We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okay!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seacoast Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seacoast Suites Hotel
Detroit, Mi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

It is outdated. Looks more like an apartment than hotel. I think they used to be apartments. Right off the beach. Not near South Beach. Like a 10 minute drive to South Beach. Valet was perfect, they always had the car ready out front. Front desk is friendly. Pool area is nice. Will not stay again because not closer to South Beach strip. Oh yeah, when they cleaned our room the maid put our valueables on the table even pennies, nickles, dimes, etc.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    52
    25
    64
See reviews for
130
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

keep an eye on your luggage when you arrive at the valet. my family and I had a terrible experience...one of our suitcases disappeared while one of the valet parking guys took our luggage to our room. when we complain they told us they couln't show us the cameras so... why do they even have survaillence cameras?...
overall it was a horrible experience; we never recovered our belongings and some of the employees are thieves, especially the ones that take your stuff to your room. my advice is: don't let them take your luggage to your room if you don't go with them some of your bags may disappear.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lopezg222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I've been in college dormitories that were in better shape. We stayed in an oceanfront master suite. We paid $519 a night and it might be worth it considering what real estate costs but it's not fit to be a hotel at that price if you can find something else. The property is run-down and dirty. There was mold in the two bathrooms shower and bath soap holders which in any event were not cleaned well; the phone wasn't working when we arrived (though it was quickly fixed) and the balcony was in terrible shape and you can't let a kid go out on it as it is not fully enclosed. The cheap window shades are not very useful and didn't work well; the closet safe had about 100 dead ants on it; the back of the toilet seat was dirty and even though I complained to housekeeping (even had someone come up to see all of it) and the front desk twice, nobody ever cleaned any of it up during the 4 nights we stayed there. Considering we took a top of the line room, you can only imagine how bad it was for the other reviewers who presumably didn't have master suites. The problem in Miami Beach is a complete lack of suite-style hotels in the 40's and 50's of Collins Avenue so right now there is no place else to stay except for the Alexander which is not easy to book. It's a real problem.

  • Liked — location close to my family
  • Disliked — terrible on cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

After reading all the reviews, I was terrified to stay here. When we got there, the front desk was fast. They made us pay up front, which we didn't know about in advance. We didn't spend our days at the hotel, we didn't even go by the beach or the pool so I can't review that. We took towels from them everyday to go out, and those were ok.

Rooms...
The hallways smell and are very old. The room was very very old but the sheets and towels were clean. If you need somewhere to just sleep, I would recommend it. Otherwise I wouldn't recommend it as a vacation spot. The beds were so uncomfortable that my husband and I had to sleep on separate beds the entire stay because the beds would sink in to the middle if we both slept on one. The bathroom was very old, but nothing that I couldn't tolerate.

Staff...
We didn't have any problem with them. They are mostly spanish speaking. Housekeeping came every morning and did a basic clean up.

I wouldn't recommend a family staying here. If you can't find anywhere else, and need a cheap place to stay at it's tolerable.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The old rooms
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank berendov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

The typical: they hide the huge construction they are doing, while the keep trying to collect rents. Do you have a pool? but of course!, they said. Next thing you know, you go to the pool and the noise is unbelievable!!! they are repointing all the balconies!, You complain and they say they do not know the sch of the contruction! that you can go somewhere else if you do not like it!. They were super rude.
Give me a break. This is fraud, plain and simple. Once you are set up with family, children, car seats, you get the picture, who can actually change places? you are stuck and unhappy, plain and simple. Plus, all the other problems mentioned in this site are true, the toilette malfunctioned twice, the valet guy is never there, the pool service guy showed up once in the entire week. Terrible, terrible place. i travel a lot for work around the world, this was my worst stay ever. I only wish i had had a chance to look at the reviews. Never again do I go without checking. Do not stay there!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — construction, noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank washington101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

For the discounted rate of $300 for 1 night, I can only say that this place should be avoided at all costs.

1st impressions were positive, with an efficient concierge and valet service and reception area which was pleasant and spacious.

Once in the lift, with the expired safety certification showing on the wall, the experience deteriorated until our check out and escape the following morning.

The place is literally falling down, with scaffolding holding up the ends of each floor on the outside balconies.

The suite, although spacious, was dated circa 1970 with furniture from a discount warehouse, with ripped sofas, a kitchen with rust and mould and a shower which did not work. The balcony had a gap in between floor and glass barrier which was big enough for a child to squeeze through, while the lounge did not have a TV, opting for a tiny TV in each bedroom.

The swimming pool insisted on shower caps for women (!), but the access to the beach was simple, despite being a good 45 minute walk from the central Miami Beach area.

If you want to stay somewhere where 4 of you can easily crash down, then fine. But for anyone with any taste or standards, then this place should be avoided.

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

February of 2007
I have been at the seacoast suite hotel for 6 months, I have not been impressed with this hotel. The room was not cleaned before I moved in and the carpet was filthy. I was required to valet park my truck everyday. Once a week the valet lost my keys. The air-conditioning in my room would not set to the thermastat.The room was either humid or ice cold.The toilet would not flush in either bathroom without a plunger. Oh and the place was under construction the entire stay and the workers would work thru the night. The only good thing about the seacoast was the seacoast. And if you dont speak espanol good luck communicating with anyone. seriously P.F

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jhonnyappleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.2 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion Residences - BeachFront
0.4 mi away
New Point Miami Beach Apartments
New Point Miami Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in North Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Miami Beach
Monte Carlo Miami Beach
#7 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacoast Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacoast Suites Hotel

Property: Seacoast Suites Hotel
Address: 5101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2738
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacoast Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Seacoast Suites, located in the heart of Miami Beach along Millionaires Row. Framed by the beautiful white sand beaches of the Atlantic Ocean to the spectacular sunsets over Biscayne Bay, we invite you to enjoy our informal atmosphere and pleasurable setting. Our One, Two and Three Bedroom Suites offer incredible views of the Ocean, Bay and the Miami skyline from your private balcony. Our Pool and Tennis Courts are steps from the beach and are just a few of the amenities offered at Seacoast Suites. Located minutes from South Beach, Bal Harbour Shops, Bayside Market Place, the historic Art Deco District and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Ideally located near Miami and Fort Lauderdale International Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Seacoast Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing