We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for the amazing location, nice staff, drinks were strong”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #84 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Location was perfect and this is why I booked here. Staff was exceptionally friendly, however room was not very clean (first room had what felt like Vaseline all over things in the bathroom and huge chips in the bath tub, second room had clumps of hair on the floor).

Original room was off of the lobby next to a heavy glass fire door that separated the hallway from the lobby. Each time someone used the door it would slam loudly (avoid 1st floor, especially room 108). Front desk staff can’t do anything without the manager who was back in the morning. My nightly rate through booking.com with tax and 'resort fee' was $341.

When I asked the woman at the front desk who thought I had just walked in if there were rooms available, she told me she had an ocean view room on the second floor for $650 for all three nights vs. nearly $1050 I was paying. After she found out I was already staying at the hotel, she told me that I could move to an ocean view room on the second floor for $50 more a night. She said she couldn't move me without the manager and because I already paid for the first night, she couldn't do anything but offer to move me for more $$$, which wasn't going to happen.

I asked her to deduct the $341 off of the $650, move us upstairs and change our reservation but she wasn't empowered to do anything but take my money. The next morning we spoke to someone else who moved us to the back of the hotel on the third floor. No change on the hotel rates. Going forward, I won't pre-book hotels in South Beach as the prices are far cheaper once there, even if it means I have to move hotels during my stay (Penguin was $179, Hilton was $699 when I checked, but once there I looked and it was $182).

I would stay here again, based on location and price.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from Ocean and the lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankralfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We are thrilled that you loved our location; we couldn't' agree more. We are very sorry for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. We want to always offer a fantastic stay, and your comments help us know where we need to improve, thank you. We also apologize for the frustration you felt over the noise and room rates. Again, we will take your comments into careful consideration. We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Penguin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

I guarantee you will love your stay at this hotel! Everything is walking distance. We walked to the beach which is right across from the penguin hotel and also the restaurants and stores were walking distance which was great for me and my friends. The service was excellent, everyone was very helpful especially Carmen. Every time we needed something she helped us with it, she was very kind and professional. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Also, it has a restaurant and they serve drinks so that was something that really appealed to me. Holly as well was fantastic. I well most definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _MARI_SUNSHINE_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

You’ve made our day, thank you for the fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a fantastic stay at our hotel. Your praise of our staff is greatly appreciated; we will be sure to pass it along. We can’t wait to see you again when you next return to South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

On my vacation in miami I stayed at the penguin hotel. What a surprise. Perfect location. I went to have some drinks at their happy hour. I got a skinny penguin. Delish. The server was so polite and amazing. Totally not Miami beach attitude . Her name was Eva. She was new but work like a Profesional. I'll be back for sure. Eva wait for me! ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! It is great to hear that our staff, especially Eva, offered you such wonderful service. We will be sure to pass on your praise. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

After losing our Mom 'n Pop hotel on Ocean Drive in 2013 to a large chain we had to hunt for a reasonable hotel. Our last place for ten years was gobbled by the Marriott group, who doubled the rates; bye bye easy ocean views.

You can spend a lot of money on O.D. (Ocean Drive) but if you're not a sheik visiting with his family for the winter you want a reasonable, clean place with a responsive and responsible staff. We couldn't get the ocean view at the Penguin but we got a very quiet room in the back (silence is like gold on O.D.) for half the price of a back room at the Marriott. Aneesa at the front desk was able to get us oriented and everything we needed.

It's a low frills place with style but you get a continental breakfast at the sister President Hotel (walk down the side to the alley and let yourself in the President). There are always crazy discounts up for grabs; by booking an extra night we got 45% off our whole stay.

The hotel's restaurant has everything you need for ordinary, healthy favor, and it closes early enough that you can sleep if you're above it in the ocean view suites. The bar is cute. Grab towels from Aneesa as you head to the beach for the day. There's an efficiency fridge, too.

South Beach offers lots of diversions. If all you need is a decent hotel that won't get in your way; a place to rest up in before heading out, this is the place. If you're looking for a resort that's it's own freak show to entertain you, look elsewhere but be prepare to spend. My only complaint: no HBO, but then again they have free wi-fi.

Enjoy, we did!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! Your positive attitude and laid back enjoyment of South Beach made us smile! We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us, we hope to see you again for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The front dest receptionist Aneesa working Saturday night around 9 pm, very polite, professional. Rooms are very clean, bathroom very nice. Showers modern and clean. Everything walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midnight2432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

It is fantastic to hear that our staff took excellent care of you, and that you found our rooms and bathrooms clean. We are glad that you loved our location. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Never been to South Beach before, but very pricey there in general, and this rating is in part based on price/value consideration of hotel which I might have given 3/5 if it was cheaper. Once you get over price consideration it is in a great location on Ocean drive with lots close by and access to the beach.
However, the rooms are a different story. Art deco style is OK but should not be an excuse to avoid upkeep. Flooring, walls, mirrors, tiles, furniture all showed age in an unflattering way as well as paint. This was evident not just in rooms but also lobby. Rooms could also be noisy, and if this was in a busier part of SB would be a huge issue as even relatively quiet area seemed loud with any noise.
Very minimal room with a cheap chair and a relatively comfortable bed but smaller room in general. Very minimal continental breakfast included which has cereal really in another hotel around back not with view of ocean drive.
Not bad service but in general the whole experience was one of doing the bare minimum, in both service and upkeep.
Stayed before in smaller type older hotels in Europe and this one charged more and gave much less, very bad value for dollar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are very sorry that you were not impressed with your stay at our hotel. Your honest opinion is appreciated. We are always striving to improve our comfort and quality, and your comments help us know what we need to focus on. We would welcome the opportunity to make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

So my trip this past weekend went off without a hitch thanks to the amazing staff at the hotel.

I arrived early for my Feb 28th to March 3rd trip, and thought I may have to wait on a room until after 2 or 3pm for a room. Man was I WRONG the ladies at the front desk told me if I wanted to check in a room was ready if I wanted it.

Mean while my friends were having issues with their $600 a night hotel and I was already checked in and taking in the Miami sun.

The room was clean (I was in room 117), and the cleaning staff was sweet. I am not sure what was going on with those who stated in their reviews that the hotel was dirty.

This was just not the case for me during my stay and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Happy Birthday! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your celebrating. We are thrilled that you loved your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to pass on your praise to our staff; we know it will make their day. We hope to see you again when you next want to celebrate South Beach style!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Cavalier South Beach
#69 of 210 in Miami Beach
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
561 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $98 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing