We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Reef Suites
Nearby Hotels
$258
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Circa 39 Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$153
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Flora(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Lord Balfour(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$220
$197
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Hotel of South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$200
$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$268
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pestana Miami South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveler rating
183
280
154
49
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
280
154
49
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivesouth beachperfect locationsmall kitchenwalking distancebeach towelsqueen bedfront desk personnelthree nightsair conditionrooms are spaciousshort staystayed here for one nightthe art deco districtvalet parkingvalet serviceper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 710 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Excelent hotel. To be avoided during memorial weekend though due to hip hop festival which bring too many people who leaves the city in filth.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
Thank MoccaboiMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Thanks for your visit and for leaving your feedback.
Miami Beach is certainly very crowded during holidays like Memorial Day Weekend. One of the things our guests usually appreciate it that we are located in the heart of South Beach. However, I can see how this can catch some people by surprise.

Luckily, these are only a few weekends per year. Next time you visit you will be able to enjoy a quiet, relaxing vacation. We will be here as usual, making sure your stay is perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for Memoral Day weekend, from May 25 through May 30. When I was dropped off at the hotel at 8:00am and thought I would have to drop my bags off and walk around for several hours bc check in isnt until 3:00pm. However, the front desk rep Jenn found us a cleaned room and let us check in right then and there and did not charge us an early fee. The hotel is one block from the beach. A block away from the clubs and resturants. The rooms are exactly as the pictures show. I was with two other friends and we had more than enough room. the down side is that you can hear some noise at night (as if the walls are thin). But you do have to keep in mind that you are on the strip and there is a lot of activity going on. And another bad thing is the water. It was eaither really cold or really hot. One other thing the maid acted like she wasnt going to change the sheets. So every morning we took off the sheets, covers and pillow cases and put them on the floor just to ensure we got clean material. Theres no pool, gym,resturamt, bar or other amenities just rooms. But over all it was a nice rooom, great location and good deal. If I had to stay there again I wouldnt mind at all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cess2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2010

Thanks for your comments. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This hotel and its staff really saved our bacon. We where stranded in SOBE due to recent volcano activity that prevented us from flying back to the UK. Both the Essex and Cleevelander where quoting prices well out of our range for the additional 10 days (as we where unsure who would pick up the tab, we aired on the side of caution) One of the receptionists at the Essex suggest we try Ocean Reef.

We wnet to see the manager Anna at the Ocean Reef , who was sympathetic to our plight and was able to accommodate us at an excellent rate.

We where allocated a large apartment, very modern (as the hotel is new), it had:- Flat screen TV, direct dial telephone (free local calls), free internet access, a very comfy queen bed, sofa bed, table and chairs, iron and board, modern kithcen with cooking rings, coffee maker, microwave. modern bathroom and plenty of storage space. My partner is very critical when it comes to cleanliness and could do nothing but praise the standards. The aircon was excellent and a must. All in all a very nice room. The building is bright and breezy and you can use the pool at the hotel Nash next door, just ask the receptionist and offer to buy a drink and you are in.

Ann the manageress along with the rest of the staff are friendly and exxcellent, always willing to advise and assist, we cant do enough in thanking them for all there help when we where there.

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days, we weren't even supposed to stay here but due to being displaced by the volcano ash preventing us from flying back to Endland.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumisk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

Dear guest, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to help you and for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to your next visit - no volcanoes this time! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I'll start with the pros & cons, then explain our stay in full. :)

PROS:
Excellent location in SoBe - 30 sec from Ocean Drive & 2 min from the beach
The entire hotel is non-smoking
Free high speed internet
Free local phonecalls
Kitchen
Flatscreen tv with approx. 60 channels (in different languages aswell)
Comfy bed
Spacious & trendy apartments
Friendly staff - especially the manager!
Great value right in the heart of South Beach (very cheap for SoBe!)
Free beachtowel in the reception area
Air condition x 2
Sofabed (if you're travelling with kids or are more than 2 in one apt)

CONS:
Housekeeping could be better
The kitchen was not equpped well and the glasses etc were very dirty!
We stayed for 1 week and they never changed the sheets! (even if we tipped the cleaning lady every day! It's custom to change it atleast every 3 days)
The bathrooms need renovation - the shower was hot/cold, and with very little pressure

The Ocean Reef is located on Collins ave right between 11th & 12th street. Excellent location! Collins ave is right behind Ocean Drive. It took us 2 min to walk to the beach. The gay beach is located on 12th st, so perfect if that's where you wanna go. :) You can rent comfy sunbeds for $10 a day, or the lux ones for about $18. The sand & the water is amazing, almost felt like we were in the Caribbean! :)

We arrived late and slept in a very noisy room on the 2nd floor of the 2nd building. We could hear garbagetrucks all night long which wasn't exactly cool since we'd been travelling for 30 hours and just wanted a good nights sleep! However, when we told the reception staff about this, we were moved to another room within one hour the next morning. The manager (a lady) took very good care of us. She was really nice throughout our entire stay. (She also let us keep our room until we left at 3 pm on our last day). The new room was exactly the same as the first one, but more quiet as it was in the middle of the building. It was on the 2nd floor though (top floor) and the 2nd floor doesn't have soundproof windows (only the 1st floor). We could still hear some noise at night, but nowhere near as much as in our first room. The shower in our new room had such low pressure - the first room was fine, and even though we called the janitor he said he couldn't do anything about it. Our new room was in the same building as the reception so I guess that building might have lower water pressure than the other building.

The apartments/rooms are very trendy with cool furniture, nice kitchen (but the utensils were very dirty) and a flatscreen tv with loads of channels. They offer free high-speed internet aswell as free local phonecalls. The bed was very comfy.

The housekeeping was so-so - The towels weren't that clean and they always had alot of long black hair in them. They didn't change our sheets even if we stayed for 1 week & tipped the housekeeping everyday. The kitchen utensils were so dirty we didn't use them. If you do not want the housekeeping to knock on your door(as i saw in another review), just ask for a "Do not disturb" sign - we got that in our 2nd room and it worked like a charm.

All in all a great value apartment hotel right in the middle of the beat place to be in Miami - South Beach!

If you want to eat great thai food - check out Thai House on 1137 Washington Ave (right behind the hotel) and Juice & Java on 1346 Washington Ave - excellent for breakfast & lunch or just a quick snack! Pluss it's right next to Miami Ink if you wanna check that out aswell. :)

Happy travelling!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelagentoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

Thanks for such a thorough review. I wanted to let you know that we have improved on many of the areas you mention. We have hired a new company to do our laundry and are working on upgrading our bathrooms and plumbing. About the maids not changing the linens at all, I must say I wish you had brought it to our attention then. Our cleaning staff is instructed to change the beds periodically.
Once again, thanks for your trust and we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Recommend this hotel, traveled with 4 girls.. great location, very clean. Looks exactly like the pictures. The only bad thing i can say is the futon was not very comfortable, but it did the job. Their is a little market right downstairs, makes it really convenient, 1 block from the beach, great Cuban cafe on the corner.. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

It was a real pleasure meeting you. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews