We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Villas

South Beach Villas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Beach Villas
Save
You added South Beach Villas to your Saves list
Ranked #177 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
california
1 review
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

South beach villas is just another hotel nothing special about it and i probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygirl1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

booked a room at the villas (shown on the pictures); was given a room at the adjacent Beach Plaza Hotel which is need of renovation; noisy a/c, tiny bathroom, filthy carpets, resort fee on top of what you prepay (for a breakfast consistent of bagels, juice and coffee, and use of internet) and a mandatory $100 security deposit; not exactly what they advrtise

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiOrlando_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Well, let's get the negatives out of the way. 1st of all, there was no parking on the premises or on the streets, so we had to pay to park in a municipal structure about a block away. 2nd piece of bad news, there was an additional daily charge called a "resort fee" added for charges to cover a continental breakfast, beach towels, pool use, daily newspaper, exercise room, wi-fi and a wine social. I'm just wondering why instead of a separate fee, the charges weren?t just added to the price of the room when it was quoted. Finally, our room and the T.V. were small much like a cabin on a cruise ship. But, since we were out exploring every day, that didn't matter much. The pluses: The location was fantastic, it is located on Collins Street (a main happening street) and only a block from the famous Ocean Blvd and it's glittery sidewalk cafes. Across from the cafes is a green belt called Lumis Park that fronts the great public beach. We were also a block from Washington Street, a major shopping thoroughfare, and three blocks from Lincoln Street, which is closed to automobile traffic and which boasts countless restaurants with outdoor seating and that are located amongst upscale retail stores. The hotel itself and many other buildings are done in the whimsical Art Deco style, which is unique to this vibrant area. Our room and the public places were clean, nicely decorated and well taken care of. The staff was mostly pleasant, helpful and available. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank williequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

The hotel pictures on the web are specialized to show small views of the actual room which is overall in bad condition. This hotel is overdue for a complete remodel. They remodeled bits and pieces but it definitely shows. The old bathrooms, busted doors and broken down beds were a complete turnoff. Complained to front desk about checking out on a friday after arriving....didnt hear from a manager after numerous requests for early reimbursement waiver until tuesday. We left the hotel on monday. Management doesnt want to accept the hotels short comings. If anything...the star rating needs to drop down to 2.5. If you are used to a sense of cleanliness and the normal hotel attributes...you will be dissapointed.

  • Liked — In South Beach Area
  • Disliked — outdated rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMICAHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I really liked this hotel - the rooms have been updated and decorated thoughtfully. The roof top bar is nice and they had a nice little wine reception up there. The bar in the courtyard was also lovely. It is an older building, which is what I expected, so be prepared that the plumbing may have a personality as well as doors and windows. We were on the first floor facing Collins Avenue and it was pretty noisy, again to be expected in an old building. But if I went back I would want a room farther back from the road. The bartender inside makes a great mojito and the roof top bartender provided some great tunes. We didn't get our wake up call on the morning of our departure, which made me feel rushed and cranky. But other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank floatinhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for my Honeymoon after a 4day cruise.
The staff was nice. Room was clean but very small. Small crack under the door of the room which allowed lots of noise and dirty and dust to collect on the hardwood floors,there was also a bug/termite problem in the room. DONT wear socks or walk barefoot on the floors unless you want the bottom of your feet black. All in all the stay was average. Very close to the beach,friendly staff.
Would only stay at ths hotel again for a party weekend getaway.
Way to noisey and small for a romantic stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Rooms and Noisey
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGMIKE74133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

This was a great hotel. Newly renovated and very clean. Not expensive. Just a block from Ocean avenue, located in the art deco area of southbeach. 2 blocks from Clevelander. Rooftop bar is nice nad garden is romantic. Nice lobby and furniture. Drinks are a bit expensive.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tinamagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#103 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Bikini Lodge
#127 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique 18
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,758 reviews
South Beach Plaza Villas
#15 of 27 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Villas

Property: South Beach Villas
Address: 1201 West Ave., #4, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Flamingo / Lummus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
South Beach Villas Hotel Miami Beach
South Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing