We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excelente!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #82 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Excelente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I was in Miami for a couple of days and I have heard for friends about staying in ocean drive, something like bad coustomer service or low standards of accommodation well let me tell you for my experience that I had a blast , no complains at all , my stay at the penguin was more than I expected, very good service , clean and comfortable, will be back for sure next time by south beach!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hey perritus,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. It makes us feel like it's all worth it!
Should you come back to South Beach, please contact us directly and we will take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    318
    223
    86
    139
See reviews for
137
435
93
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is the best Hotel to stay in South Beach, everyone was super friendly and accomodating that we were planing to extend our reservation. Unfortunately, they were very busy on the weekend so we had to leave, but I will come back for sure. We loved it. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TortorasFlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
TortorasFlas,
Thanks so much for this great comment! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed her with a few mates on a Thursday and Friday in late Sept. Saw some previous poor reviews for the hotel, but we just wanted somewhere clean, convenient & well located at a good price where we could sleep. Room cost just $68 per night plus $15 per room resort fee (which paid for itself as it included towels, beach chairs, in-room safe, breakfast & a free drink at happy hour), booked on internet. Only parking is valet & incurs a $30 per day charge. Don't know what some people expect for their money! Put on review about lack of pool, but same firm own President literally round the corner & guests at The Penguin can use those facilities too.
Excellent location on Ocean Drive right opposite beach & a short walk form nightlife. Rooms more than adequate & ours were both kept clean. All staff were friendly & helpful, especially Fabio on reception. Would definitely stay here again & use money I save to spend on having a good time in Miami

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_boro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Martin_boro3,
Thanks so much for writing this comment. It's so incredibly honest and I am so glad to hear you were able to understand our true value: low rates, great service, amazing location. Come back soon and take advantage of our special discount for Trip Advisor reviewers. Please mention this review next time you book with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent service here at the Penguin. This hotel is in a great location. Rates are very reasonable. Highly recommend this hotel. Clean and quaint. Fabio checked us in and was a HUGE help, and very accommodating. A++++ (I never write reviews, but had too for this hotel) hope it helps!
LB

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebadgwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Lebadgwell,
Fabio is a great asset to our reception team and our hotel in general, thanks for recognizing that. Should you come back to Miami Beach, please make sure to book with us directly and mention your Trip Advisor review for a super-saver discount. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Penguin from the 22-25,2012. I loved the location right across the street from the beach and night life was close enough to walk too. The hotel was cute and clean, and the rooms are a perfect size. My favorite part of staying here was the staff they made us laugh all weekend even when we wanted to cry cause there was so much rain lol. Thank you supervisor "goatee" and "the best salsa dancer ever". I would def come back here. See you soon! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiChii_XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks Chi_Chii, awesome review of yours!! We are all great salsa dancers here so come back soon for more classes....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in The Penguin from Sept 23-25. Booked online and payed 75$ per night. It is a nice location just 3 to 4 block away from all the nightlife, which is nice. The rooms where ok for the price. The service was good also. I was a little scared for all the negative reviews but I was surprised that it was not bad at all. This is definetly not a 5 star hotel but it is pretty good for the price. It was pretty clean and we always had new towells.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia_gongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Patricia,
I love honest reviews like yours. We offer very competitive rates and nowadays this is one of the most important reasons to book a room. I am glad you had a good experience while staying with us.
Thanks for writing this comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is really charming, it is just across the beach, the rooms are so bright, the idea of mirrors facing the bed makes is a nice trick to give impression of bigger room, however the conditioning system needs to be improved because it is very noisy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HARBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear HARBeirut,
Thanks so much for your comments. It'd have been very helpful if you had mentioned which room number you stayed in so we can take care of this issue immediately. If you see this message, please email me with this information. Thanks again and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#91 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Property: Penguin Hotel
Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing