We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do get worse than this.... But not by much.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
The Clay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
cultv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They do get worse than this.... But not by much.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Where to begin, after check in you are expected to drag your bags about 2 blocks down a very busy street and up 3 flights of stairs. One in, the room smells of damp and mould and has virtually no facilities. Think of it more as a hostel than a hotel. If it was priced at $30-$40 a night I would say it was fair enough that you get what you pay for, but I paid nearer $90 I felt like I had a very poor deal.

On the plus side, the location is very good but I can't think of much else to recommend it. Room was never cleaned and I did not feel that my stuff was secure. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cultv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    640
    429
    139
    132
See reviews for
236
654
137
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was one of the cheaper ones in South Beach. We only had to walk two blocks to get to the beach and Ocean Drive. Close to everything. Staff were nice and accommodating and upgraded us to a better bigger room upon arrival without us asking. We were in the refurbished part of the hotel. Rooms were simply decorated with nice beds and thick carpet throughout which was nice and we had TV big two screens for each room. Bathroom was nice. There was a microwave in the room. We were allowed to check out one hour late as well which was also nice of them.
The only thing I would say is that our room was facing the main Espanola way and it did get noisy.
It wasn't a major problem as we slept right through it but if you are a really light sleeper then maybe ask for a room not facing that way. There was aircon in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main Espanola way if you are a little worried about noise but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Clay was the most affordable option for our week long stay in south beach. The room was very very basic. A bed in a room with a tv. Bathroom basic also. No lifts & many different apartment looking blocks that are all part of this hotel. We had to walk right to the back of the street to find our hotel block. There are no fancy frills here and at first I was maybe a little worried! Having said all that, this was probably my most memorable stay (in a good way) of our 7 weeks of exploring USA. The side street the hotel in located on is just gorgeous! Cute restaurants, frozen yoghurt stores, art gallery & dress shop. The location is very Close to the beach. The guys at the front desk were helpful with bus timetables & let us check in early which was a bonus! Our friends staying in a 'nicer' hotel down the other end of town were so jealous of our location. If you're looking for a chain style fancy hotel, this isn't for you. But we would book again for the right price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Traveller598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was perfect for a 3-day stay in South Beach for my college daughter and me. Two blocks to the beach, walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Charming boutique hotel with common sitting areas, small balconys overlooking Espinosa Way and extremely accommodating staff. The hotel totally exceeded my expectations. Some of the on-line reviews were quite negative so I didn't know what to expect. Granted, the rooms are basic and you won't find a Heavenly bed here. The rooms are clean and fresh. Our room was equipped with a dorm-size refrig, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. We had a family room which was almost like a suite since the double beds were separated by the bathroom. South Beach is no bargain (think Manhattan). A comparable hotel in the suburbs would be half the price. However, for South Beach, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room if you want something in a quieter section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is located in the hart of the action, espaniola way its a nice street with charming restaurants, rooms are basic but clean and confortable bed. The loby is on wasintong avenue, but rooms are over the restaurants located on first fllor behind the lobby. There are no elevators, so dont bring lots of luggage or you will regreat. If you are use to have bellboys and some more " occidental" book the courtyard wich is only 50 mts to the north and with all the amenities that brand offers. For me the hotel was better than expected, some times it smells food on the hall but not in the room ( at leats the one i go) . A bit of noise from the street , but YOU ARE IN THE MIDDEL OF THE ACTION, that is to be expected. Be aware that hotels in this area are not cheap.If you have mobility or back problems DONT BOOK HERE

Room Tip: ask for rooms all the way to the back umbers 350 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francisco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Perhaps it was our fault for booking our stay to the last minute. I often and always give companies, organizations, businesses a benefit of doubt when it comes to using marketing ploys and tactics. I work in marketing and I know the tricks of the trade quite well. But I must admit I was shocked at how basic, messy and "un-glam" it claimed to be when we checked in. We paid close to $350 for a basic room. Albeit booked last minute, I was still expecting a fairly reasonable accomodation for that price. If we knew it would look like that, we would have splurged to stay at hostel for more than half of the price. The hallways were under renovation and dusty. At least give a discount rather than charging full price! Lesson here - never wait to the last minute.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This "hotel", parts of which aren't even connected to the main building, has NO HEAT and NO ELEVATORS. The temperature in our room, which we had to walk up 5 floors with our luggage, was in the 50s at night. No space heaters were available. Their solution was bringing extra blankets to us. The water in the shower never got past lukewarm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wende888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baltic Hotel
#135 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#130 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#157 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing