We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabio working the front rest was very accommodating and a huge help.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #85 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabio working the front rest was very accommodating and a huge help.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent service here at the Penguin. This hotel is in a great location. Rates are very reasonable. Highly recommend this hotel. Clean and quaint. Fabio checked us in and was a HUGE help, and very accommodating. A++++ (I never write reviews, but had too for this hotel) hope it helps!
LB

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebadgwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Lebadgwell,
Fabio is a great asset to our reception team and our hotel in general, thanks for recognizing that. Should you come back to Miami Beach, please make sure to book with us directly and mention your Trip Advisor review for a super-saver discount. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    335
    232
    92
    141
See reviews for
147
451
97
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Penguin from the 22-25,2012. I loved the location right across the street from the beach and night life was close enough to walk too. The hotel was cute and clean, and the rooms are a perfect size. My favorite part of staying here was the staff they made us laugh all weekend even when we wanted to cry cause there was so much rain lol. Thank you supervisor "goatee" and "the best salsa dancer ever". I would def come back here. See you soon! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiChii_XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks Chi_Chii, awesome review of yours!! We are all great salsa dancers here so come back soon for more classes....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in The Penguin from Sept 23-25. Booked online and payed 75$ per night. It is a nice location just 3 to 4 block away from all the nightlife, which is nice. The rooms where ok for the price. The service was good also. I was a little scared for all the negative reviews but I was surprised that it was not bad at all. This is definetly not a 5 star hotel but it is pretty good for the price. It was pretty clean and we always had new towells.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia_gongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Patricia,
I love honest reviews like yours. We offer very competitive rates and nowadays this is one of the most important reasons to book a room. I am glad you had a good experience while staying with us.
Thanks for writing this comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
246 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is really charming, it is just across the beach, the rooms are so bright, the idea of mirrors facing the bed makes is a nice trick to give impression of bigger room, however the conditioning system needs to be improved because it is very noisy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HARBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear HARBeirut,
Thanks so much for your comments. It'd have been very helpful if you had mentioned which room number you stayed in so we can take care of this issue immediately. If you see this message, please email me with this information. Thanks again and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had two rooms at the Penguin hotel on Ocean Drive for one night pre-cruise. I don't understand those who consider the rooms to be small or dirty. Our rooms were great -- clean, bright and comfortable -- loved the unusual décor -- and having another sink in the bedroom was very useful. Couldn't wish for a better location. An easy walk to Collins and Lincoln with many restaurants and bars just steps away from the hotel and right across the road from the beach. We also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was that the bathroom door was made of glass so the lights from outside shone in. We draped a towel over the bathroom window to block some of the light. As others have mentioned, the breakfast was pretty sparse -- we just grabbed a coffee and went somewhere else for breakfast. Overall, though, we loved the hotel and would stay there again -- and for longer. Great price, too, for South Beach.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in a dark room, ask if there are rooms with wooden bathroom doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Ruth,
Great review! Thanks so much for all the compliments. It was very interesting to read your comment about light coming in from the bathroom window because most bathrooms are Penguin face to the sides of the building and there are no light poles there. Hmmm..I'll definitely look into this. Thanks again. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We didn't stay here, but popped in for a drink whilst staying in Maimi and visiting South Beach.
It was Happy Hour and wehad a great time sampling the "Penguin Cocktail" which came in a penguin shaped cocktail shaker! We also had great value canapes.
Our server was Timothy, who looked after us admirably and was great fun. We loved sitting on the terrace watching the sun set over the beach. The music was great and it was not so frenetic and noisy as some of the larger bars were. We loved it and will definately return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Peykake,
So you were one of the lucky ones that had tried our amazing "Shake your Penguin" cocktail?? How great is that??!!! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. It means a lot to us and you are right, Tim is great. We love him too!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I think this is a good hotel for the budget holiday maker. We chose this hotel as we had no plans to spend time at the hotel, it was literally a sleeping and bathing base. I stayed here with my family and my one friend, we booked 2 rooms. The rooms were clean but both had very old baths with the plastic on them peeling. The bathrooms needed refurbishing, although ours was actually in better condition than my moms. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, with fridge. The AC was quite noisy too.

All the staff were very friendly, especially Raul who makes some great cocktails! The dinner prices are very good and portions are more than generous. The cost of the hotel included a $15 daily fee, which included the use of beach towels, beach chairs and continental breakfast. The receptionist failed to mention that we had to go to the President hotel for breakfast which was round the corner. The breakfast was very basic, a choice of 3 cereals and toast and jam, coffee and tea or juice. The breakfast was very poor, in fact you cannot call it continental, there is a Starbucks up the road which would have been better.

All in all, this hotel did it's job, great location for the beach which was our primary concern, and if you want something cheap it is ideal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Sharon2000,
Thanks for your comments. We will work harder on the points you mention that we need to improve on. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#81 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Property: Penguin Hotel
Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing