We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Douglas” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #107 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Douglas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just got back from four days at the Clay and after reading some of the reviews I was scared. I have to say- all in all- for the price I was very pleased. It was clean and pretty much what I expected. The people at the desk don't greet you with a smile but I guess that's what you get for the price. Location was great. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. For the price I'll walk two blocks to the beach. We didn't go to stay in the hotel room. We had a good time enjoying South Beach without the price tag.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    689
    451
    142
    141
See reviews for
257
709
145
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had problems with this hotel and do not recomend it.

ROOM - almost no water in the shower, no curtains in the windows (if you like the sun in your face at 7 o'clock be there!!) and the air conditioner was very noise (we had to turnn off at night to get sleep).

The vallet service - you pay U$ 20 a day and your car stay on the street (back of the hotel in espanhola way). they do not have a parking place. All guests cars stay on the street in a parkimeter area. They do not pay and you may have a surprise with a fine in your credit card.

When we saw our car on the street at night and in the morning we decided to cancel the vallet service (we had already paid all days U$ 80). The guy of front desk told us that he did the return of the difference (U$ 56) to my credit card and it not happen.
When I arrived and saw my credit card invoice I figured out that he didn't it and it was charged the U$ 80. Now I'm trying to refund this value directly with the credit card company

They weren't honest.

And finally, the housekeeper lost my pajama and anything was made to solve this situation. The front desk (a girl very rude) told me that she asked to the laundry company, housekeeper and looked for in the clothes and didn't found my pajama. Because of this, she said tha "your clothe is invisible and I ask to everybody and nobody saw you pajama". So... this is my fault that you hotel lost my pajama..... she said that "I personaly didn't lose your pajama, so sorry for you".

very disrespectful, rude and not reliable because they do not have safe box. Be carefull with your things.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our second trip to south beach, we loved espanol way the first time and wanted to Stay right close this time. The clay looks great until you get in the room. Really a dump. Bathroom smelled of old cigar smoke. Tub was dirty. Sink did not drain. And I am not sure what that white stain is on the chair, but we are not sitting on it! bed was like a rock. On the positive the room had a safe if you needed one. And they had in room stir yourself coffee. They also had a refrigerator which we mistakenly used to store our ice cream in the freezer section..which didn't work. For such a cute locale and building, they have really done themselves a disservice. The one tiny window .. Do not stay here if you are chlostraphobic!...looked out onto a bunch of junk. Could be a cute courtyard but it is not.
Service was quick and okay but now that I think about it the guy The desk tried to charge us four nights instead of one night and there was a lot of credit card swiping which made me think I need to check my bill when we get home. They did call us a taxi quickly upon request.
Located perfectly and low priced, this could be a gem with a little more effort. As it stands it is a waste of a lovely old building on the greatest little street in Miami. Cmon guys..you can do better. Oh and we stayed in the "VIP" room. And I won't even mention the screaming room service lady that woke us up after a late night enjoying the sights and sounds of south beach.

Room Tip: If you are very low maintenance and want location and price..this is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Location...location...location...This is all about this hostel. If you have a very limited budget, if you are a 100% backpacker, this is the place for you. It's not a nice hostel in terms of cleaning processed, but there isn't any other hostel for a USD20.00 rate that could offer sucha a great location. Beach is just two blocks away and just three blocks away you can find a cuban cafeteria where you can have lunch with beef, salad, white rice and beas for USD4.00. If you aren't a 100% backpacker you can always upgrade for a hotel room at the Clay and you can still enjoy the good location of this place and have a great breakfast or lunch for USD25-USD35.00 per person...good option in Miami Beach.
I had tried this place more than 15 years, once or twice a year, but not anymore, since I got my new sun glasses stolen in a dorm...I know! It was my fault!...because I left my bag with the glasses inside on my bed, and went to sleep. Next morning, the man that was sleeping in next bed was also gone. But they have a small safe box for your documents at the recepcion and you can use quarters to use it, and you can also have a safe with you and use the locker you have in your room for one small carry-on luggage.

Room Tip: If you aren't a backpacker, try a room at the hotel side of the place. Hostel isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went there on Easter, the hotel rates in Miami were a bit high for me and my friend, so we decided for this hotel; our room was good, the staff was very nice and its location is great! It also has a good restaurant! I definetely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

It is what it is: a (relatively) cheap hotel in Miami Beach, 2 blocks from Ocean Drive, a block away from Collins Avenue if I remember correctly.
South Beach is quite small and, the prices are high.
Check out the prices on Ocean Drive in the Art Deco hotels, and their reviews, and you'll see that you could end up paying 2, 3, 4 times as much for a comfort that's not always perfect.
Having said that, the Clay Hotel is loud. Cleanliness seemed kind of optional in the room we had. We stayed there for a night in October and it sounded almost like it was the middle of Spring Break!
We were not in the main building, but in one of their other buildings down the street, which is supposed to be... less worse.
Bottom line: decent bed, sub-par rooms cleanliness-wise and loud building and excellent location.
If you are going to Miami Beach to party, then I guess it is for you.
If you want to relax and chill in a nice little hotel close to the beach,this is not it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The only really special thing about this hotel is the location. I couldn't have asked for this hotel to be in a better place. Other than that we had trouble with the staff since we walked in staff was very rude and not helpfull whatsoever. The hallways smelt of weed. You have to carry your luggage up three up very steep stairs.We had to move rooms because of bug issues. The rooms were OKAY, and slightly old. This hotel could use renovating. Depending on your sleeping habits you might find the streets nightlife disturbing, personally I didn't. I would however stay here again because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysatthebeach15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#95 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#20 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pierre
#183 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#37 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing