We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great stay in South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviere South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Ranked #124 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great stay in South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Riviere South Beach Hotel is a quiet oasis in bustling South Beach. My girlfriends and I enjoyed our stay because it put us in the heart of art deco south beach but allowed us to get a good night sleep away from the much busier Ocean Ave. Its just a short walk to the beach, Ocean Ave bars and a 10 minute stroll to Lincoln Ave Mall. The facility is very well maintained. To get to your room you go through a locked gated/guests-only area with lovely tables and chairs between the reception and the rooms. That was a lovely touch and it was a nice place to meet other hotel guests.

The rooms were clean and minimalist in decoration but very functional and comfortable. The room had a mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and plates, cups and utensils. We certainly loved our kitchenette and used it daily. Here's a kitchenette tip: the hotel provides coffee that's packaged in its own filter. So if you buy your own coffee remember to get filters for the coffee maker. The bathroom was tiny but then again there were three women sharing it. It needed more hooks to hang towels and clothes up but we made it work. The shower had solid water pressure and heated up quickly which is always a plus. Since you are a block from the beach there are no sweeping views from the room. If you are looking for an ocean view suite this isn't the hotel for you. The staff was polite and helpful. They will store your luggage if you arrive early and call you when your room is ready. If you are heading to the beach the hotel will give you a beach towel.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The Riviere provides great value for your money. It is in a perfect location, clean, safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metrochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review! The great thing about our hotel's location is that it is close to the beach, but does not get as loud as a hotel on Ocean Drive could get. All the rooms have kitchenette, which is convenient if you don't want to go out to eat every time you get hungry. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had a comfortable stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us again for any future stays.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    194
    79
    17
    17
See reviews for
124
120
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

For us if the hotel is clean everything else that follows is usually good. This was the case with the Riviere South Beach. The rooms are spacious, the reception staff was helpful and made the check in process fuss free, despite us calling them to book at the last minute after a problem we had with another hotel. The location of this hotel is excellent, a little walk to the beach & the Lincoln Road Mall. I recommend this hotel no problems at all and definitely will book there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsita72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy that we were able to save your vacation with a last minute reservation. We are always prepared to complete the check-in procedure as quickly and efficiently as possible, and do our best to ensure that you feel comfortable during your stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

South Beach is a very lively and potentially hectic place. However the Riviere offers quite a tranquil atmosphere.
My room was quite basic, but pretty spacious. It had a tv and wifi, and a clean toilet.
As for the location, you're not in the heart of the South Beach action. It's a 10 minute walk from Lincoln Road Mall, and a 7 to 10 minute walk from all the bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive. Also the Hotel itself is not directly on the beach - so you'll have to cross Collins Avenue and walk a couple minutes to see the sand. . .that might be an issue for people wanting that beach holiday feeling.
Regarding the service, it was okay. The staff were neither rude nor over enthusiastic.However one guy at reception was very nice - he carried all our luggage from our car straight to our room. Regarding cars, the hotel does not have its own car park, but has a valet agreement with a nearby garage, so you'll have to pay approx $15 per day (which is pretty normal for South Beach).
In summary, this hotel was adequate, and did the job. My stay was pleasant without being spectacular. If you want somewhere quiet to stay, in an otherwise busy area, this might be a good place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are happy that our rooms were to your liking. Parking can be a bit of a hassle sometimes, but fortunately valet parking is widely available as well as a few parking garages in the area. My only disagreement is your comment on our location, since I feel that a hotel which is roughly the same distance away from most of South Beach's attractions should be considered to be in a central location. Also, although the property is one block away from the beach, it allows us to remain at a fair price when compared to most of the hotels on Ocean Drive. We really appreciate your comments, and we hope that you will contact us again for any future stays.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October for 4 nights on our holiday. We chose this hotel due to other reviews on TripAdvisor and the great rate we got for our stay! The location of the hotel is great, it is just 1 block from the beach and the main "South Beach" area. To get to our room we were required to climb one flight of stairs. This wasn't much of a problem but needs to be kept in mind if travelling with a lot of luggage. The room was neat, tidy and large. The bed was comfortable. The only fault we could find with the room was that the air conditioner was quite loud even on the lowest setting. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and gave us good advice about how to get around Miami. There is no breakfast service there - which did not affect us as we prefer to try the local foods. The room did have a kitchenette with a fridge that we could use and cutlery/bowls which we found useful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and definitely found it to be value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground level if you have trouble with climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihearteurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you were comfortable with our accommodations as well as our convenient location. Unfortunately, due to the layout of the building, we cannot install an elevator at our hotel. However, our staff is always willing to help you carry your luggage to your room. We hope you will choose to stay with us once more should you be in town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a great experience with them, friendly staff. Clean room, walking distance to food, stores and beach. Thanks to other that recommended them on Trip Advisor. And a great room rate if you arrive early for a cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Storm003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay. Our hotel is at a very convenient location in the center of South Beach. It is also about a 15 minute drive to the Port of Miami, which is ideal if you plan to enjoy the beach before going on a cruise, or for relaxing an extra day after a cruise. We hope you will remember us if you come back to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We chose it for its location. In the centre of the Art Deco district.. I have a genuine fear of heights and as this is only two storeys I did not have the usual frustration of asking for a low floor and finishing up on top.. Nearby are many eating places from sandwich bars to gourmet dining. A short walk takes you to the fabulous white sandy beach. Almost next door is a very friendly travel agency who arranged our local tours. As for the hotel itself, it is excellent. Lovely room with microwave, fridge, ample storage space, super clean shower room ,wi-fi, flat screen TV and very comfortable mattresses. The receptionist (Romero) was very composed and helpful, confirmed our flight booking and arranged a taxi for us. We were able to leave the luggage in a secure room whilst we had our last bit if sightseeing before the flight. Three days of pure enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Our hotel is conveniently located in the center of South Beach, which means we are walking distance from most of South Beach's attractions. We are happy to hear that you liked our new rooms, and that our front desk employees have been helping guests with their needs. We hope you will consider us again in the future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

very pretty hotel, it's renewed, the rooms are so nice, flat tv, conditioner and all you need.. location is perfect, 3 minutes from the beach. the only problem is the parking but they provide a good and quite cheap car valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italiansinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mario,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that our rooms and amenities were to your liking, and that you were able to take advantage of our hotel's convenient location. Parking can sometimes be a little bit of a hassle, but fortunately we have a reliable valet parking company that we can always hire. We hope you will keep us in mind if you come back to Miami Beach in the future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Suites on South Beach Miami
#105 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
City Center
Odyssey of South Beach Hotel
Odyssey of South Beach Hotel
#114 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviere South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviere South Beach Hotel

Property: Riviere South Beach Hotel
Address: 1424 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4104
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviere South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riviere South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviere Apart Miami Beach
Hotel Riviere Apart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing