We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevators and no heat during winter!”
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #101 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No elevators and no heat during winter!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This "hotel", parts of which aren't even connected to the main building, has NO HEAT and NO ELEVATORS. The temperature in our room, which we had to walk up 5 floors with our luggage, was in the 50s at night. No space heaters were available. Their solution was bringing extra blankets to us. The water in the shower never got past lukewarm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wende888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    753
    504
    151
    154
See reviews for
283
809
170
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at The Clay Hotel for two nights during Cinco de Mayo. Couldn't have picked a better hotel for the festivities. We received coupons for free drinks and a discount on dinner for any restaurant on Espanola Way. The rooms were clean and had the basics. The location was great, a short walk from the beach and popular bars. There is no bellhop and some of the rooms are up a very steep flight of steps. Also, the hotels over Espanola Way could be noisy if you're not a night person. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, this hotel probably has the BEST location of budget hotels in Miami. Of course, not on Ocean Drive, where you pay rates starting at 299 per night, but on the very nice pedestrian Esplanada Way, just a few yards from Ocean Drive

Of course this is budget style, but it was clean and folks were friendly. Is you don't want to spend too much but still want to be cloise to all the hotspots of south beach - this is the place

Of course it is a busy neighborhood - so take a few drinks if you want a good night sleep, for the rest - enjoy the vibe

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here because it was centrally located and it was very affordable compared to other hotels and hostels in South Beach. The location is definitely great, with lots of great restaurants/bars in the main floor of the hotel and on the pedestrian street it is located on.

When we arrived, we very much needed some sleep after a long flight/day, but when we set our things down in the room and turned on the A/C, it did not provide any cool air. We went down to the lobby and they sent a handyman to fix the A/C. After about an hour once it was supposedly "fixed," it would not turn on. They moved us to another room where the A/C did work, but which was a cheaper room with bunk beds instead of 1 queen bed (for which we were not reimbursed, as we still paid the more expensive room's rate). The A/C worked in the second room, albeit not very well...definitely not pleasant in the heat of Miami in May.

There was loud construction in the room below us in the morning and evening. Very loud and obnoxious.

Also worth noting, both rooms faced a school and the blinds in the room and restroom were kind of see-through...it was awkward and uncomfortable.

Next time, I'll definitely stay at another hotel, which will be more expensive, but definitely worth it if we can get some comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbueno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ive been to Miami a couple of times and to a lot of different hotels, but this was the worst stay of them all by far!!
First of all the main lobby is nice but then to go to your room you have to leave it and walk around the building and up tiny stairs between some houses outside which is not very safe with a lot of luggage! There was no elevator. They gave us a room right next to a construction site where they are building new rooms... In the morning at 7 am they started working and we couldnt sleep anymore!!! It was very noisy and they just couldnt care less about the guests. Also the rooms are basically only a bed that is very uncomfortable and there is a fridge and thats it. Very tiny room. It was absolutely not worth the money.
Eventhough the location is great (right on espaniola way and a short walk to ocean dr) I would never go there again or recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff is also not very friendly and when we left they didnt even ask how our stay was. Im very happy we only stayed there for two nights.
If you can afford a better place, do not go to the clay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Madlen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is an inexpensive tourist hotel. You get what you pay for. I have no complaints. The hotel was pleasant, as was our room. It was small with minimal amenities, but that was what we expected, so it was fine. The hotel evidently has a problem with clients walking off with whatever can be lifted, so there wasn't much to lift, e.g. there's no coffee maker in the room, when that has become almost universal in hotels. (Cuban coffee to go is available just a few doors down at the Flamingo Cafe, where the staff will happily allow you to practice your Spanish. The staff at Ciao Bello, just next door, will likewise help you brush up on your Italian, but the coffee is twice as expensive.) The staff at the Clay was friendly and helpful. Valet parking was $20, which is reasonable depending on what you're used to. Espanola Way was a bit noisy, but it's a fun street full of good food and drink. The reviewer who complained about his $23 pizza didn't look very hard for alternatives. (See my review of Havana 1957, which is directly across the street from the Clay.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertLFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at The Clay in November 2011. The location of this hotel is very central, in a charming little alley, surrounded by nice bars, restaurants and palm trees, and only 5 minutes away from the beach. It is very easy to walk to all the main attractions of Miami Beach from there, and public transport links to other parts of Miami are also good. The Clay is also relatively cheap for the area.

However, we were disappointed by the rooms, which were not of the standard we were expecting after checking the hotel's website. Our room was in need of renovation, and not as clean as we might have hoped. A bar was located on the floor below us, and we had to swap rooms in the middle of the night due to the noise. This being said, it remains a decent budget option for Miami Beach (if you can avoid the rooms on the first floor, just above the bar).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor, above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
379 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,530 reviews
Oceanside Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#144 of 208 in Miami Beach
116 reviews
Casa Victoria Orchid
#100 of 208 in Miami Beach
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing