We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Vegans, Vegetarians and the rest of us” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cafe at Books & Books

The Cafe at Books & Books
Ranked #147 of 1,066 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great for Vegans, Vegetarians and the rest of us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped here with a friend who is Vegan and she was a happy campter. The gave us an on-the- house black bean dip with some kind of vegan crackers and my friend loved it. We had the mango and strawberry lemonades which were great. They serve wine and beer but no hard liquor by the way. I had their "Famous LIncoln Road Friedn Fish Sandwich" it was great. Very flavorful, a large piece of fish and a great salad accompanied my meal. Prices were reasonable ($13.95 for the fish sandwich). It was a good choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lbloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    121
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great vegan and vegetarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

my favorite dish on the menu is a vegan stir with couscous, mushrooms, tofu, and green beans... really delicious. I love to bring non-vegetarian friends over to show them how good healthy food can be. Another favorite dish is their veggie burger with goat cheese and roasted peppers.
service is always decent, sometimes better, sometimes worse, but nothing to complain about
in general great place for lunch or dinner

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were eating with our young daughters.
The kids took soup (vegan) and loved it and a turkey sandwich (didn't like it).
The vegan food (we ordered 2 entrees) was great and enough to feed 2 very hungry adults.
We sat on Lincoln st. which is charming.
The restroom were clean.
The book shop is very different and we spent there almost an hour and bought great books.
Our waiter was so pleasant and helpful (even when one of our daughters spilled her drink all over).
We warmly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Watch your credit card!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stopped by this restaurant for breakfast over the weekend while walking with the family down Lincoln Road. The food was mediocre at best. My husband and kids barely ate their breakfast. Pretty bland eggs, toast, potatoes. My omelette wasn't too bad. But things went bad when we paid the bill and did not get our credit card back with the receipt. My husband asked our waiter for our credit card and he told us he returned it to us. We both noticed that we didn't receive it in return. So this must be a misunderstanding. My husband politely asked him to check the back, maybe it may have fallen between the time he processed it and returned our receipt. He continued to insist he returned it to us and would not check the back. By now, I was frustrated and immediately told my husband in front of our waiter to call our bank and cancel the card since it's missing and probably stolen. Within 5 minutes he returned apologizing with our credit card. I wonder, Watch out for Raul! This was a 15 minute ordeal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GipsonFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
290 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on Lincoln Road!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place had it all! Great Sangria that was a bargain if you get a pitcher, great salads and perhaps the best sandwich around - Miami steak and cheese. Not overpriced for the area and the server was excellent too plus it's attached to a great bookstore!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe at Books & Books also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to The Cafe at Books & Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing