We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worst hotel bed ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel bed ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I arrived without a prior booking, which was our plan, but they charged us $50 more than the rate I could have had on this site. The location is superb, although one night's car parking will cost you $20, even if you barter and $34 if you don't. The hotel is a throw-back. The corridors feel like something in a prison and although the rooms are clean, they are really basic and tacky. The worst part of our stay was the bed; it had a depression in the centre which left my wife and I feeling like we we clinging on to the side of a hill on either side of the bed! We complained in the morning and were told by the man ager, that all the rooms were like this - no discount!

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the rooms and the beds first, or just pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank angus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Angus,
We are currently exchanging all beds at the Penguin. I apologize if you still had to sleep on one of the old beds. The information you received from our manager is completely incorrect and not all rooms have the same bed because as I said, we are replacing them as we speak and this process should be completed by mid December 2012. In regards to the valet parking, I'm not sure what you meant by $20 or $34. It is in fact $30/night for valet service otherwise you can try street parking but we do not recommend that as meters are free only from 3 am to 9 am, meaning you'd have to keep feeding the meter until 3 am. It is $1.75/hour for the meters. Thanks for staying with us though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    301
    202
    81
    132
See reviews for
115
404
91
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You definitely get your bang for the bucks here! The rooms are very bright and clean. Obviously there have been upgrades to this older building. No view from the room, but alas you can sit in the front under the awning and people watch! The full breakfast menu was awesome, I had the omelet for $8 and it was great! They do have a free continental breakfast but we didn't make it in time. The free cocktail at happy hour was a nice way to wind down from a day of running around. The bartenders were funny and personable. The reservationist was very informative and could answer any questions, like how to and how much to get from the airport to the hotel. Only down side was the front desk staff never broke a smile. The place is solid and you don't hear any neighbors. I would highly recommend the hotel and would return myself.

Room Tip: The room with one bed is rather tight, and did not have a window. The room with two queens was much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCustomer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hey Happycustomer01,
Thanks for your review! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

There were stains and hair on my sheets! I asked the front desk the next morning for them to be changed, they were not. I then found the card in the room which you lay on your bed to have the linens changed, again they were not. This is the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed at! Location was great & the patio restaurant was nice, but I cringed having to go to my room!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Heh 86,
This must have been a huge misunderstanding...If anything, I can tell you that our most common "flaw" is to change the bedsheets too often, even when guests don't request this service. I am extremely surprised to hear that the opposite happened to you. In any case, I apologize for what you had to go through while staying with us. On the other hand your room phone has a button that calls Housekeeping Dept directly; you could have requested your bedsheets to be exchanged immediately and we would have done so in less than 10 min. Thanks for letting us know about our inconvenience though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Yellowknife
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On the plus side, it's on the ocean front and has air conditioning. The bathroom is clean. Otherwise, it's basically a dump. There's an overhead light but no reading lights. The drapes don't completely close. The floor is grey tile and doesn't look particularly clean. There's exposed piping in th room. The hallways look dumpy. Taxi fare from the Amtrak station is about $40.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank solo_female_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
My dear Solo_Female_12,
We are so sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay at the Penguin Hotel. In regards to some of your concerns, I've got to say you are one of the only guests that have requested a reading light in South Beach....South Beach is a party place, not too many guests come here to read but I understand your point. The exposed piping you mention are called sprinkler system and yes, even though they are as ugly as they come, we cannot cover them otherwise in case of fire, our guests would be in great danger. Aside from that, I'm glad to hear you thought are bathrooms were clean and our location was good. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lust in Space huge bed, great room with great views not of the beach but great bodies stripping off next door. The room was clean and a quite place to sleep after a noisy night on the Drive. The staff were great and really helpful and friendly. Bonus was the guest Happy Hours many thanks for that.
We had a great stay and beginning to our wonderful trip around Florida. Thanks for the great tips for eating on the Keys and I hope the guy who's kids were reading the Hunger Games decided to read himself. Anyone who decides to stay here should go with a free spirit and remember that Miami is for Fun and an experience well worth having. If we ever return to Miami the Penguin will be where we stay. Thanks for the Fun.

Room Tip: Lust in space huge bed a good quite nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you Gina for this review! You are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent the night at the Penguin Hotel hotel and still feel itchy when I think about it. It looks ok when you first walk into your room but soon you will wish you were staying somewhere else. The bathrooms are not clean. The rim around the sink was clearly not wiped down. It appears that the seat and rim of the toilet were cleaned but the rest of it was not. We found a HUGE cockroach in the bathroom and then one under the bed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank USANEIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear USANEIL,
We have biweekly pest control inspections so I am very surprised to hear that you found 2 roaches in your room.
In any case we will take care of this issue to make sure it doesn't happen to any other guest in the future. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I was in Miami for a couple of days and I have heard for friends about staying in ocean drive, something like bad coustomer service or low standards of accommodation well let me tell you for my experience that I had a blast , no complains at all , my stay at the penguin was more than I expected, very good service , clean and comfortable, will be back for sure next time by south beach!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hey perritus,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. It makes us feel like it's all worth it!
Should you come back to South Beach, please contact us directly and we will take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,692 reviews
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#158 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Property: Penguin Hotel
Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing