We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sorry, but we hated it...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #142 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New-Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sorry, but we hated it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just came back from a one week vacation in Miami Beach. We stayed 2 nights at the Ocean Reef Suites and hated it... Before booking this hotel, I read all the good reviews on this Hotel and for the first time i was really disappointed with my pick...Our room was dirty (around the bed, all the curtain, the carpet, bathroom curtain, the bathroom was nasty (bath all cracked and painted with wall paint), our pillows were old brown- yellow, our bath towels had holes in them and most of them weren't white anymore (during my stay i saw 3 rooms and they were all like this)...I've been in a lot of different hotels and this was one of the worst i've been in...There is renovation going on at the hotel, so hopefully it will get better. This hotel has a lot of potential but they need to invest some money...The location is perfect, walking distance from the Beach, in the middle of Washington Ave and Ocean Drive. Couldn't have asked for a better location. Sorry but we hated the hotel and would never return...

Room Tip: Avoid the Front and the Back, Very noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bebestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We understand how you must have felt, and apologize for not giving you the exceptional service we are known for. The renovation work has taken a toll on us, but we are confident once the work is done everyone will love it. Please, give us another chance. We would like to talk with you, and make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    226
    133
    47
    37
See reviews for
151
209
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Long story short, the hotel is dirty. There were brown stains on the walls and carpet, the air conditioner vent was full of dust, the tub drain was partially clogged, and worst of all there was no hot water. The best you could get was tepid, at best before becoming cold again. And the bushes outside the hotel smelled of urine.

Plus, just because you have a microscopic kitchenette and an ikea table for two next to the bed, you can't call it a "suite".

Location is good, but the parking sitch is clusterballs. Park at the lot across the street, cause if you use their valet it'll take at least 20 min for them to get your car.

If you've made a reservation here I suggest you cancel it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crickethk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are terribly sorry to know that you weren't happy with our hotel. We have been under construction and there's more renovations to come. That's why things have been messy around here. Yet, it is for a good cause! Once it's all done, everyone will enjoy the benefits. Regarding the little kitchen and table for two, what you describe is one of our studios, not the suite. Our suites have a large kitchen and a table that seats four people. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding with respect to that. We apologize and are willing to work with if you wish to talk to us personally about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I must say that this Hotel is perfect for people on a budget. I stayed there with 3 friends in a suite/ room (we were all girls so sharing a room was not a problem) for 2 nights. We checked in around 2pm and were given the room straight away. Staff was really polite and helpful and spoke spanish which made things easier for all of us (we do speak english but having someone speaking your own language is always good!). The location is fantastic, the decor is stylish, and again the staff just fantastic, blending friendliness and efficiency in just the right amounts.

Overall a great little hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ZX345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
You are so kind. Yes, our rooms are like small apartments, perfect for families or friends ready for a fun vacation. Speaking Spanish is almost essential here and we like making our guests from Latin America feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very Good hotel, right in the middle of everything.
Good, multilingual staff. Excellent service. Great area, full of shops and bars
Traveled there on business, but will definitely come back to explore the city more from there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We would love to have you here once again, especially on a leisure trip. We hope 2013 brings you back. It will be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for 1 night only, the location is great, just a few blocks from Ocean Drive. The staff is very helpful, the room is clean and comfortable. There're many parking lots around with fair prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HA_BR_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks! Parking is something sometimes travellers worry about. True, South Beach is designed so people can walk to places. Yet, there's no need to stress if one has a car because of the many parking lots in the area and also the valet parking service, which is available 24 hours. Once again, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uaberg@telia.com
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Noicy aircondition, but friendly service. Er had a good stat in Miami with the Beach nearby and restaurants and shopping ad well. As Swedish guests we liked the IKEA furniture. The valet parking service was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalkulla51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach, fl
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location is wonderful for the type of wknd I like in SB. The evening was a little loud around 2am when the people outside our room started wondering in and speaking loudly. But the size of the room was great, having the kitchen is a big plus, it felt like a little apartment. We were able to make 3 outfits changes the day we stayed b/c we were so close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks a lot! We can say many things about our hotel, but what really matters are the testimonials of travelers like you, who were able to make the most of their time because of us being so conveniently located. Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#151 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#80 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing