We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Around”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #83 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was one of the best hotels i have stayed in south beach,perfect location near the beach ,awesome rooms and service. Front desk lady was very helpful and polite her name is carmen. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, housekeeping very kind, especially the supervisor raisa, she is a great person and helpful.This is my 1st time staying here and i wasn't disappointed. Sure i will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

It is so pleasing to hear such a wonderful review. Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated, and we will be sure to pass them along to those members of our front desk and housekeeping staff that you thought so highly of. We are so happy that you were comfortable in your guestroom and you were pleased with its cleanliness, as we know how important this is to our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our location as well, and we hope you had a good time exploring South Beach. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Did you learn, nothing, reviews suggest back to the bad old days After watching Hotel Impossible in England, iwas going to stop at the Penguin. Glad I checked out trip advisor, I was going to have a ten day holiday before starting work on the cruise ships. You must have changed owner? Still great location, 66 people rated you very good, but 100 voted you Terrible. Hope to see things improve, as I will be looking for somewhere to stay in the future, Work harder, if it is the same Swiss owner, tell him to get his hands dirty, or find something else to do!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig060659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello, Craig. We appreciate your feedback, but we are disappointed that your stay with us did not turn out to be what you were expecting. We have made many improvements to the hotel, and we continue to make even more, so we are hopeful that when you return, your stay with us will be an enjoyable one. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed there few years ago. I booked thru bookit.com and it was around 100/night, The room was small and old but clean. Good location and great value for the money I think. No swimming pool or cafe downstairs but you can walk to beach and cafes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We appreciate your review. Although, it's been awhile since you've visited us, it is never too late to share your thoughts, so thank you. We are glad our location suited your needs and you were happy with the cleanliness of your guestroom and the cost of your stay. It may be time for another trip to Miami. We'd love to welcome you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This has been my 3rd time staying here and it doesn't disappoint. Rooms are never the same, and have awesome murals on them. Great food and service. I'm in Miami at least 6 times a year and I've been there 3 times already. That's gotta say something.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makinmoves12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, and for being such a loyal guest of ours. We are so happy to welcome you back here and it is even better knowing that you had a great experience with us. We are glad that you are always happy with the décor of your guestroom, as well as the service we provide and the food at the Purple Penguin Café. It sounds like you are a regular to Miami, as well, so we certainly hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Only good thing about the hotel is it's location - on Ocean Dr and right across from South Beach. The room was terrible, smelled bad, wasn't clean and was not furnished well. The bed didn't seem very clean either. The bathroom was ok but the tub creaked loudly each time I stepped in or moved my foot!

Overall, not a good stay by any means.

Room Tip: They offer ocean view rooms, but the palms block any view of the water. Might want to consider that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anurag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hello, Anurag. We appreciate that you took the time to send us your thoughts about your recent stay. Although it sounds like you enjoyed the location of our hotel, we are disappointed to hear that your stay with us fell short of expectations. We certainly apologize for the issues you faced with your guestroom and bathroom, and we will be sure to address them with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We thank you for making the choice to stay with us and, again, appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I chose this Hotel because it was featured on Hotel Impossible a TV program. It is all about expectations really. It looks OK but maintenance is clearly an issue paint is chipping and not touched up since quick cheap renovation from the show. The bedding is terrible. The rooms are pleasant but small. The location is the real bonus here. The value is good for the location. If you are looking for amenities go else where and pay more. This is a value for location affordable option as Hotel Impossible to beat for the $.

Room Tip: Not Fitness No Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinGGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hello, Kevin. Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the location of our hotel, as well as the cost of your stay, and we certainly appreciate that you made the choice to stay here. We are sorry for your disappointment in the bedding of your guestroom, as well as the upkeep of the hotel, and we are glad that you brought these points to our attention. We will certainly take them under consideration when we make future updates to the hotel. Thank you again for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I traveled with my husband and our niece to Miami Beach and picked Penguin Hotel because of the location, the price and we thought it looked really cool on the website.
The first night was spent in room 106 (the only room on the first floor?). I got one hour of sleep that night. You could hear everything that was going on in the lobby, the kitchen and even outside. The room had two tiny beds, no night lamp, no desk, no bedside table and we didn't get enough towels or toiletries..
The next morning my husband asked if we could change rooms. The guys in the front desk deserves 6 stars for service! But those guys (and a girl) was the only good thing about this place.. We were upgraded to the second floor with bigger beds, bedside tables, a "kitchenette" and a dresser in the room. Yay! But still no night lamp.. I always read before going to sleep, so that was disappointing :(
Every day we were one towel short, too little shampoo & conditioner and even toilet paper! I seriously sat 45 minutes on the toilet waiting for a roll!
When brushing my teeth I saw filth many places in the bathroom..
The breakfast was also a bit disappointing.. First of all, we had to walk to the hotel behind Penguin to eat.. And the breakfast area was small, as was the selection of food..
All though the hotel could have been much better, we still had an awesome time in Miami!!

Room Tip: NEVER choose first floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajorSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us, although we are disappointed that your visit was not what you had hoped it would be. We apologize for the lighting and noise issues with your first guestroom, but we are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you with another room. We will certainly address the issues you faced with your bathroom with our housekeeping staff, as it is important to us that our guests are well taken care of when they stay with us. Again, we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#182 of 212 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#18 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
165 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#94 of 212 in Miami Beach
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $133 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing