We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, convenient and practical stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #146 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“Clean, convenient and practical stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent a lot of time trying to find accomodations that were affordable, clean, and convenient for my Mom and sister who were coming to visit overnight in Miami after their cruise. This was the right place. I had read a number of reviews, including some mixed concerning cleanliness or condition, but we were very overall satisfied. It is basically a studio apartment- a great crash pad, frig, dishes, table and chairs, fine enough for the 3 of us, and very close in walking distance to everywhere you want to visit in South Beach. Marcello was unbelievably courteous and kind at the front desk as I explained that they were coming from a cruise, and if at all possible would either like to check in early, or at least secure their luggage. Fortunately their room was free that morning and they had a chance to rest before stepping out for the day of exploring. I was delighted to receive his personalized attention and concern for their arrival, and would encourage you to contact him directly. The beach was steps away, as was the parking garage for our car. The little convenience store was nice on the premises, and any kind of bus tour or sight seeing can be arranged from the little storefront. Overall, if you plan to spend most of your time taking in the sights and don't need the glitz or glitz prices, you will be pleased with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for you review and your kind words about Marcelo. He's definitely a gem :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    220
    129
    47
    36
See reviews for
141
207
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first visit to SOBE so most of the planning was done online. We chose this place because the majority of the reviews raved about the location, and since we were on a girls trip and didn't rent a car we wanted to be close to everything. I wasn't sure what to expect, but based on the reviews I didn't expect much. So we booked our package through an online tavel company and we told we would have pay a $6 per day resort fee only when we arrived. Well we were charged a $100 refundable deposit. At first the guy at the front desk was really short with us about the fee, but he came around a was actually courteous and helpful. The rooms were okay, but could have been better. The bathrooms need to be upgraded. The sink drained slowly and we did not have any face towels. We called for some and they arrived promptly, but we were there for three nights, and they were never replaced. The curtains were dirty, and the glass globe on the ceiling fan was broken. In addition there was a Waterbug/German Cockroach in our room as well. Overall the hotel served its purpose, we had a place to sleep while in SOBE. The location is good, it's not too crowded, but is very close to Clevelander's, Mangos and shopping. I did like the fact that the hotel has a front patio that you can sit out and enjoy a drink and see the action. Would I stay here again? Maybe, depending on my budget, but I would prefer to stay in a nicer hotel on Ocean Dr. One last thing, you do not need a car to stay here, but I would suggest that you schedule and airport shuttle to and from the airport instead of walking to the Metrobus stop with luggage like we did when we first arrived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and sorry there were things about your stay that didn't meet your expectations. I will try to address them one by one. First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to SoBe. Regarding the $100 fee, it's not a charge, but simply a deposit that we hold until you return your room keys. It's called "Incidental's deposit" and it's only used when guests mistreat the rooms (which rarely happens) Our staff should be clear about it and we will make sure they are from now on! Bathrooms: Yes, unfortunately we still haven't upgraded them. It's our lowest point right know but, we hope we are not judged solely on that, cause we try hard to make it up in every other possible way. The cockroach: here in Florida they are known as "Palmetto bugs" cause they are typical of this geographical area. They are most common during the warmest months of the year. We want to make clear that these bugs DO NOT LIVE in our hotel. They crawl around at night in streets and alleyways and, once in a while they manage to get inside buildings through AC ducts or windows. We are terribly sorry you got to meet one of these creatures and can assure you we have pest control agents spraying our premises periodically. Lastly, thank you for your advice on transportation. This is a question many people ask :) Warmest regards from everyone at the Ocean Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend made a reservation to this hotel. We were there last week. The Hotel has a great location since it's only minutes walking to the beach and the nightclubs. The staff at the hotel was so nice and diligent to help us with any issue we could have. Specially the Front desk guy, Marcello, he is extremely nice. Every time we needed something he was willing to help, answering our questions, calling the valet parking for us, giving us the address to so many places in the city. He actually suggested even places to eat. we were so delighted in the hotel, that we are planning to comeback in the summer and that's our place from now on. We actually felt like home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musa29_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you! Once again, Marcelo gets a special mention, and it's cause he really does go out of his way to help our guests. He truly represents the high standard of customer service that we are known for, and that we instill in every member of our staff. We are glad you felt at home. Our doors are open to welcome you back whenever you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We reserved this hotel through hotels.com. When we arrived we did not have a reservation. Although one hour before we arrived, relatives stopped by to visit and they did have a reservation for us. My daughter overheard a conversation indicating that they had given our room to a guest that arrived a day early and the hotel was booked full. The hotel blamed hotels.com, but it was obvious to us what had happened. Hotels.com was more than accommodating in locating a new booking for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieGW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

Dirty toilet, broken tv, damaged window, locked out of our hotel room for over an hour, long delays in getting car from valet.


We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013. At first glance things seemed fine - the room was fairly spacious and easily accommodated the 3 of us ladies. But the minute we walked into the bathroom things started going downhill. The toilet & the water in it was a dirty yellow-brown. The TV in the bedroom was broken and the window wouldn't close completely. We brought the deficiencies to the staff, who at first seemed fairly pleasant, but we soon found out the truth. The front-desk informed us that there was nothing they could do to fix any of the deficiencies and that we'd have to "deal" with it throughout our 4 night stay. We asked for a small deduction in the final bill as a sign of good faith but they refused. We asked for & received the manager's email & phone number but was informed that she was on vacation and would not be able to respond until after we left. With no other recourse, we promised to contact the manager.

The second day we were there, when we came back to the room mid-day, our electronic keys wouldn't open the door. We again went down to the front desk and their master electronic key was unable to open the door. We were essentially locked out of our room completely. When we complained to the staff that this was unacceptable, the man at the front desk got very angry with us and said, "There's nothing I can do!" and walked away. After about another 45 mins, a housekeeper finally came up with a physical key & unlocked the door for us.

The third day we were there, we got a phone call around 7 am that our car was waiting. We had not called a car. Apparently, the valet thought that we'd called for our car when in fact someone else had. We found out later that the person who had called for his car was rushing to the airport and ended up waiting almost 1 hour for his car to arrive because of the mix up.

And on the day that we left, we waited over 45 mins to get our car.

Do not stay at this hotel. It may seem worth it given the price, but you really get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for spring break. Had no problems while I was there. Great location at a good price. I would say that the only issue I had was with the valet parking company. Waited for about an hour at 4 am so that someone could come get my car. Other than that, it was a good time in this hotel and Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noble n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey outside of Philly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here in Oct '12. The location is great, which is the main selling point. Add the fact that there is a sitting area out front, which is great for people watching and just relaxing with a drink. A definite plus for them. There is also a restaurant (didn't eat there) and a small store downstairs which shares the patio I was speaking of.

We had a suite in the same building as the front desk. Our room was over the alley so we indeed heard the trash trucks early as well. As for the room itself, it was decent. For the price we paid (great by any standards, not just MIA), I was good with it. This by no means is an upscale place, but it was comfortable. Nice little kitchenette, futon, 5 piece kitchen set with tall chairs. The bathroom could have been a bit more "polished", literally and figuratively.

Jenny at the front desk was very helpful, allowed us to check-in early and upon check-out, leave our bags in a secured room as we had a late flight. They also provided towels in the lobby area to use for the beach.

Overall, cool place...depending on the price you get. Anything upwards of $200 a night...look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundles456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#107 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing