told me theyre closed. I decided to call and sure enough they picked up the guy was just lazy.

They give you and option to use a microwave, toaster and or coffee maker but there is no running water where it is located. Near the front lounge area on the 2nd floor.

The Hotel has NO ammenities. They do have Valet parking but I have no idea where they park the cars.

The Hotel is conveniently located on Washington ave. Perfect location to everything!!!!!

Beach is 2 blocks away. Collins ave is 2 blocks away thats where you will find the South Beach strip. Bars close by 4:30am. Most drinks they charge tax and they charge their own gratuity. Which i thought was pretty unfair. 1 beer came out to $8.89 at Big Ang's Miami Monkey bar (you may know her from the reality show Mob wives). You are better off buying your liquor and beer at the store get your buzz then leave to the bars. I did find one cool place called Peppers. Beers were just $3.50 each.

Shopping areas is walking distance. You can take the bus either way for just $2. Beach was clean, water was wonderful but too many Jelly fish.

We did the City tour bus, boat tour and Key west tour for just $100 a person. Well worth it but do not get it at the same Hotel. Anything more they charge not worth it. City tour bus took you all over South beach and Miami then took you to the Bay so you can do the boat tour. The following day we did the Key west tour. Even though they take you to a pit stop they give you 15 mins to get fast food. So if youre not into fast food I would advise to being your food and lots of liquid. Its a 5 hr bus ride. They do pick you up at 6am and drop you off at your Hotel.

Polo Norte is a Cuban restaurant. On Washington ave. A must go the waiters there are totally friendly.

Over all it was a great time. Make sure to bring extra money as you should know non of the Hotels are inclusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Unbeatable location, at Española Way and Washington Ave. and a few steps away to all the restaurants, bars and the beach of Miami Beach.
Althoug its rooms are small and should need some actualization, I would recommend it for the convenient location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's a few years ago and the Hotel has been renovated in the mean time. I remember how we liked it from beginning on. It is near everything like the sea, the Shops, and the nightlive. Smal but clean and a friendly atomsphere - just what joung people like.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discoverer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I never expected anything so nice, we pulled up the valet came right to us, charge only $20.00 for 24 hours, free in and out, went to check in the room was ready and waiting, the staff was always smiling and ready to help, I loved the central location right next to Esplanda Way had a great night walking around, when I got back to the hotel, we were able to shut the door and go to sleep. The beach was two blocks away, the room was clean, the restaurants and bars were all walking distance. I am already ready to book my next trip.

Room Tip: If you want excitement choose a room with a balcony so you can people watch. If you want quiet choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauricelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am pleased with my choice if the Clay Hotel. I have been here 2 nights & will be here 2 more.

There are some spartan rooms here which need refurbishment. When I checked in, I was given room # 101 which is one of those rooms. I would have taken it given the room rate (honestly, you can't beat the value here). But I asked if a newer room was available and the front desk man was able to move me to room # 151 which is where I am now.

This room is clean, newly furnished & well maintained. The bed is very comfortable. While my room faces right down to Espanola Way, the noise level is more than tolerable. I can barely hear it.

The rooms I've seen are small, but similar size wise to what you'll get in any major city. I can tell you there are hotels within walking distance of the Clay which will charge you almost 2X the price of this room & be no bigger or better furnished.

I am happy to give this hotel a positive review.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jecceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It IS on a great spot, walking distance to Lincoln Rd. and the beach, but it's way overpriced, the building is old, and the carpet aswel. Rooms are small and the whole place had a weird smell. I doubt of the cleanness of the bathroom, the shower and the floor.
I do have to point out that the shower had hot and sufficient water and I never had a problem with the a/c. The bed was not that comfty but can't complain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I read a couple of the bad reviews so I was a bit unsure, but my stay was fine. Yes there is a restaurant on the ground floor, and some people complained about the noise so I asked for an inside room. There was no view but I didn’t care. It was hot in Miami so I kept the curtains closed to keep the sun out. The linens were very basic, but I always pack my own nice pillowcase when I stay at a budget hotel. My A/C unit was quiet, newer and worked great. I liked having a fridge and a TV. There were about 19 channels, which was great and the TV had a sleep timer which for me is a big deal. The sleep timer helps me fall asleep when I travel, but I hate to wake up with the TV still on (and it’s a waste of electricity). Most of the staff were nice, one guy was a bit blah, but overall everyone was nice. My emails with questions were answered very promptly and this hotel is easy to get to - use the 150 bus for only $2.35, that bus runs about every 30 minutes (you can get more info online). The room was a decent size. I had the room one step up from the budget room. The location is great and if noise bothers you don’t go to Miami Beach in the first place. Like I said, my inside room was quiet and frankly the restaurant with its outdoor seating was very charming. Espanola Way has a lot of character and I found that very comforting every night when I returned to the hotel. I do wish they in-room safe was big enough to fit a laptop, on the flip side the Wi-Fi was included and very reliable, a big plus! Don’t be scared by a couple bad reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmmchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#78 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,579 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#31 of 212 in Miami Beach
413 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#135 of 212 in Miami Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,214 reviews
Hotel St. Augustine
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $114 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two short blocks from the beach and steps from the charming shops, outdoor bars, restaurants and intimate cafes that line lush and romantic Española Way, The Clay mixes Mediterranean Spanish flair with contemporary comfort, transporting guests to a relaxing home away from home where architectural details and artwork by the noted Cuban landscape painter Pedro Amador resonate with those who appreciate culture and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing