We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bresaro Suites- a great hideaway!”
Review of The Mantell Plaza

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mantell Plaza
Ranked #156 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We needed 2 nights' accommodation in Miami Beach in June while on a trip visiting family, and after reading great reviews on TripAdvisor, we proceeded to contact Ray who is one of the owners of the suites. He replied promptly and was very polite so we booked- for $129 per night we thought it was a great deal. Upon arrival, we called Ray who was very attentive and came to meet us to give us keys and show us around the suite- we had number 407. It was really nicely decorated and clean and full of everything we needed- mini toiletries, robes, umbrellas (which we needed in June!), beach towels, bath towels, a breakfast basket with cereals and snacks, fresh milk and juice and yogurts in the fridge. It has a queen bed, cable tv, sofa (which i believe is a sofabed), telephone in the room which included local calls, microwave and mini kitchen.

The location is a short walk from the beach over the footbridge and only 10 blocks from the main shopping/clubbing area. The whole complex has a pool and a gym and laundry too.

Ray was always contactable and on hand to help with whatever we needed- he even helped us carry our luggage down when we left! It is an ideal spot to stay, Miami Beach's best kept secret spot. If we go back we will definitely stay there again as it was ideal for our needs. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: We had room 407 which was really nice but couldn't comment on any others.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alex_and_Katie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for The Mantell Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

This place was perfect for our Memorial Day Weekend stay...me and one of my friends kind of last minute decided we wanted to go to Miami and all the decent hotels were either booked or kind of expensive but I found this place through tripadvisor...went to the website and called Ray and he said they had a place available and for a reasonable price!

Pros:
Walkable to beach (couple of blocks)
Lincoln Rd (about 8 blocks)
Cheap cab ride ($5-$7) or local sobe bus (25cents, block away) to take you further down south beach
Quiet
Snack gift basket on arrival! score :)

Annnnd can't think of any cons but just fyi you can probably bring a friend or two by but I'm sure this isn't the place where you want to have a whole bunch of people in your room all through the night, the rooms are like studios so I'm sure it would be very rude to have an all night party in your room with your neighbors only separated from you by a thin wall =/

Also you pay in cash/check on arrival and Ray makes it clear that he won't come by unless you want the room serviced. Great place, will stay there again if I have the pleasure of coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We needed to book a last minute room before a cruise because of a flight change. Tripadvisor had a good review of this place so I decided to give it a chance. I was not disappointed. I emailed Ray and he reserved a room for my family of three. You will need to remember this is a condo/apt building with 7 rooms for rent. It is a couple blocks from the boardwalk and about 10 blocks from the Art Deco area of South beach. They don't take credit cards and you may need to call Ray's number to get someone to let you in the secured building. This is in a residential area, but very convenient to the beach and nightlife of South Beach.
The room resembled an efficiency college dorm room. We had a Murphy bed, full sized kitchen stocked with snacks and drinks, a couch, bathroom, flat screen TV, small balcony, and eclectic decorating. There was a beautiful garden and pool in the back. Since we were only there a short time we didn't get to use it, but it looked beautiful. It certainly isn't your run of the mill generic hotel, which made it that much more interesting. It was as though you were staying in a room of a friend. Though I only talked to Ray for a bit, he was very friendly, trusting, and accommodating. If I didn't search him out I would have had to leave my check in the room with the keys because not one was manning the "office" on a regular basis that I could tell.

Room Tip: Tell Ray what you are looking for and they will try to accommodate you.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kevbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Ray is awesome. We were treated like royalty. Perfect location near beach and close to restaurants and nightlife, but in a quiet neighborhood. Generous Food basket is enough for two for two breakfasts and some snacks along the way. Would never stay anywhere else in SoBe.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jandhmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is the 2nd year we have stayed at Simon's studio in Miami and we really love it and definitely will be returning again in 2013. The standard of accommodation and the facilities both in the studio and the building are first class...beats staying in a hotel! The location on South Beach is brilliant and you are just 5 minutes away from the beach although if you prefer to sit around a pool then pool at the Mantell Plaza is beautiful and secluded and on top of that building residents are so friendly and really make you feel at home. I would thoroughly recommend you stay here. Linda S

Room Tip: Book without hesitation...you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindaPat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Mantell Plaza is a lovely place to stay - great location in Miami Beach and a lovely block. Our room had a massive fridge freezer, great aircon, deckchairs to take to the beach and the whole building is very pleasant. Our host Marina was very nice too and very helpful.

Literally 2-3 mins from the beach and a minute from major bus routes into Miami itself. There is a 25c bus that takes you all round Miami beach - brilliant. The 150 Airport Flyer costs $2.35 and takes you to within a minute's walk of the apartment which was great.

Miami itself is super - enjoy!

Room Tip: I think we stayed in 542 - great view of the city from high up!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Allen_CLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We loved the Mantell Plaza! We had a corner studio that was very bright, well decorated, and well-equiped. The pool area is nice and quiet, and it is a short walk over a scenic pedestrian bridge and then one block to get the beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas were always available to borrow (though it was too windy to use the umbrella). The Mantell Plaza has a beautiful art deco lobby and and a gym! We loved that it was easy to get free parking directly in front of the building and close enough to walk to busier parts of South Beach. Though being able to borrow bikes was a huge boon. It was everything we'd been looking for. We got a discounted no-frills rate for a last minute/same day booking, but even the full price would have been worth it.

Room Tip: Trust Ray to help you pick.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Gates Hotel South Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,411 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,251 reviews
Lorraine Hotel
#166 of 210 in Miami Beach
136 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#8 of 210 in Miami Beach
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mantell Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mantell Plaza

Address: 255 W 24th St, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4609
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $45 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
The Mantell Plaza Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing