We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location but that's it....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #78 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,155 helpful votes
“Great location but that's it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Location! Location! Location! This boutique hotel couldn't be placed in a better location for visiting South Beach. It's perched on Ocean Avenue amidst a string of eclectic hotels and restaurants, with beach views from the front of the hotel. Full on interior and exterior South Beach Art Deco is the second best feature of the hotel. The front desk staff were over the top friendly and the restaurant staff accommodating, while being run off of their feet. An evening cocktail and slim pickings, continental breakfast (offered at the hotel across the back alley) were included with the mandatory resort fee. The hotel itself left something to be desired: linens were sparse, pillows horrific, walls were thin, room entrance doors had gaps, furnishings were worn out, plumbing was loud and there was no remote control for the TV. If you don't mind paying a hefty price for location, then this is the place for you. If you expect a few amenities and a decent sleep, then perhaps this is not the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are moderately quieter than the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CanadianMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are thrilled that you loved our location, we fully agree! The Art Deco district is an amazing historic neighborhood in the heart of a vibrant area, there is always something to see and do here! We are sorry that you were less impressed with the rest of your stay. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    307
    211
    83
    136
See reviews for
127
418
92
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Going to Miami Beach. Check out the Penguin. Great location and unbelievable service with a smile. Ask for Anessa and Leo. They will take good care of you....can't wait to return. The rooms are immaculately clean and just the right size. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjtsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, you have truly made our day! We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay, and that our staff took excellent care of you. We can’t wait to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My hubby and I booked this room last minute and were pleasantly surprised! The rooms were much more than I expected, the location was awesome and the free welcome drinks were a great plus! We ended up booking for an extra 2 nights! If Im ever back in Miami I will be booming here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review, we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay as our guest! Welcome drinks… the perfect start to a beach vacation, we are glad you enjoyed them! It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic time you extended your trip. We can’t wait to see you again the next time you visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My stayed was a wonderful experiences, the room was very clean, large for one person.
The staff was very kind, helpful. Carmen at the front desk always was nice ready to provide what I need, David and Renzo best waiter, Laurence make sure I was taking care.
The location is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel! Your praise of our staff is greatly appreciated. We will pass your compliments onto them; we know it will make them very happy. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I knew this hotel ; everything was fine, room, free cocktails, and person working there.
Special thanks for Carmen at the front desk, always nice helpful and smiling, David the best waiter, good proposal, efficient and taking care of everybody and Laurence, the restaurant manager which is the best smile of this hotel.
I recommend it.
Frederic Lénel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flenel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are very happy that you had such a great experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ive stayed in Miami many times, I've stayed in some of the nicest hotels and this time because we only had one full day there, I went with the cheap option as I wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel. I thought Penguin was great for the price. It was significantly cheaper than the other hotels in this area and offered a great location. The girls on front desk were great, although the little balding man working the restaurant was my worst complaint. SO rude and unhelpful. Apart from that, I'd stay there again, I was happy with the room size, decor and level of cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany-morgan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and rates. It is wonderful to know that our front desk staff treated you so well. We are truly very sorry that you were not so happy with a member of our restaurant staff. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

So many things were wrong I don't even know where to begin.

* The lobby, restaurant, bar, and bathrooms were all within 10 feet of each other.
* The description of the rooms states double, but that does NOT mean double bed.
* I felt like I was in a motel.
* No remote control. No ice machines on any floor. You have to go all the way to the front desk for ice, and after 11pm, your out of luck.
* Room had a view of the alley and President Hotel next door (which was FAR FROM PRESIDENTIAL)
* Loved waking up to the sound of slamming dumpster doors, and the SHARED hotel staff going back and forth between hotels doing who knows what (obviously not cleaning).
* Hair and dust were everywhere. I'm not kidding you when I say I put my sneakers on after the shower, because they were cleaner than the floor.
* Bring your own extension cords because there is only ONE outlet in your room.
* The alarm clock is just for show. There is nowhere to actually plug it in.
* Not 1 single chair to sit on in the room, unless you sit on the bed or toilet
* Caught one of the restaurant wait staff eating a customers left over fries.
* The License to operate their elevator expired 2 years ago, and it only holds 3 people MAX.
* I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend it.

Oh, the location is great, but that's about it!

Room Tip: A tip for all my fellow travelers: Read the reviews!!! If 3 out of 5 reviews are average, your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are truly sorry that you are unhappy with your recent stay as our guest. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#105 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Paradiso
#91 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Property: Penguin Hotel
Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing