We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“middle of everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #141 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“middle of everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very Good hotel, right in the middle of everything.
Good, multilingual staff. Excellent service. Great area, full of shops and bars
Traveled there on business, but will definitely come back to explore the city more from there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We would love to have you here once again, especially on a leisure trip. We hope 2013 brings you back. It will be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    226
    133
    47
    37
See reviews for
153
209
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for 1 night only, the location is great, just a few blocks from Ocean Drive. The staff is very helpful, the room is clean and comfortable. There're many parking lots around with fair prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HA_BR_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks! Parking is something sometimes travellers worry about. True, South Beach is designed so people can walk to places. Yet, there's no need to stress if one has a car because of the many parking lots in the area and also the valet parking service, which is available 24 hours. Once again, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uaberg@telia.com
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Noicy aircondition, but friendly service. Er had a good stat in Miami with the Beach nearby and restaurants and shopping ad well. As Swedish guests we liked the IKEA furniture. The valet parking service was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalkulla51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach, fl
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location is wonderful for the type of wknd I like in SB. The evening was a little loud around 2am when the people outside our room started wondering in and speaking loudly. But the size of the room was great, having the kitchen is a big plus, it felt like a little apartment. We were able to make 3 outfits changes the day we stayed b/c we were so close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks a lot! We can say many things about our hotel, but what really matters are the testimonials of travelers like you, who were able to make the most of their time because of us being so conveniently located. Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Front desk personnel were terrific. Accomodating and pleasant. Marcel let us leave our bags since we arrived early. When we came back 6 hours later after a tour, they were waiting just as we left them. Then the internet room next door had slow internet and we were allowed to print boarding passes at the front desk free of charge!! Location is great. The down side: the shower didn't drain and we had water up to our ankles and the radio/clock didn't work at all. We had to go down and ask for a wakeup call as we coudn't set the alarm. The TV had a lot of stations, the room was fairly clean.. but with carpeting it is always holding some dirt. You need to leave your car in the street and the valet picks up and takes to the lot for a fee of $20 a day. You must call early as it takes at least 20 minutes for car to arrive. All in all we were satisfied with our one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalGal0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments, the pros and the cons. We are happy you were overall satisfied with our performance and, by no means we ignore the fact that we could have done better. We know some of our bathrooms need our attention. It's a difficult process, but we will get there. Warmest regards from everyone at the Ocean Reef Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We decided to do a last minute vacation for my boyfriend's birthday and we chose to stay at the Ocean Reef Suites September 7-14 and our stay was just okay. When we got there to check in the front desk person was not welcoming at all. It seemed like we were bothering him or taking his attention away from something. He handed us our keys and told us to walk across to get to our room. We walked in and we were confused but it was okay. I began to notice all of the scuffs and food marks on the wall and I become skeptical of this place. We sat on the bed and to me it was very uncomfortable. The pillows were just plain terrible. The circuit breaker SHOULD NOT be in the bedroom facing the bed!!!!! The windows were absolutely filthy and the bathroom could've be remodeled. The hot water didn't work 95% of the time. The shower was weirdly designed and sink could have been bigger! There is so much space in the suite that could've been utilized. It seemed like the design of this place was rushed and not thought through enough.

I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends. I will stay if you make changes to the suites.

Room Tip: Go next door to Lords of Nash!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lateefah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize. It is certainly nice to read positive comments about our performance but, reviews like yours are the ones we pay most attention to, because they remind us there are areas to work on. We know we can improve and we will. We hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff can seem a bit unfriendly at check-in, but they're actually really nice and helpfull!

location: the location rocks!! you're just 2 blocks away from the beach, and in the heart of south beach! you won't be able to find a better location.

rooms: rooms were spacious and clean! the kitchen is brand new but the bathroom was a little bit dated. whatever you do, don't look at the windows. They were disgusting! they were so dirty you couldn't see through them, and when i tried to open the window it just broke and fell down. That i wasnt expected. But we quickly found a solution to that which was to just close the curtains. Except from the windows, the room was nice. To be honest we didnt care to much about that.

would definitly recommend this hotel as its nice, centraly located and have amongst the best rates in south beach. Yes you can find cheaper, but i doubt you'll like it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlemcen_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you like us and recommend us. We looked into the window situation and had the maids pay more attention :) Best regards and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#152 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing