We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really? Are you kidding me?”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #81 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I will never stay here again. The beds were horrible and ancient. None of us could sleep. NOT what you see in the pictures. Very cheap and slummish. Would rather pay the extra $100 to stay somewhere comfortable. Here, you are only paying for the location. Everything else sucks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orchid1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear your experience wasn't what you hoped it would be and that you were uncomfortable in your guestroom bed. We take your comments very seriously and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed for three nights and we loved it! The room was a little bit small but it was very clean! The location can't be beat and the staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was a little on the light side but hey it was free! The beach towels provided were great! The only bad thing was the $20 "resort fee". We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello, Anna. Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with both the cleanliness of your guestroom and the service you received from our staff. We are also glad you liked the location of our hotel, and hope you were able to take advantage of it during your stay. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for one night in January. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location across street from the beach and easy walk to restaurants and shops. The building itself is not in the best of shape. Tiny sloe elevators, creaky beds that curve toward the middle. Don't be fooled by the resort package that is included with a mandatory fee and is supposed to include towels, beach chairs, breakfast. Towels were available but no chairs. Breakfast was at the sister property down an alley and was coffee and toast. The hotel was reasonably priced and clean and unlike another review did have a chair, enough outlets though in odd places, and plumbing that worked fine. The window has a pretty view of palm trees and a bit of ocean. If you are not expecting luxury a pleasant hotel especially for the price paid in high season.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paranapenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel, as well as the cleanliness of your guestroom and the nice view you had. It is also great to hear you were pleased with the service from our staff. We are sorry that the package you had booked was not what you had expected and we certainly appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We thank you for making the choice to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this thru Hotels.com and thought, oh look it says they are newly renovated and all the pics looked great. Now I am no dummy and I have never been sold on pictures alone, but this was WAY OFF!! The room was tiny, but I did see that it was small from the pictures. There was no chair so if you just wanted to sit and work on computer or read you have to sit on bed. The refurbished room has been thoroughly trashed. The windows and walls are paper thin, which is a surprise that they were allowed to renovate and not put in hurricane glass. The shower was hand-held that would not stay in its holder. The TV remote needed new batteries, which the staff apparently didn't have or didn't care, because after asking twice, they never bothered to call or much less go to an empty room and bring another. Night staff was marginal at best. Restaurant staff was quite pleasant and actually the restaurant was pretty good.
Overall, big disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VATravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello, Todd. We thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts about your recent stay. Although we are happy to hear you enjoyed the service from our staff and the food at The Purple Penguin Café, we are disappointed to hear your experience fell short of expectations. We are sorry that you were disappointed in the size of your guestroom, as well as some of the amenities, and we want to apologize that our staff was unable to assist you with your TV remote. Your feedback is very important to us and we will certainly take your comments under consideration. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night before our cruise out of Port of Miami. The hotel has a great location on Ocean Blvd. I couldn't ask for a better spot. I don't expect luxurious from boutique hotels, so I didn't come with high expectations. From what I remember, it was decently priced. We arrived and had our car valeted for $30.00 a night, which I thought was a decent price. The lobby is pretty standard for a South Beach hotel, small, modern, somewhat chic. Our room was on the first floor and had to pass the kitchen entrance to get there, which was a little weird. What I really found bizarre, but hilarious was the ceiling in the hallway. It was covered in a money themed fabric that hung below the lights to give a glowing effect. Our room was very small and had two double beds and a wet bar. Kinda tight for 4 people. The tub/shower didn't look too swell, but the sink and toilet were in decent shape. No counter space available and the bathroom door has foggy windows which are almost see through. Can be kinda awkward when traveling with friends. There were a lack of plugs in the room, so we had to charge our phones in the bathroom. I wouldn't recommend for traveling with 4 people since it felt very cramped (not sure if all the rooms are that small), but it works fine for 2 people. Would consider staying again depending on price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hello, Kurt. Thank you for making the choice to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you liked the location of our hotel and you took notice of our "money" ceiling on the way to your guestroom. We apologize for the issues you found with your bathroom and the size of your guestroom, and we certainly appreciate you bringing these points to our attention, as our guests' feedback is very important to us. We thank you again for your review and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I just got back from SOBE today... I stayed at this hotel... The only thing i can say is WOW.... I was very surprised how the room was very nice... And very cleanit has everything you need... I really enjoyed staying there and the price was very affortable... They give u free breakfast from 9 to 10:30 am or something like that.... ( to early for me lolz) so if you are lookimg for a nice, clean affortable, right where all the action is.. Penguin is the one.. Thank you for e erything.. I cant wait to go back soon again :)

P.S. the only thing i would recommend is to have more power outlets... Because if there is more than 1person with ipad, computer and cellphoone .. Not gonna be enough.. Thanks again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hello, Oscar. Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice experience with us and that you were so happy with the cleanliness and décor of your guestroom and the rates we offer. We are glad you also liked the location of our hotel and we hope you were able to take full advantage of it during your stay. Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The rooms are adorable. Hot luxurious by any means, but for the basically free price they charge, it's a perfect & clean place to stay right in the middle of the action. I recommend staying here on a budget. Perfect location! If you want a super nice hotel with a pool, this is not the place for you. You get what you pay for. I usually stay here for one night the night I fly in and then go else where. If I were really on striped for cash, I actually wouldn't mind staying here for the remainder of my trip.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest one available. The upgraded rooms don't look much different from the picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennJ986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello, Jenn. Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us and we are happy to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness and décor of your guestroom. We are also glad that you find our hotel to be a good value and in a great location. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#182 of 212 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#18 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,385 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
165 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#94 of 212 in Miami Beach
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $133 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing