We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not bad, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #146 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jersey outside of Philly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here in Oct '12. The location is great, which is the main selling point. Add the fact that there is a sitting area out front, which is great for people watching and just relaxing with a drink. A definite plus for them. There is also a restaurant (didn't eat there) and a small store downstairs which shares the patio I was speaking of.

We had a suite in the same building as the front desk. Our room was over the alley so we indeed heard the trash trucks early as well. As for the room itself, it was decent. For the price we paid (great by any standards, not just MIA), I was good with it. This by no means is an upscale place, but it was comfortable. Nice little kitchenette, futon, 5 piece kitchen set with tall chairs. The bathroom could have been a bit more "polished", literally and figuratively.

Jenny at the front desk was very helpful, allowed us to check-in early and upon check-out, leave our bags in a secured room as we had a late flight. They also provided towels in the lobby area to use for the beach.

Overall, cool place...depending on the price you get. Anything upwards of $200 a night...look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundles456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    220
    129
    47
    36
See reviews for
141
207
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We got this hotel for a good price for 3 of us and the size of the room and the facilitiesa available were good. Although a new bathroom is definitely needed. It could have been cleaner and it needed more windows but we were in Miami to party and sunbath so we hardly used the room for more than sleeping, chaging and making lunch! Location wise it is amazing! And if you want to go and experience Miami and not pa a fortune for a hotel then this is your place. The noise was low and the staff when we saw them were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for new room with new bathroom and windows! As long as you make this aware at the beginning then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleanlittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We paid way too much for this place. It was good location but the walls were thin which caused the multiple noise disturbances during the late evening/early morning. We stayed on the second level so you will hear trash trucks everyday. No parking, no elevators, lack of towels in the bathrooms or shower mat. We totally were not impressed but it was a place to stay close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We wish we had known you were not fully satisfied while you were still at our hotel. That way we would have had a chance to make amends. Regarding the price, during February, March, and April our town hosts special events every week which attract lots of visitors, but also increase rates. That is everywhere, not only in our hotel. We invite you to visit us again, perhaps during a quieter time, and you will enjoy our great weather at an affordable price. Plus, returning guests get a 10% discount. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I really like the design of this hotel and the location is great but if you're out partying all day you would want to get a good night sleep... however, the walls are really thin which makes it almost impossible to happen... I woke up everyday @ 5 am bc of trash pick up day and a lot of noise from outside of the building ahhthh it drove me nutssssssssss !! and the curtains does not even cover the whole window which makes it so bright in the room

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithmyhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are terribly sorry to hear you had trouble sleeping. Ever since we changed the windows in the rooms facing the back and the front of our hotel, complains about noise coming from the outside stopped. Had we known you had this issue, we would have changed you to a quieter room right away. Please accept our apologies. We try to prevent inconveniences and are also quick to solve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was a bit concerned seeing other negative reviews but I must say that this place worked out great for us. I would definitely stay again. The combination of the location, price, service, room were perfect for us, two adults and a teenager. We are people who do not like to plunk down alot of cash for a hotel because we spend most of the time outside and would rather spend our money on restaurants, attractions, etc. Took all of two minutes to walk to ocean avenue, the beach, and the many restaurants and taverns along that avenue. Lincoln Ave and Espanola Way were about a 10 minute walk. The room was clean and spacious. We had the AC on at night and since I never travel without my sound machine, we didn't hear a peep outside, although i imagine we would hear conversations outside and vehicle noise without those. Beds were very comfortable. I parked in a garage that was one block away which was $20 a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoondogNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your leaving a review and hope it will help other travelers who, like you, are looking for a great place to stay at an affordable price. It was a pleasure having you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If your looking for a nice hotel close to the action this is it... It isn't fancy but its comfy and clean.. The staff is amazing and the rooms are spacious.... I will definitely stay here again when I return to Miami in the fall

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljones322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are excited to hear you'll be visiting us again in the fall! Miami has a lot to offer all year round. The last quarter of the year has nice (not so-hot) temperatures plus, more affordable prices. Send us an email when you start planning your next trip and we will make sure to give a 10% return guest discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love this place,close to every things ,the attention was great specially from the guy in the front desk Marcello.He took care of all our questions and help us finding all the places that we were looking for,in our vacation time!We will back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you, Lore. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Marcelo has been with us for many years and is indeed a valued member of our team. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#107 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing