We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“less than clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #132 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“less than clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

we stayed in room 410 (2nd floor, front of hotel) for 2 nights during the middle of February

Firstly, the room size is decent but upon inspection, couch was extremely dirty (don't want to imagine what people have gotten up to on that couch), bathroom floor had not been vacuumed (small black hairs all over the floor YUCK!), shower curtain had mould all up the inside of it. I understand the bathroom was outdated, and usually that wouldn't bother me, however the fact that it was so unclean made me really dislike staying at this hotel.

Secondly, the noise at night is horrendous! The shutter windows don't close properly so it's almost like there are no windows at all with the amount of noise that comes through. The first night I slept dreadfully and on the second night took a sleeping tablet and had to use earplugs to get some sleep. There is the constant noise of cars playing very loud music and people yelling on the street all night! If the hotel had better windows this wouldn't be an issue.

Thirdly, air-con kept coming on at random times at night, we had to unplug it from the wall as it was extremely noisy.

I did not bother complaining to staff or ask to have my room changed as we were only staying for 2 nights and we did not want the hassle of having to move rooms. First impressions are everything and this hotel did not make a good one at all!

My final comment; I have stayed in hostels that were cleaner and less noisy than this hotel. I would never stay here again!

Room Tip: do not stay in room 410 if you value you sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahF1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thanks! I will be a pleasure to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    253
    145
    49
    41
See reviews for
183
221
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed there for a weekend trip during spring break in March 2012 and it was good for what we wanted Convenient location on Collins Ave. and good price. Staff provided late check-out for us which was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelvisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
It was great to have you here! Check our our rates for the rest of the year for some great prices from June through November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Ocean Reef Suites for three nights, 20-23/2 2012. Both of us were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room. The room was large and spacious and was well furnished. There was a refrigerator, a coffeemashine, a toaster, hot plates and other basic kitchen equipment, which all worked fine.
My wife and I both said that if we come to Miami Beach again, we will be happy to stay at the Ocean Reef Suites again.
The staff was very helpful at our departure, we had to borrow a room for our suitcases because our flight was not until the evening. Great location, close to everything. We were very pleased with this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for your visit and your positive feedback. We wish you the best and hope you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at Ocean Reef Suites - Miami for three nights during March 2012 and found the place to be a perfect location from where to explore South Miami beach area. The hotel itself was good, clean and catered for our requirements. The staff including Jenny were most helpful in providing information about the area and suggesting places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are so glad to hear from you and know that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

best location on sout beach, realy clean, well-equipped, helpful staff,
P.S. stay away from Gusto,
peter slovakia

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmos01Slovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you, Peter. It was a pleasure meeting you. Please, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place is really good: Fair price, well located, very clean rooms and very very very accommodating staff. I find the kitchenette to be very helpful and you get free coffee and wi-fi.

Did I mention its clean? Thats basically my main thing when I try new hotels and I always felt good here.

It's my second stay and apart from some isolated noisy episodes from the alleys nearby (which would happen almost anywhere in this location of the city), I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend money on something else than hotel rooms, there is so much more to enjoy here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you! We are very glad you chose our hotel twice! We certainly look forward to many more visits in the years to come. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great price and location. Friendly, helpful staff. The bathrooms are run down a bit but it's an older apt building made into a hotel. We heard the truck others talk of at like 8am and it was in and out. I wouldn't have even noticed it if it weren't for reading other people's reviews. Breakfast in the front is great, eat there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecpopika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review, which we are sure will help many travelers who might be wondering about the noises from the truck in the morning. We also want to share that most windows have been replaced in those few rooms that face the alley. Therefore, the noise has been significantly reduced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Kent Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#115 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing