We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #134 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight and were more than happy with our choice. The staff were all very friendly and courteous and I asked to see a room before we booked in. Stayed in the main block off the reception area on the ground floor. The room looked great as the floor was done in laminate wood flooring (so it was all spotless and we had no worries about stains or beasties). Actually Everything was spotless and the accommodation was so central we didn't have to waste precious time getting to the main areas. We managed a walk along the beach, some shopping, and eating (of course). We felt safe and the staff locked our bags away after check out to let us have a final few hours in south beach. I would have no hesitation in recommending the suites based on our experience but with the understanding that you need to expect noise as folk come and go past the room during the night and early morning. The furniture is ikea and the sofa bed was just ok comfort wise. Overall a great base for a short trip. We decided to forego valet parking and park across the road in the car park which has security staff on for 24 hours. It was so convenient and we could check the car was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the2happywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for the review and detailing your experience so well. We are sure this review will help other travelers who might be looking to stay at our hotel. Just one comment: our rooms have carpeted floors. You got the one suite we keep for guests who might have allergies - which, by the way, is a very nice room! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    238
    140
    47
    38
See reviews for
163
216
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We choose the hotel for location AND price...realizing that because of the location even a low priced hotel was expensive. The location is good...not on the beach but then we were not paying for that. Easy walking to all the near activity...and in a safe neighborhood.

Front lobby was very attractive. Staff was friendly upon arrival. No elevator. Hotel is long and narrow. Our room on the second floor rear had cement walls for a view in both directions. Room (Junior Suite) was spacious and attractive. Nice flat screen TV (did not turn it on to see if it worked!) Bed was comfortable and clean.

Entering the room...the carpet was very stained...and gave you the feeling of not so nice of a place. Bathroom was clean...NO HOT WATER! In the shower...when management was told they said there was nothing they could do. The room was on the second floor and too far away for hot water...did not seem like a good answer to us. Kitchen sink had hot water....

Management was uncooperative in helping or making us feel better about the situation. No offer to reduce the price of the room...offered to allow us to leave with no charge for the second night.

Parking in area was very expensive and difficult. Would be easier to be there without a car.

Room Tip: Junior suite on second floor does not have hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjv43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
You are definitely right, not having hot water is unacceptable. We are looking into this case and how it was handled. This is not how our staff is prepared to respond and we will have a talk about it with everyone involved. We invite you to join the conversation by sending us an email. We would like to make amends, if you give us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Location: great location - right on Collins. Close to the beach and nightlife attractions and restaurants.

Rooms: clean and comfortable. A bit tight and no real "closet" space, but you can definitely make due. The hotel is quiet and the furniture and bedding is pretty modern/updated (think Ikea).

Staff: I didn't interact much with the staff, but I went during Hurricane Isaac (I missed my flight due to delays and called to cancel my first night's reservation since I couldn't make it to Florida at all) and didn't have any problems getting my first night's stay refunded since I couldn't fly out there. It was a relief! I talked to the person at front desk and they were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desirous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. Weather conditions often force travelers to make modifications on their itineraries and we are always ready to help them because we want to be part of the solution, not the problem!
Our suites have spacious closets (many have even two) The studios, though, have a reduced area because they are smaller (yet more affordable!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We don't have expensive taste - a quiet, clean spot to sleep is all we need. Our room was well appointed (although the bed was VERY soft, leaving us with backaches), and we liked that there was a small kitchenette. The rooms was clean....ish. Not so dirty you felt grossed out, but we noticed hairs in our bathroom from the start of the trip to the very end, so not ours (there before us) and never swept. The shower was clean, but had some mildew-looking black stains right across the middle of it.

There was an odd shiny "splash" pattern on the ceiling by the light.....we're hoping that was a champagne bottle that went astray ;) but chose not to think further about it.

The carpet seemed clean, the room smelled ok, but there was a hump in the carpet showing it was a bit worn and stretched out. Again not a huge deal (especially for what we paid), but just not fantastic.

Our big problem was a double-edged sword - we wanted to be near the beach and in the action spot, but wanted sleep. However, the windows in our room were extremely thin, and the thumping from the party places a street behind prevented us from sleeping both nights, even with earplugs.

Front desk were friendly and helpful. Lobby is adorable - too bad just a little of that didn't extend to the room. Housekeeping tidied, but I wouldn't say it was a thorough clean. I'm sure if we had asked they would have checked it out, but for our one-day-two-night stay it didn't seem worth it.

All in all, we got what we paid for, but we got a great sale rate. I wouldn't necessarily choose to stay there for the regular rate. And I wouldn't stay there unless you are young (we are 40) and ok with being out in the night-life rather than laying in bed praying for the pounding dance music to stop (which it doesn't until around 3am).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Point made. We understand your position and thank you for your honesty. February through May is peak season in Miami, because there are many events and activities coming to town. Unfortunately, you stayed during Spring Break. Although we love the young crowd, we also know their nightly activities disrupt the rest of the visitors (not only in our hotel, but everywhere). Perhaps you were unaware of this yearly event in the US. If you decide to return, we invite you to plan your trip during a quieter month. We will promise your nights will be restful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent a lot of time trying to find accomodations that were affordable, clean, and convenient for my Mom and sister who were coming to visit overnight in Miami after their cruise. This was the right place. I had read a number of reviews, including some mixed concerning cleanliness or condition, but we were very overall satisfied. It is basically a studio apartment- a great crash pad, frig, dishes, table and chairs, fine enough for the 3 of us, and very close in walking distance to everywhere you want to visit in South Beach. Marcello was unbelievably courteous and kind at the front desk as I explained that they were coming from a cruise, and if at all possible would either like to check in early, or at least secure their luggage. Fortunately their room was free that morning and they had a chance to rest before stepping out for the day of exploring. I was delighted to receive his personalized attention and concern for their arrival, and would encourage you to contact him directly. The beach was steps away, as was the parking garage for our car. The little convenience store was nice on the premises, and any kind of bus tour or sight seeing can be arranged from the little storefront. Overall, if you plan to spend most of your time taking in the sights and don't need the glitz or glitz prices, you will be pleased with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for you review and your kind words about Marcelo. He's definitely a gem :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first visit to SOBE so most of the planning was done online. We chose this place because the majority of the reviews raved about the location, and since we were on a girls trip and didn't rent a car we wanted to be close to everything. I wasn't sure what to expect, but based on the reviews I didn't expect much. So we booked our package through an online tavel company and we told we would have pay a $6 per day resort fee only when we arrived. Well we were charged a $100 refundable deposit. At first the guy at the front desk was really short with us about the fee, but he came around a was actually courteous and helpful. The rooms were okay, but could have been better. The bathrooms need to be upgraded. The sink drained slowly and we did not have any face towels. We called for some and they arrived promptly, but we were there for three nights, and they were never replaced. The curtains were dirty, and the glass globe on the ceiling fan was broken. In addition there was a Waterbug/German Cockroach in our room as well. Overall the hotel served its purpose, we had a place to sleep while in SOBE. The location is good, it's not too crowded, but is very close to Clevelander's, Mangos and shopping. I did like the fact that the hotel has a front patio that you can sit out and enjoy a drink and see the action. Would I stay here again? Maybe, depending on my budget, but I would prefer to stay in a nicer hotel on Ocean Dr. One last thing, you do not need a car to stay here, but I would suggest that you schedule and airport shuttle to and from the airport instead of walking to the Metrobus stop with luggage like we did when we first arrived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and sorry there were things about your stay that didn't meet your expectations. I will try to address them one by one. First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to SoBe. Regarding the $100 fee, it's not a charge, but simply a deposit that we hold until you return your room keys. It's called "Incidental's deposit" and it's only used when guests mistreat the rooms (which rarely happens) Our staff should be clear about it and we will make sure they are from now on! Bathrooms: Yes, unfortunately we still haven't upgraded them. It's our lowest point right know but, we hope we are not judged solely on that, cause we try hard to make it up in every other possible way. The cockroach: here in Florida they are known as "Palmetto bugs" cause they are typical of this geographical area. They are most common during the warmest months of the year. We want to make clear that these bugs DO NOT LIVE in our hotel. They crawl around at night in streets and alleyways and, once in a while they manage to get inside buildings through AC ducts or windows. We are terribly sorry you got to meet one of these creatures and can assure you we have pest control agents spraying our premises periodically. Lastly, thank you for your advice on transportation. This is a question many people ask :) Warmest regards from everyone at the Ocean Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend made a reservation to this hotel. We were there last week. The Hotel has a great location since it's only minutes walking to the beach and the nightclubs. The staff at the hotel was so nice and diligent to help us with any issue we could have. Specially the Front desk guy, Marcello, he is extremely nice. Every time we needed something he was willing to help, answering our questions, calling the valet parking for us, giving us the address to so many places in the city. He actually suggested even places to eat. we were so delighted in the hotel, that we are planning to comeback in the summer and that's our place from now on. We actually felt like home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musa29_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you! Once again, Marcelo gets a special mention, and it's cause he really does go out of his way to help our guests. He truly represents the high standard of customer service that we are known for, and that we instill in every member of our staff. We are glad you felt at home. Our doors are open to welcome you back whenever you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#127 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites on South Beach Miami
Suites on South Beach Miami
#106 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#89 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#156 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#131 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing