We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Primelocation - OK budget rooms”
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #103 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, this hotel probably has the BEST location of budget hotels in Miami. Of course, not on Ocean Drive, where you pay rates starting at 299 per night, but on the very nice pedestrian Esplanada Way, just a few yards from Ocean Drive

Of course this is budget style, but it was clean and folks were friendly. Is you don't want to spend too much but still want to be cloise to all the hotspots of south beach - this is the place

Of course it is a busy neighborhood - so take a few drinks if you want a good night sleep, for the rest - enjoy the vibe

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here because it was centrally located and it was very affordable compared to other hotels and hostels in South Beach. The location is definitely great, with lots of great restaurants/bars in the main floor of the hotel and on the pedestrian street it is located on.

When we arrived, we very much needed some sleep after a long flight/day, but when we set our things down in the room and turned on the A/C, it did not provide any cool air. We went down to the lobby and they sent a handyman to fix the A/C. After about an hour once it was supposedly "fixed," it would not turn on. They moved us to another room where the A/C did work, but which was a cheaper room with bunk beds instead of 1 queen bed (for which we were not reimbursed, as we still paid the more expensive room's rate). The A/C worked in the second room, albeit not very well...definitely not pleasant in the heat of Miami in May.

There was loud construction in the room below us in the morning and evening. Very loud and obnoxious.

Also worth noting, both rooms faced a school and the blinds in the room and restroom were kind of see-through...it was awkward and uncomfortable.

Next time, I'll definitely stay at another hotel, which will be more expensive, but definitely worth it if we can get some comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbueno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ive been to Miami a couple of times and to a lot of different hotels, but this was the worst stay of them all by far!!
First of all the main lobby is nice but then to go to your room you have to leave it and walk around the building and up tiny stairs between some houses outside which is not very safe with a lot of luggage! There was no elevator. They gave us a room right next to a construction site where they are building new rooms... In the morning at 7 am they started working and we couldnt sleep anymore!!! It was very noisy and they just couldnt care less about the guests. Also the rooms are basically only a bed that is very uncomfortable and there is a fridge and thats it. Very tiny room. It was absolutely not worth the money.
Eventhough the location is great (right on espaniola way and a short walk to ocean dr) I would never go there again or recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff is also not very friendly and when we left they didnt even ask how our stay was. Im very happy we only stayed there for two nights.
If you can afford a better place, do not go to the clay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Madlen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is an inexpensive tourist hotel. You get what you pay for. I have no complaints. The hotel was pleasant, as was our room. It was small with minimal amenities, but that was what we expected, so it was fine. The hotel evidently has a problem with clients walking off with whatever can be lifted, so there wasn't much to lift, e.g. there's no coffee maker in the room, when that has become almost universal in hotels. (Cuban coffee to go is available just a few doors down at the Flamingo Cafe, where the staff will happily allow you to practice your Spanish. The staff at Ciao Bello, just next door, will likewise help you brush up on your Italian, but the coffee is twice as expensive.) The staff at the Clay was friendly and helpful. Valet parking was $20, which is reasonable depending on what you're used to. Espanola Way was a bit noisy, but it's a fun street full of good food and drink. The reviewer who complained about his $23 pizza didn't look very hard for alternatives. (See my review of Havana 1957, which is directly across the street from the Clay.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertLFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at The Clay in November 2011. The location of this hotel is very central, in a charming little alley, surrounded by nice bars, restaurants and palm trees, and only 5 minutes away from the beach. It is very easy to walk to all the main attractions of Miami Beach from there, and public transport links to other parts of Miami are also good. The Clay is also relatively cheap for the area.

However, we were disappointed by the rooms, which were not of the standard we were expecting after checking the hotel's website. Our room was in need of renovation, and not as clean as we might have hoped. A bar was located on the floor below us, and we had to swap rooms in the middle of the night due to the noise. This being said, it remains a decent budget option for Miami Beach (if you can avoid the rooms on the first floor, just above the bar).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor, above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. I have stayed in luxury resorts and this is not. I have stayed in hostels abroad and this is not but maybe closer to budget hotel. No elevator. Very comfortable feel. It was very clean. We stayed in a suite in the back. Room 15. It was perfect. Two double beds, AC and ceiling fans, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TVs. Walking distance to everywhere. Near to the beach and all the cool restaurants and Lincoln Mall Road. We loved it! Price was perfect. Left the car in parking garage. No need for it. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the clay in November 2012
rooms looked run down, in need of renovation.....MAJOR RENOVATION
ACs were off when we arrived to our room. .....which is a good green initiative if no one is staying in the room, but makes a very stale/stuffy/humid welcome to the guest
the walls looked like they were broken apart,patched up, repeat. Not in an antique old spain kind of way
bed was comfy and plenty of extra covers/pillows available. that was a plus
bathroom was stuffy/humid smelled like water damage had occurred. which makes sense when you factor in the lack of ac being turned on and a closed window and closed bathroom door.
no ac in the hallways either, but that was no issue to me
the floors throughout the hotel and room creaked and felt uneven.
lots of closet space was a plus
view of a building, not so good
TV had a LOT of channels that did not work
location on hispanola way is great. yes, you do have to carry your luggage up the stairs, but thats not so bad when you consider an old hotel built long ago that may not have the ability to alter the structure to create an elevator. so if you cant handle a few minutes of manual labor, suck it up and stay somewhere else. otherwise, petition for a bellman to carry your bags if you MUST stay here

Overall, the space and necessary items were available and suited the price. The location made the price a steal. The ambiance, and appearance was not good enough for the price however.

i would only come back here if i needed a place to crash after drinking. no other reason at all. Staff didnt even make an impression on me.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite/room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoInLove115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#83 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
0 mi away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#24 of 214 in Miami Beach
463 reviews
4.4 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#98 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#87 of 214 in Miami Beach
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#140 of 214 in Miami Beach
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $153 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two short blocks from the beach and steps from the charming shops, outdoor bars, restaurants and intimate cafes that line lush and romantic Española Way, The Clay mixes Mediterranean Spanish flair with contemporary comfort, transporting guests to a relaxing home away from home where architectural details and artwork by the noted Cuban landscape painter Pedro Amador resonate with those who appreciate culture and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing