We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was great, very low key spot”
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viscay Hotel
Ranked #130 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great, very low key spot”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Only thing that could of been better was parking but hey what do u expect its south beach. I liked my room it was very spacious and clean. I will be staying there again when I go. I stayed ay the the Chelsea the time before and it was way too small and over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    113
    45
    15
    6
See reviews for
31
123
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I give this hotel 4 out of 5 not because it is a 4 star hotel but because it met my expectations. The Viscay Hotel is very close to the beach - literally just one street away, and offers all the basic things you need from a hotel , and extremely reasonably priced. The bathroom was small, and the shower curtain could have done with updating, but if you are looking to stay in a traditional Cuban inspired hotel, this place should meet your needs. All the tiling was back from the place was built was awesome.

My only concern was the security. Since there is not 24 hour reception, access is via a side-door (which of course requires a key), which leads to an internal hallway. Our hotel room door was literally a lock & small push-to-lock bar which I probably could have kicked down if someone was desperate to get in. I want to be clear - there were no sketchy people hanging around outside - it seemed perfectly safe. However if I were a single female I might not feel comfortable staying by myself.

FYI - the hairdryer wasn't very powerful. You wont be able to do any power styles - straightening or scrunching. It will literally just blow-dry your hair with minimal power.

For the price, you cant beat this place! We would return as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel- right by Miami Beach (and an awesome diner a few blocks away). The staff is very nice and gave us a street parking pass for $20 a day, which is a good deal in this area. One of the staff also allowed us to park our car in the street spot where they had their car, which was right by the hotel. Although the furniture in the room was a bit outdated, the room (and most importantly the bed and bathroom) were very clean and the cleaning staff was very welcoming and professional. The continental breakfast was limited, but for the price we paid this was not surprising. A reasonably priced hotel that we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

viscay has a small but very sweet staff. about $130 a night which is reasonable to be on 9th & collins and just one short block away from the beach. there were no security desposits or resort fees like other hotels.... but there are absolutely no frills. no complimentary breakfast, fancy towels, or shampoo... however there is free wifi and a computer in the lobby.

we stayed in room 6... a previous review says the bed was hard... i found it pretty comfortable. for $120-140 a night you are not going to get a sleep number. the pictures are pretty accurate. the rooms are a little small and hotel policy only allows 2 people per room regardless of which suite you have unless the additional guest are under 14 yrs old.

we did a thorough inspection and found no mold and encountered NO BUGS! the cable was pretty standard although there was no tv guide to tell which channels are which. the bathroom was pretty out dated but the housekeeper knocked everyday at 11 to make sure we had enough towels and soap. the hotel is on the corner of collins & 9th so if you stay on the front of the hotel you may hear the late night music of the clevelander on ocean.... but very faintly. room 6 was on the side so our window view was a cement wall. after 11 the lobby closes but the is an entry door on 9th st to enter once it is locked. on the 9th st entrance there are plenty panthlets for things to do and places to eat....as well as in the lobby if you would like to book any tours.....

george the guy who checked us in was very nice.... we arrived at 2 and although check out was at 3 he allowed us to check in early at no cost and offered to let us stay to 12pm on theday we were leaving instead of 11, teh normal check out time, because we had a late flight.

overall pleased, ill probably stay here my next time as long as i dont have more than 2 people, the main reason i cant give this hotel 5 stars

Room Tip: i rate the swimming pool & restaurant terrible... only because there isnt one and there is no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Pros: Large, clean spacious room with kitchenette; friendly staff; free breakfast pastries; close to the beach and to shopping areas; good price.
Cons: Rooms are basic, not hip by any stretch of the imagination; feels a little cheap downstairs (there is a Miami tours peddler kiosk in the tiny lobby), and even though our windows faced the side street, it was still quite loud on Saturday night.

If you're looking for ambiance or a romantic spot, this is not your place. But if you're looking for a safe, clean option in a great location for a decent price, this is a good hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shulgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect for going to the beach and also close to great night life and restaurants like Mangos, News Cafe and many others. This hotel is super clean and the staff so helpful and nice. We had a large room with a kitchen , I don't see how this could be beat for the cost. We stayed here for a few days prior to going on a cruise to the Bahamas and this was the highlight of the trip. We will be returning the Viscay, it was great!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a kitchenette. You can easily walk to anything you want to do. Take the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Viscay is a wonderful piece of Art Deco history. Very nice details in the room. Good, personable service. South Beach is worth the visit. And Viscay is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#139 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#81 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Property: Viscay Hotel
Address: 960 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing