We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, but we hated it...”
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #121 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just came back from a one week vacation in Miami Beach. We stayed 2 nights at the Ocean Reef Suites and hated it... Before booking this hotel, I read all the good reviews on this Hotel and for the first time i was really disappointed with my pick...Our room was dirty (around the bed, all the curtain, the carpet, bathroom curtain, the bathroom was nasty (bath all cracked and painted with wall paint), our pillows were old brown- yellow, our bath towels had holes in them and most of them weren't white anymore (during my stay i saw 3 rooms and they were all like this)...I've been in a lot of different hotels and this was one of the worst i've been in...There is renovation going on at the hotel, so hopefully it will get better. This hotel has a lot of potential but they need to invest some money...The location is perfect, walking distance from the Beach, in the middle of Washington Ave and Ocean Drive. Couldn't have asked for a better location. Sorry but we hated the hotel and would never return...

Room Tip: Avoid the Front and the Back, Very noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bebestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We understand how you must have felt, and apologize for not giving you the exceptional service we are known for. The renovation work has taken a toll on us, but we are confident once the work is done everyone will love it. Please, give us another chance. We would like to talk with you, and make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 684 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Long story short, the hotel is dirty. There were brown stains on the walls and carpet, the air conditioner vent was full of dust, the tub drain was partially clogged, and worst of all there was no hot water. The best you could get was tepid, at best before becoming cold again. And the bushes outside the hotel smelled of urine.

Plus, just because you have a microscopic kitchenette and an ikea table for two next to the bed, you can't call it a "suite".

Location is good, but the parking sitch is clusterballs. Park at the lot across the street, cause if you use their valet it'll take at least 20 min for them to get your car.

If you've made a reservation here I suggest you cancel it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crickethk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We are terribly sorry to know that you weren't happy with our hotel. We have been under construction and there's more renovations to come. That's why things have been messy around here. Yet, it is for a good cause! Once it's all done, everyone will enjoy the benefits. Regarding the little kitchen and table for two, what you describe is one of our studios, not the suite. Our suites have a large kitchen and a table that seats four people. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding with respect to that. We apologize and are willing to work with if you wish to talk to us personally about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I must say that this Hotel is perfect for people on a budget. I stayed there with 3 friends in a suite/ room (we were all girls so sharing a room was not a problem) for 2 nights. We checked in around 2pm and were given the room straight away. Staff was really polite and helpful and spoke spanish which made things easier for all of us (we do speak english but having someone speaking your own language is always good!). The location is fantastic, the decor is stylish, and again the staff just fantastic, blending friendliness and efficiency in just the right amounts.

Overall a great little hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank ZX345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

You are so kind. Yes, our rooms are like small apartments, perfect for families or friends ready for a fun vacation. Speaking Spanish is almost essential here and we like making our guests from Latin America feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very Good hotel, right in the middle of everything.
Good, multilingual staff. Excellent service. Great area, full of shops and bars
Traveled there on business, but will definitely come back to explore the city more from there.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank John260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

We would love to have you here once again, especially on a leisure trip. We hope 2013 brings you back. It will be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for 1 night only, the location is great, just a few blocks from Ocean Drive. The staff is very helpful, the room is clean and comfortable. There're many parking lots around with fair prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HA_BR_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks! Parking is something sometimes travellers worry about. True, South Beach is designed so people can walk to places. Yet, there's no need to stress if one has a car because of the many parking lots in the area and also the valet parking service, which is available 24 hours. Once again, thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Noicy aircondition, but friendly service. Er had a good stat in Miami with the Beach nearby and restaurants and shopping ad well. As Swedish guests we liked the IKEA furniture. The valet parking service was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalkulla51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for your comments! Our best wishes to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location is wonderful for the type of wknd I like in SB. The evening was a little loud around 2am when the people outside our room started wondering in and speaking loudly. But the size of the room was great, having the kitchen is a big plus, it felt like a little apartment. We were able to make 3 outfits changes the day we stayed b/c we were so close to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks a lot! We can say many things about our hotel, but what really matters are the testimonials of travelers like you, who were able to make the most of their time because of us being so conveniently located. Hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#95 of 212 in Miami Beach
782 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#114 of 212 in Miami Beach
494 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Suites on South Beach Miami
#116 of 212 in Miami Beach
453 reviews
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#119 of 212 in Miami Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $125 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing