We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clay Hostel- good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #103 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clay Hostel- good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Really central- 5 min walk to the beach, cheap, clean, quiet- we stayed in room 161- the window facing the back yard. Very happy about our stay :)

Miami was maybe not my favorite place in the world though!

- beach- ok
- city- ugly and nothing to do! We went shopping and to a Miami heat game- that was fun :)
- party- expensive- 25 USD for 2 coctails , uptight?, springbreak?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therese f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    671
    443
    139
    134
See reviews for
248
690
141
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Bascially, it was literally just a room in the heart of the city, walking distance from everything! Upon arrival I didn't know what to expect. The hotel lobby was small, nothing fancy, just quant. Once we checked in and learned that our room was in the next building about a 1/2 block away that took us for a loop. Once at the next building, there were no elevators (so make sure you pack light) or bell-boys to assist with taking your luggage to your room. Once inside of the room, it felt as if we were staying at a relatives house in the guest bedroom. It was literally just a bedroom with a bathroom inside of it; only big enough for 2 people.

The street that the hotel sits on is AMAZING at night. All of the resturants are lit up, people are outside eating, drinking, having a great time, the small boutiques don't close super early. Some of the resturants have live bands of different cultures...and none of it last til the wee hours of the morning so you can still get some rest seeing this is all going on right outside of your hotel door.

Honestly, it was great for the money and I would stay here again if it were just a quick stop threw and needed somewhere quant and clean to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

What a find! A charming old hotel in the centre of the action! The staff are friendly and courteous and went out of their way to accommodate us. Very clean and comfortable. Great restaurants on the same street. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as the street out front is very lively at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Athina078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My mom, sister and I just stayed at The Clay hotel this past weekend. The hotel rooms are located on the fabulous Espanola road. So much activity, restaurants, shops, and little bars it was such a great and unique place to call our home for the weekend. Everyone walks everywhere in south beach, and staying at the Clay put us right in the middle of everything. I can't say enough about how perfect the location is!

The hotel itself is pretty old, yes, but it has everything you could need! We had two rooms that joined by a little tiny hallway. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked perfectly, we had two flat screen TV's, coffee maker, hair dryer, and fridge.

Overall we were so happy! Not to mention the price couldn't be beat. The three of us are very active and don't like to spend much time in the hotel, so for us, The Clay was exactly what we were looking for. If you are someone who uses your hotel room primarily as just a place to sleep and get ready, and you value location, this place is for you! If you are someone who likes to spend time in your room and have lots of amenities you may want to keep looking.

oh! and a side note - there are no elevators. If you have trouble with stairs, or if you have small children I could see how this could be an issue.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daynabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My boyfried and I were stopping by overnight for a one-night stay in sout miami as we never visited before and we went to go see a hockey game in sunrise the evening. I wasnt expecting much but reviews were saying that this hotel was really well located so I told myself that for 100$ per night for two wasnt that bad anyways.
In fact the hotel is well situated on Espanola way with all little restaurants (strongly recommend Historia Romana) and a block away from the main beach front street. We also parked prior to checking in on 16th & washington which was 2 blocks away and cost 16$ for 24hrs..
The room was okay but nothing to do with the big chain hotel room feeling - it felt like a hostel with furniture from ikea.. None the less, it was perfect for a one night stay for the price. There was bar soaps and towels available so just bring your hair shampoo and conditioner.
Wifi was only available in the lobby.
Even though there was a loud restaurant downstairs, we didnt hear anything during our sleep. I would probably try another hotel next visit for an extra 20$/night but if nothing can beat the price Id go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshmels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newofoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were put in the second building which was 2 blocks back from Washington. The area is trendy and great but the hotel is like stepping back in time. It was clean but very old and needed renos. The hallway floors aren't even level - you go
up and down as you walk the halls. If I had my time back I would spend more money and get a better hotel. It has the feeling of eastern Germany before the Berling wall came down. Oldest hotel I think I ever stayed in. Tv had maybe 5 channels. Very small room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldruken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Booked for a night on a late night arrival to MIA.

Perfectly located in the center of SOBE on Espanola Way, could be a nice property should the owners were willing to invest a bit after 30 years of status-quo. Business is sometimes too easy...

CONCLUSION: Stay away! Even as we only needed to sleep a few hours before moving somewhere else, you will not be able to sleep as the noise is ending only very early morning in the disco downstairs.

CHECK-IN: Checking without a problem, efficient overall. No waiting.
The misery starts as once walk inside the very bad, smelly corridor to the room (we were given supposedly the LAST available on top of the disco/bar underneath on Espanola Way.

ROOM: Horror Movie. Simply disgusting, the bed was simply awful. Probably 30 years old mattress. Luckily (pure luck I think), we were not beaten by bed bugs as some other reviewers on this hotel.

ESCAPE: early morning checkout and runaway. Even without sleeping, my brother had fully re-packed and was ready to get out at 6 am (we checked in around 11pm!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLX64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#98 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#151 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Ann Hotel
#129 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#114 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Budget Places, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing