We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cardozo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cardozo Hotel
Ranked #136 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed four nights here. Great location but although the room was large it was very In adequately equipped. Poor lighting. Poor storage. The fridge overheated. Noisy aircon and an intrusive extractor fan somewhere was always in the background. Difficult to drop off luggage and on the date we arrived no valet parking. Overall expensive for what it provides and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    125
    69
    36
    28
See reviews for
42
132
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Gloria Estefan's swank location on the water is the place to be seen or to catch a shot of Miami's crazies. Try the seafood pasta more food than I could handle at a fair price included a 2 lb lobster .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We did not stay here but we did stop for drinks. Dazzled by the fact that it is Gloria Estefan's hotel and they self publicise that they have the best mojitos we (party of four) decided to stop for drinks. We should have moved on when we were told that the only drinks we could have were in the ridiculously large tourist glasses that cost $29 ( plus tax and plus obligatory 18% gratuity) but we still fell for it. the couple opposite us had normal sized Mojitos but these where not available to us (tourist and mug written across our foreheads?). Rubbish drinks, rubbish service and huge bill. Don't do it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

After finding a Groupon for a pretty good deal we stayed at the Cardoza from 11/15-11/18. We arrived at the hotel from Ocean and had to walk through the cafe area with our bags. Once we arrived in the "lobby" which was quite small, we were greater by a very friendly hostess who was able to give us good information on some of the local restaurants, but was not aware of some of the places we had previously read about. Reading reviews from previous visitors we asked for one of the upgraded rooms. The room had very dark wood walls and flooring, the beds were some of the lowest beds I've ever seen but the bed was comfortable and so were. We called and asked for a different room as we had originally asked for rooms close to others in our party when we booked and when we called to confirm our reservation and was told all the rooms at our price level were already booked and that they would try to move us if the other party did not check in. The beds were super low but the mattress and pillow were comfortable. We didn't spend too much time in the room. The hotel is in a great location on Ocean Ave there are a lot of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The things I didn't like about the hotel were the bathroom was horrible and looked like the stopped the renovations after the room. The tub looked rusted and the stopper was broken. The water temperature kept changing from hot to cold in the shower. We complained and they had the guy who was also doubling as the bellhop come in to check on it. He told us we had the water turned too far towards the hot and that's why the temperature kept changing. Also there was a roach crawling in our tub one evening. The maid did a good job at cleaning but only left two towels and two washcloths in the room each night. With 2 women who like to take showers in the morning as well as during the evening it would have been nice to have more, most hotels give you at least four. Although the drinks were good at the hotel(they had "specials" buy 2/$25 get a free shot), there was no nightlife and no place to get any food after a certain time in the hotel. For the price I might stay again but I think the Cardoza has passed its prime. Customer Service and Location are the best things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. Walk to locations not on Ocean for cheaper food choices and don't forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atbell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cardoza just for 1 night but should have stayed longer! Our room #202 was absolutely incredible. The room is located at the front of hotel which is on Ocean Drive. From our window we had the view of the beautiful South Beach and could watch all the hussle and bussle of all the activities on the street. Spent the day on the beach which was 100 feet from the front door. Came back to the hotel and had a gigantic drink (they are not stingy on the alcohol) because our heads were spinning from the drink! There was so much to do on Ocean Avenue we really didn't get to spend too much time in our room so would have loved an extra day just to lounge in the room!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel on Ocean Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie10760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
501 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Cardozo hotel and I were not a match. This may say as much about me as the hotel. Let me say that as a 25 year old I would have been in heaven. As a man in his 50s not so much. Finding the check-in location was a bit difficult since I walked in through the cafe. if you enter by the side street you will be there. The location is right in the middle of the action, and the action in the cafe/restaurant below was fast and furious. It lasts well into the night. The rooms are small and not special. My room was very basic although attractive and clean. The bed was simple and relatively uncomfortable. The closet was tiny and there were only 3 hangers in it. The bathroom had an interesting South Beach decor but was so small it required some interesting maneuvers to use it. The service was quite good and friendly in contrast to some experiences related here. The noise from the hall was essentially unfiltered by the door to the room and there were lots of people roaming the halls all night. Do not, repeat do not, get a room by the ice machine. I probably slept 3 hours --- but again I am not sure this is a hotel meant for sleeping.

Room Tip: Do not take a room near an ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Here's what the Cardozo Hotel has: friendly, helpful staff (esp at the front desk and cleaning crew), and a wonderful location. I cannot, however, give it a favorable review as it was sorely lacking in so many other areas. The mattress, for example, was completely encased in plastic with such a thin mattress topper that the bed itself felt hot all night long (cranking the AC did not help). The room decor, while very hip with its gorgeous wood and low-slung furniture (Japanese style?) was not designed for comfort. The floor is hardwood with one thick, woven, sisal-style area rug (not made for bare feet). The room has 1 upholstered stool but no chair and also no mirror except over the sink in the bathroom. The bathroom, stocked with nicely scented products, only provided 1 bar of soap, which had to switch locations between the sink and shower, and the bathroom paint job was sloppy. If you want morning coffee, forget about it. The highly regarded grill doesn't open until 8:30 and, even then, charges $4 per cup for very mediocre coffee. Seriously. We ended up walking down the street to get coffee at the divine "Oxy" at 9am for superior java. If you want a late night snack or breakfast in bed, also forget about it. There is no room service and not even a menu for ordering take out from their own restaurant! I was deeply disappointed in Gloria & Emilio Estefan's hotel and would not stay there ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#93 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel Ocean
#143 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
The Tides South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardozo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Hotel

Property: Cardozo Hotel
Address: 1300 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4210
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardozo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Ocean Drive, the hotel offers a variety of magnificent deluxe suites, superior ocean view suites, and standard room accommodations. Set in the heart of South Beach, you are within walking distance of the best restaurants, lounges, and nightclubs Miami Beach has to offer. The Cardozo Hotel offers the finest in service, location, and comfort in one of the most exciting and trend-setting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cardozo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardozo Hotel Miami Beach
Cardozo Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing