We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed”
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #122 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A friend and I stayed at ORS for a few nights just before the Memorial Day rush, and we never encountered a problem. Our room was very neat and clean, with minor wear and tear (it is an Art Deco South Beach hotel, after all). The complimentary water, coffee and towels were a great treat, and the staff were always friendly and helpful if we had questions. The airport shuttle was also an added bonus, given that transport from the airport would have likely been much more expensive. There was still some construction on Collins Ave., but it had moved further north away from the hotel by the time we'd departed.

All in all, I would return to the ORS for another trip and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cjd_sox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Reef Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 681 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

The room had a terrible smell. There was a very old carpet all over the room clearly not well cleaned. The windows weren't easy to open, and even when open the air didn't circulate well enough to get reed of the smell. The air conditioning didn't work very well and it was very noisy. A lot of noise came in also from the court outside (full of A/C machines and probably a rubbish point or something without a good smell too).
The bathroom was very old and not well functioning (from the tap almost only warm water came out and it was very difficult to have some cold one).
Insects in the kitchen. No breakfast included. Price definitely too high.
TERRIBLE HOTEL. DON'T LET THE NICE HALL MISLEAD YOU (it is clearly recently refurbisced to make the hotel look more attractive but the rooms are not even close to that standard!)!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank giulia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Awful staff had an attitude the moment we walked in. Didn't want to show us the room before paying. When we we were finally able to see the room, it reeked of mold and mildew. Rust all over bathroom walls and shower. Hand prints all over walls. Skittles on floor. It was, disgusting and smelled awful.it was just plain dirty. After speaking with the rest of the people in my party we decided to not stay. Before I was able to say anything I walked into a, conversation between the front desk staff and manager , in Spanish, manager telling her to let us go we're not worth it and so on. As, a, hotel manager myself I couldn't believe her attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mari11225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are going to review your incident with the front desk, we are known for our excellent customer service, and we always work to serve and provide our guests the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a perfect location for a one day stop where we wanted to be close to the beach. We knew what we were getting ourselves into as far as the current construction on Collins Avenue and that the place wasn't as high end as others but I still think it is a bit too highly priced for what you get based on our experience in 6 other locations along the Eastern coast of Southern Florida hot spots.

The bed in our studio room wasn't too bad but the worst is the protruding bed frame which you'll be sure to the hit yourself on each and every time you get off the bed.

The bathroom was downright scary.

However the staff was able to accommodate an early check in and the property is really in a great location. Recommended for a night, maybe two, but not for a full vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for your detailed and honest review. We knew our pros (like our great location and wonderful staff, always attentive and kind) Yet, it is highly important to take notes of the aspects that need improvement. We hope you come back and choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Here's what I want from a hotel:
1) Quiet room - I requested this and was assigned to studio 304. Perfect. I hear that other studios face noisy Collins Ave. Front desk clerk told me she does the assignments and takes these requests very seriously.
2) Mattress I can sleep on - I can't sleep on pillow top mattresses. This was a pretty basic mattress, but had enough support for my back.
3) Cleanliness.
4) Location - I needed to be near other folks in my party. Also, this hotel is a block from the beach.

Beyond that, the rust on shower curtain rod, worn towels, and fairly plain decor clearly make this a 3 star hotel. Airport shuttle never came, and is only scheduled infrequently. On the other hand, front desk personnel very helpful and welcoming. I also like having fridge, microwave and basic kitchen things in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_millbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had all you ask for, our personal take very serious the special request from the guest, and we work hard towards our guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is ok, location is great! just where all the cool hotels are. The only point is that my room didn't have real windows, but a 'sort of' windows... so actually I could hear each single breath from the street during the night, which in SoBe is kinda crazy. Room and kitchen ok, bathroom very very old, and so are the towels. Shower gel and Shampoo bad quality.
The hotel is ok for max 2 nights as long as the rate is lower than other hotel in the same street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the windows, which are hurricane impact resistance windows, South Beach tend to be a little noisy during the night and more on weekends. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

It's somewhere to lay your head after coming back from the bar/club. I stayed in a room on the first floor and the shower/bathroom sucked. The water would seep out to where the toilet is because the drain was clogged I believe. We just had to wear flip flops at all times. Going to rooms numbered 300, the drains were leaking in the hallway and coming up into the carpet, which was pretty gross and smelly.

The suites are a good size, and have a fridge and microwave which is convenient. Don't expect anything fancy. Has almost a dorm room feel to the place.

Ocean reef is located in a great area and around the block from the beach, which is awesome!

The front desk was nice and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank travelbugg531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! We are sorry you had a bad experience with the bathroom, we know we have some improvements to make, and we are working on that. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#93 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
The Kent Hotel
#100 of 210 in Miami Beach
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#112 of 210 in Miami Beach
489 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#111 of 210 in Miami Beach
452 reviews
Collins Hotel
#101 of 210 in Miami Beach
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $110 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing