We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just off the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viscay Hotel
Ranked #104 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park CA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just off the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Viscay is a wonderful piece of Art Deco history. Very nice details in the room. Good, personable service. South Beach is worth the visit. And Viscay is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    108
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
30
113
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Had difficulty in choosing Miami Beach hotel and spent considerable time looking on TA before selecting Viscay.
Room was large, very clean (except for the hairdryer in the bathroom) and bed comfortable. Microwave and fridge was bonus. Free wireless internet access.
Main downside was noise at night. This continued until around 5am and meant very disturbed sleep. Have stayed in NYC and been disturbed by police/fire sirens but in Miami we were also troubled by noisy revellers presumably making their way home from nearby hotels with nightclubs (eg Cavendish).
Breakfast was very poor - OJ, coffee, bread rolls, sweet pastry, jam and cream cheese. Limited supply so need to be early.
Not suitable for disabled/limited mobility as no lift.
No outdoor space so unable to sit outside and relax.
Realise that US no longer the bargain it used to be but still pricey (around £125/$185 per night incl taxes) for what was on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for room that does not overlook 10th Street or Collins Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights.Very good choice, much better than expected, considering the price The room was large, very clean, the beds comortable. The staff were friendly. The position is excellent. Breakfast is small, with little choice. Airconditioning is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ric_en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had a couple of days to kill prior to boarding a cruise ship, decided to spend it in South Beach, but didn't want to drop hundreds per night on a local hotel. A thorough search led us to the Viscay, which is just one block off Ocean Avenue yet within the art-deco area of town. Very easy walk to the Ocean Avenue restaurants and hotels and reasonably priced.

One thing to note, this hotel would not work for someone with a mobility issue, such as those who are wheelchair-bound or have trouble with stairs. There are no elevators/escalators in the property. You must ascend at least a short flight of stairs just to reach the hotel lobby, and still more stairs to access the rooms.

That being said, for our purposes the hotel was all we needed. We didn't expect glamour, but the place is nonetheless quite nice, with a definite art-deco and 50's flavor to its decor. I thought the room was quite adequate, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom sufficient for our short (two-night) stay. The continental breakfast provided by the hotel was also adequate, although they didn't serve for very long. Typical serving was between 8:30-10:00 AM, and included eclairs, croissants, Danish, and bagels, with coffee and juice to wash it down. Enough to get us going every day without being excessive or heavy.

The biggest drawback to the stay was the noise from the street that we experienced on the second night. We arrived on a Thursday, and noticed no particularly annoying sounds that night. But the second night, a Friday, was quite the different story. Our window overlooked 10th Street, which appears to be rather heavily traveled on the party nights of Friday and Saturday. We got little sleep that night due to the noise, even with our windows shut tight. My advice when you book here is to try to get a room that doesn't look out onto either Collins Avenue or 10th Street. My brother and his wife had a room further back in the hotel, and on the opposite side of the hallway as ours, and they had a rather uneventful night regarding noise because their room was not adjacent to either street.

On the whole, I would recommend the hotel to others, with the caveat to try to get an interior room, and to expect some stair climbing/descending as part of the experience. I'd say you can't beat the location for the price, so overall, I give it relatively high marks.

Room Tip: As noted in my review, get a room away from the adjacent streets. Much quieter than the one I staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

But the Viscay turned out to be a real nice surprise. We usually stay in upper end hotels like you would find on Ocean Ave so we weren't expecting much from the Viscay. (FWIW-we are Florida residents) We were wrong in our assumptions. Friendly, courteous staff; CLEAN and surprising large rooms; truly centrally located in SoBe. About a block west of Ocean Ave, as said, right behind the Clevelander and Essex House. (Be forewarned if you stay in either of these motels as the Clevelander tends to crank up the beats from 11:00 AM till late nite, every nite. You are going to hear it.)

SMALLEST toilet I have ever seen. If you are a person of "size"...I don't know what to tell you. You have been warned.

Tips:

Crank up the fan on the AC unit so it runs continuously and you won't hear the street noise. (One of the quietest AC units ever) Our room faced Collins Ave at the front of the building. No problems with the noise. There is about a one hour period of quietness about 5:30 AM before the trucks start running.

Park in the parking garage one block N., adjacent to the Essex House if traveling by car. Pay at the kiosk before you attempt to leave.

There is no ice machine in the hotel. If you go a block west and then south, there is a liquor store and a 7-11.

One block north is David's Cafe. Must have cuban coffee to be had here. Good breakfast, open 24 hours, sit down or go to the street window. Cuban toast is nothing more than a Cuban bread roll that has been buttered and pressed on a flat top to "toast" the outside of the bread...still good.

Look around if drinking, there is no reason to pay $30 for a cocktail on Ocean Ave or a ridiculous cover charge because some chick is dancing in a skimpy outfit.

Lincoln Ave is within walking distance, north from the motel if you are into shopping.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room stay away from Collins Ave and 10th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_ziffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights which we enjoed very much.
Good location, helpful staff, they upgrade up for bigger room upon check in ! Thank you.
Just 1 block after Ocean drive but it was quiet. We didn't had problem for noise.
We would like to stay there again for next visit !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank we857966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

In a few words; awesome location within walking distance of lots of activities; rock-hard bed was a drag; croissants and french pastries were as good as you'd find in Paris.

Room Tip: We had room #6. The bed was way too hard for my awesomely attractive and mind-mindbogglingly fit 52...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#136 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#114 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Property: Viscay Hotel
Address: 960 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing