We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!”
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #105 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I honestly had a great one night stay at this hotel I love this place good value and good room and even greater location I highly recommend this hotel and the guy who works in the front desk Axel is such a sweetheart

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klarregui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great hotel! Simple, but clean! The rooms were recently reformed and looked new. There is no elevator, but for us was no big deal. Impressive location! Near a bunch of restaurants and the beach. Friendly staff! Definitely would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Sabralito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everytime that I have stayed in South Beach, it was at the Clay. They use to have a hostel that I stayed back in the late 90's. More recent I stay in the hotel section. They got rid of the hostel about 3 years ago. They still have a 25% discount if you have a hostel membership. It is listed on their web site and tell the people at the front dresk when you check in. I did this a couple of weeks ago and had no problems. Yet, with the price increase it still cheaper than many other places in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room in the other building. If you are close to Washington Ave you will be part of the party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldude999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The position is great, the room are very very basic. I stayed there in January 2012 and the structure was already old compared to the pictures in the website.
I don't think I would come back again there and neither I'd suggest it to people who look for comfort and good level of service. It's ok for young people who don't want to spend a lot and can close an eye on certain things.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Clay hotel, booked well in advance. Very helpful staff, especially when organizing. A cab tonthevairport. The hotel has a Spanish influence. Room clean, wifi, and easy to access. We were in Espanola Way, which was closed to traffic at night, with heaps of al fresco restaurants and bars. Music, food and wine! We tried several for food and found all great. Not too expensive. Bars good too. People friendly. There was no noise in the hotel at night. We loved it and would stay there again. Only 15 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clay has a perfect location on Espanola/Washington ave. That´s about the best in this hotel. Though the staff is not too bad. Helpfull and quite efficient. But the rest is not that good. The place is quite worn down, low standard in the rooms and lobby. No elevator and a nightmare if there would be a fire. But as allways you get what you pay for. I´m not shure if I would stay here again. But probably all the places in this price range are the same.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic. Restaurants / bars and beach nearby. The hotel is quite old. Loud air conditioning wall unit. No elevator. Room and bathroom was clean. A bit noisy at times. Service was good. Great place to crash for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuekenfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#78 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,578 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#31 of 212 in Miami Beach
412 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#136 of 212 in Miami Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,214 reviews
Hotel St. Augustine
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $115 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two short blocks from the beach and steps from the charming shops, outdoor bars, restaurants and intimate cafes that line lush and romantic Española Way, The Clay mixes Mediterranean Spanish flair with contemporary comfort, transporting guests to a relaxing home away from home where architectural details and artwork by the noted Cuban landscape painter Pedro Amador resonate with those who appreciate culture and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing