We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Flora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Flora
Ranked #18 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
waukesha,wi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at La Flora post cruise. We found it welcoming and very comfortable. The desk staff was always ready to answer questions and the manager Ros, was friendly and anxious to please. We were given a large two bed suite which worked out perfectly for our longer stay. The added space was great. Great air con , room frig, light breakfast and drinks in the afternoons were nice amenities. We had only one concern which was the bottom of the bathtub was very slippery. We solved the problem with using an extra bath mat on the bottom of the tub when we showered. The room staff left us a fesh one every day, figuring out our concern. Location of this hotel couldn't be better. It was a little loud on late Sat. night. But that was the only night we heard more groups of people or traffic. We will definitely return and too offer this as a great spot to experience the "real" South Beach. If you aren't looking for a large resort hotel with pools and restaurants and high rates, but want to be in the center of everything, book here and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a two room corner suite on third floor. Lots of windows added lots of nice light. eing lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embandjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    468
    121
    11
    2
See reviews for
234
666
83
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

A very welcoming and perfectly placed little hotel on Collins in easy walking distance of Ocean, Washington and Lincoln. Comfortable quiet and well-maintained room with a good shower. Effective aircon, decent continental breakfast and a free cocktail late afternoon. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rodders33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The staff (Luiz, Thomas) was super friendly and we were warmly welcomed. They had an open ear all the time, we´d ask them. The hotel is in the right position between Washington Ave and Ocean drive, just a couple yards from nice an reasonable restaurants on Washington and the beach on Ocean Drive. The rooms where clean, rather large and freshly renovated. We´ll come back.
Wir waren 2 Nächte im Hotel. Das Personal (Luis, Thomas) war sehr nett und hat uns super freundlich begrüsst und uns einfach ein gutes Willkommensgefühl gemacht. Das Hotel liegt ideal zwischen Washington Ave und Ocean Drive, nur ein paar Schritte zum Strand oder zu günstigen Restaurants. Wir kommen wieder!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recently had a 3-night stay here (Feb 3-5, 2014) and was very impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, the quality of my room, and the excellent location of the hotel. The hotel has style and I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJohn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Art deco hotel walking distance to all the action on Collins and Ocean Dr. Walking distance to lots of shopping, restaurants, decent night clubs, and 1 1/2 blks to the beach!
By far my favorite hotel, and we will be back! Thank you La Flora for a wonderful stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trecherous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My bf and I stayed at La Flora the end of November 2013 for his 30th bday. We had a GREAT time! First, the location is perfect! I cannot stress this enough! We walked every single day all over the city. The beach (1 1/2 blks away, feels like less), shops (high end and low end), restaurants, attractions, night clubs, ect.. South Beach has it all, & La Flora was a PERFECT location! PS. this might get long, as I have lots of good things to say & a few tips to share!

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because we had rented a car for the week, and La Flora offers reasonable rates for parking the vehicle overnight compared to other hotels in the same area. I think it was $20/day, but you may want to double check. It takes just a couple minutes for the attendants to grab your car (call down to the front desk, it will be ready when you are!). We did a day trip to Key West (LOVED IT! about 3 + hours from the hotel to the southern most point in the US), and we did another day trip to the Florida Everglades (LOVED that as well! I would recommend Everglades Holiday Park). Side note* the hotel has a pay-by-the-hour parking lot next to it which we used a few times out of convenience! We both thought it was just another little perk for our needs!

Next up, the staff! Every single person we talked to at the front desk was so helpful, and let us be annoying and ask a ton of questions! :) It was the same couple of guys working our entire week (until the last day) & we enjoyed chatting with them as they were very friendly! Even letting us check in hours early with no extra charge the first day! On our last day, we had mentioned that it was Josh's 30th a few days prior, and the woman checking us out (we think she must have been manager, or GM) waived our Hotel Fees! She said if the hotel would have known, they could have done something more! It was so sweet & an extra nice perk at the end of our trip! BTW, beware that all the hotels we looked at had random Hotel Fees that were like $10/day for the duration of your stay. I havent seen this in a lot of other cities/states. Also, the woman who made breakfast every morning was very sweet! Not very chatty, but super attentive & we enjoyed stopping in the lobby for a bite before heading out everyday! Lastly, the car attendants we pleasant & quick! Dont forget to tip the attendants and your breakfast lady!

Overall, I would recommend this place to everyone. Its a little Art Deco boutique hotel, in a perfect location, and not so many frills that the price sky-rockets! My bf and I both had a blast in South Beach & will be back again staying at the same hotel! We wanted something really nice, with a few amenities, not too spendy & great location... & we got it!!

Last minute pointers** gratuities are added onto the bill in Miami Beach so read up on that** food was kinda pricey all over the city ($50 average for us to sit down to eat) so keep that in mind ** everyone in FL (especially the Keys) moves at a much slower pace** south beach/tourist drivers are kinda crazy** relax, & enjoy yourself!!!!! We Love South Beach & Miami!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Shepley Hotel
#9 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#13 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#33 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Property: La Flora
Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing