We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great little museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
Book In Advance
$119.99*
and up
South Beach Arts and Culinary Tour in Miami
Ranked #47 of 116 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bass Museum of Art presents contemporary art to excite, challenge and educate. Galleries are closed for construction and will reopen in late 2016. During the renovation of its interior spaces, the museum is presenting a series of artist projects as bassX. The bassX gallery is located in a pop-up gallery space within the Miami Beach Public Library across the street at 227 22nd St, Miami Beach. Education programs and members events are also based in the Library. The Bass will reopen in late 2016.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a great little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Bass museum is not the Metropolitan but it is a quaint little museum with several interesting exhibits. I love the tapestries and can spend a long time watching and discovering new details every time i visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank etka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    51
    38
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best diverse collection in Miami!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Best diverse collection in Miami including Old Masters to Modern! Just the perfect size for effortless enjoyment of the senses! Have visited often for ever changing special exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HungryWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good selection of contemporary art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice exhibition. Well displayed. The place is calm, fresh and proposing a good selection of modern art. Liked it. Fine for families.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Giov63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Interesting for a one-time trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I frequent art museums, so perhaps my view isn't unbiased. That being said, the Bass Museum is small, intimate, and a bit underwhelming. Their special exhibitions might make up for their permanent collection, although I wasn't completely pleased with the show I saw on a recent trip. The most interesting part, sadly, was the building itself-- strange yet compelling architecture. I'm not sure I would venture a return visit, but I would suggest it for a one-time trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a very good museum, a hidden gem in some ways. They have interesting exhibits all the time. Look into it if you are on the Beach.

Helpful?
Thank sevillanitacubanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing