We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bad Start good ending” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #125 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Start good ending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The first night we arrived late and were put into the wing with the 300's. They are remodeling that wing. It was very scary looking and smelled bad from the restaurant below. The room however was very basic but clean. I talked to the front desk and they were extremely helpful and promised to move us which they did the next day. Thank God because we were dreading the stay and debating if we should move.

Pros: The cost, Espaniola way, lovely restaurants beach, Collins ave and Ocean Dr 5 min walk away. New remodeled wing has great decor, comfy bed,iron, hair dryer and fridge and safe in rooms.

Cons: Construction, if placed on this wing god help you!

All in all, a great experience (once we were moved to 100's floor). I would stay here again. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Washington Ave on 1st floor. Away from Espaniola way if you want to get any slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    644
    431
    139
    132
See reviews for
238
657
137
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

it was such a beautiful place. i went here with a few friends and had a lovely time. it was cheaper than the marriot but just as classy, i loved every bit of it. The bed was soooo comfortable and thwe hard wood floors were so shiiny , its so hard to beleave that this place is a gen of natural history and yet so modern at the same time, i loved it.

Room Tip: while this place was amazing, i would ask to have one of the new rooms, which were recently renovate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

You get what you pay for and this hotel was well worth it. We only stayed the night before our cruise. It was clean, cheap and right in the middle of everything in the South Beach area. Would def stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the clay hotel for three nights. I will say a very old hotel but our room was clean with new carpet and flat screen. The room was very small. We had a queen deluxe room, the bed seem like a full size. The location was excellent right in the middle of everything. They don't have ice machines or elevators but other than that it was ok.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the center of everything and do not have a lot of luggage, this would be a good...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It a lovely place to stay at! Almost everything was close to this hotel, beaches, restaurants things to see and do..It was easy to take the bus in different directions to see and find attractions in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjelle234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at the clay hotel from the 3rd -6th of April after doing Disneyland in Orlando. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 double beds that was supposed to be a family room?? We have a boy and a girl of 7 and 9.
When we spoke with reception we were told that the hotel does not have any rooms with single beds in it? and that the room we had was a family room, eventually after many minutes of asking for a manager we were offered a room with 2 rooms that was ok but still not worth the money we had paid for the family room that was offered when we had booked the room originally.

Also after checking in we were given a room 2 blocks down from reception and up 3 flights of stairs and no lift, which isn't easy with 2 children and 6 Cases! The hallways were disgusting with part of the ceiling hanging down and electrical wires hanging out of the walls and a overbearing smell of old chip fat from the restaurant downstairs. Apparently the hotel is being renovated but we weren't told this when we booked it and saw no signs of work being done.

location is good as long as you don't mind being woken up at 4am by druken idiots that like to shout. If you have children pay a little more and don't get sucked into the promise of a great hotel that is cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Aventura, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Clay hotel and it was beautiful and incredible. I think the Clay hotel should be a landmark for Miamis rich and cultural history. The flowers are evrywhere and the chairs are super cumfy. All the rooms have new TVs and carpet. I loved my room, but not as much as i loved the Food downstairs or the view from my balcony :)
A few of my friends went Marriot for the trip but i would much rather stay where the life of miami is. I am soooo happy with my choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#112 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#140 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baltic Hotel
#136 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#131 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#155 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Budget Places and Expedia so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing