We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Flora
Nearby Hotels
$258
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Circa 39 Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$153
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Lord Balfour(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$220
$197
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Hotel of South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$200
$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$268
$199
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pestana Miami South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveler rating
887
526
140
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
526
140
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourocean drivegreat locationin south beachfree drinksboiled eggsbeach towelsbottle of champagnethe general managercontinental breakfastcollins avenueart deco hotelespanola waypublic parkingking suiteour honeymoonyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for one night. It was a terrfic location, just one block from the beach and steps away from the nightlife. The hotel was an old hotel that was well maintained and spotless. We had just come from Key West and were wrapping up our week with our final day in South Beach. When we walked into our room we both looked at each other and laughed. It was sparse and "Shaker Like". Just a double bed (they said it was a queen but I doubt it) a bed side table and a small dresser. The closet was small and so was the bathroom, but the room was adequate and clean. Absolutely nothing fancy at all. This was all acceptable because we spent very little time in our room, as we only had one day to see South Beach. We ran out to the beach which was lovely and just a short walk across Collins Avenue and down the walk to the beach. The night life is just 2-3 blocks away and we enjoyed Mangoes for dinner and the entertainment. We then walked back to the hotel and collapsed with exhaustion into our Horrible Bed!! The mattress was old and lumpy with little to no support and with every turn the box spring squeeked and moaned like a haunted house. We were too exhausted and it was too late to ask for a room change so we just put up with it for one night. At breakfast in the morning we talked with a couple who said their first room was on the second floor and the mattress was the same. They said they complained and were moved to another floor where the bed was perfect. I voiced my complaint at check out and the manager was more than lovely and gave me a free night with our next visit. I don't know if we will ever take advantage of this but it was a nice gesture.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the second floor!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandJfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

It’s nice to see that your overall stay was enjoyable until your bed episode and of course who needs a bumpy bed that moans during the night ! My maintenance team and I went to your room and yes we could hear the moaning ... it was the box spring not the mattress which we replaced the same day in both rooms. Each and every hotel has its individual charm and La Flora Hotel is a true Art Deco Boutique historic building and I’m glad I was able to speak with you before leaving to personally apologize and offer a complimentary night which l hope you get to take advantage of if your travels bring you back to South Beach !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at the La Flora to be told every travellers worst nightmare.

"Sorry, its kinda busy this weekend, so we don't have a room for you."

Too bad for us as we had a confirmed booking for three nights booked through Trip Advisor's website. And it was not cheap at USD$300 + per night thanks to the Basil Art Show being on all weekend.

To their credit, the lady at La Flora was very friendly (and so she should be) and arranged for us to stay at the hotel two doors away called "The Impala". This turned out to be a very sweet, lovely hotel built in the Art Deco style of the area. See "Impala Hotel" for our review.

La Flora, by all accounts, is a great little hotel.

We will never know.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Firstly I would like to express my sincere apologies with not being able to fulfill your reservation and as the GM I am totally responsible for making sure all reservations are guaranteed and in this case l overlooked our allotment for the King Suite required. Although it could have turned into my nightmare then yours I acted swiftly to secure a King Suite (during Art Basel) at our next door Hotel Impala and from your recent review it was obviously my best move as your wonderful comments “We highly recommend The Impala Hotel” showed that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
La Flora is a great little Art Deco Hotel and I would really like for you both to contact me personally, Ms. Ros Gottuso and hoping that at some point you will return to Miami and have the pleasure of being our confirmed guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

i loveddddd this hotel! the staff was very nice and the place was nice and clean. The room itself was lovely, big screen TV, comfy beds. I love the fact that you can change the temperture because i get cold and like to have some type of heat on lol. The bathroom was very spacious and i loved that! Overall i had a great time and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Firstly, thank you for having an awesome experience with us and secondly for making La Flora your hotel of choice whist in South beach. Being able to have that overall experience and take advantage of all that we have to offer and knowing you will definitely be back makes us all look forward to your return … many thanks for a lovely review !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room was confortable, clean, quiet even the night. The staff is very nice and helpfull, mainly Carlos.
There is a valet parking but either a public parking next and other options too (Collins Avenue is difficult to park!).
The hotel is very near Ocean Av and Lincoln Road (just 4 blocks), good option of restaurants and stores in the neighboorhood.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

As the GM I am very proud that all our reviews reflect such excellent guest services all round and thank you for your kind words regarding all our staff and Carlos in particular who enjoyed taking care of all your needs. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us a nice review.
We look forward to seeing you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel lobby rocks, salsas & rumbas until midnight so don't plan on turning in before then! La Flora offers HUGE rooms with giant screen TV's and oversized baths. For $169. we stayed in room 209 right above the lobby so it was very loud until midnight. Solution was easy, we enjoy the party! South beach is a step back in time to the 50's so set your expectations. This is not a chain hotel but a true art deco boutique. Our room was actually a two room suite and had a large living area with couch, tables, two chairs, desk, kitchenette w/small refrigerator. Double doors separated the bedroom where a very large screen TV hangs on the wall, floor space to accommodate a full size chaise lounge, dresser, two bedside tables and a separate closet with ironing board and iron! The lobby also offers a free continental breakfast. The staff is friendly, attentive and very helpful. The location is perfect. A Starbucks is less than a block away, the beach is one block and the colorful flavor of Espanola Way and Lincoln Streets about 5 blocks.

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby are noisy at night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Enjoying a little Salsa & Rumba on a Saturday night is a must when in South Beach and of course being able to experience it in our lounge bar is wonderful. La Flora is a true Art Deco hotel dating back to 1929 and as previous guests have mentioned … this is not your run of the mill luxury but comfortable clean with friendly staff to assist in your everyday needs and the location is just perfect.
It was my pleasure to meet you all and thank you for your kind review … until the next time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews