We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good selection of contemporary art” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
Book In Advance
$119.99*
and up
South Beach Arts and Culinary Tour in Miami
Ranked #43 of 114 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bass Museum of Art presents contemporary art to excite, challenge and educate. Galleries are closed for construction and will reopen in late 2016. During the renovation of its interior spaces, the museum is presenting a series of artist projects as bassX. The bassX gallery is located in a pop-up gallery space within the Miami Beach Public Library across the street at 227 22nd St, Miami Beach. Education programs and members events are also based in the Library. The Bass will reopen in late 2016.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good selection of contemporary art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice exhibition. Well displayed. The place is calm, fresh and proposing a good selection of modern art. Liked it. Fine for families.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Giov63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    38
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
375 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Interesting for a one-time trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I frequent art museums, so perhaps my view isn't unbiased. That being said, the Bass Museum is small, intimate, and a bit underwhelming. Their special exhibitions might make up for their permanent collection, although I wasn't completely pleased with the show I saw on a recent trip. The most interesting part, sadly, was the building itself-- strange yet compelling architecture. I'm not sure I would venture a return visit, but I would suggest it for a one-time trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a very good museum, a hidden gem in some ways. They have interesting exhibits all the time. Look into it if you are on the Beach.

Helpful?
Thank sevillanitacubanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fine small collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This small museum, centrally located in Miami Beach is a local gem. The exhibitions are inventive, well curated and I like how they represent a mix of art styles and emphasize artistic contributions from the Hispanic community. They also host a variety of musical performances which I believe are free with museum admission. A worthwhile cultural experience and an excellent break from the beach.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SRVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unnatural exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Bass Museum exhibition 2 weeks ago for the Unnatural exhibition and was quite impressed with the curator's choices. Do not miss the watermelons in the Dead Sea and the Wall of flowers - two among many unique offerings. I am excited to see what is next.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debrajean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing