We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad introduction to Miami” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach to your Saves list
Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad introduction to Miami”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well what can I say, yes it was cheap, but it would have to be free for me to stay again. The evening receptionist needs to go to charm school, you would of thought we had come to rob her not check in. The corridor to our room was littered with toilet paper, and the room, well we were gutted, the bath was filthy and the enamel peeling, the ceiling was patchy and flaky and that is being kind. We complained and were given another room which was only marginally better. We knew we had not paid a lot of money but it was filthy, clean and decrepit would of been acceptable, but it needed cleaning thoroughly and by the smell of it something had died there recently. What a horrible hotel, couldn't wait to leave it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lycaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Seagull Hotel. I am sorry you had a bad introduction to Miami and hope the rest of your stay went better. We do take cleanliness seriously and would have like to addressed your concerns while you were here so we could have acted on them. Thank you for staying with us and we hope if you do try us again you will find that we have been succesful in our efforts to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    130
    229
    147
    342
See reviews for
212
251
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is just at the end of the central area of South Miami Beach, right by the beach and at walking distance from Ocean Drive. It must have been a nice hotel some 40 years ago, and it still has remnants of its old glory in the style of the building and of the interiors. Unfortunately nowadays it's not at all in good conditions, the rooms are pretty old and ugly, the staff aren't nice. It looks overall as a cheap solution for tourists in transit. I've been at other hotels in South Beach, and I don't think it's hard to find nicer places, even at the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Seagull and for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not like our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We are scheduled to be upgradeded this year and hopefully if you come back you will find a change that is to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to Miami with my family for new years and we stayed 10 nights. We picked this hotel because it had a very good price in an excellent location. Just 4 blocks away from Lincoln Road. There is a bus stop in the corner and you can go anywhere you want, including the airport, malls, etc. You can even rent bikes in the very same block of the hotel.

It had all the facilities that we needed. It was clean and comfortable. The pool is great and you only need to walk a few steps to go to the beach. Our room had a lot of space (even though we were 4 people) and the most beatiful view to the beach (with balcony as well)


If I had to make any complains: the ATM which is in the hotel was out of service, and the housekeeping personel were not very nice. But who cares.. as for the rest, we are very satisfied with the hotel and would definitely come back.

I think the hotel has only two stars but it should have three at least. I don't know why people complain about this hotel. If you are looking for something nice, comfortable and cheap, then choose this hotel. If you are too picky and want luxury, then go for a more expensive option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Seagull Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again and have a happy and healthy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spend 3 night at the Seagull. It is cheap but old and worn down - but still, good value for money.
If you want a cheap place to sleep while beeing close to the beach, then the Seagull is perfect

Lots of parking places in front of the hotel (public)

Room Tip: The higher floor the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian_S_Jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach whilst working in Miami in September.
I believe this was the days inn hotel previously.
Unfortunately the Hotel has seen much better days and is in need of some major TLC.
The rooms are big but dated and in need of refurbishment the carpet and floors and bathroom have all taken a battering and look tired messy and run down. Having said that my shower was good and the bed was comfy. The TV however was fuzzy on every channel.
The Location is pretty good though being just a minutes stroll to the beach. It is opposite the W Hotel and surrounded by big smart hotels. It's a 10 minute walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants of Lincoln and has the Bass museum of art 3 mins away.
The Hotel does have a pool out the back but i didnt find it until the last day so didnt manage a swim.
I didn't pay for the room as i was working so can't comment on value for money but there must surely be nicer hotels in better repair for the same money that would be a better option than here.
There is a a cracking little dive bar next to the Hotel (Free spirits?) where we whiled away a few evening quite happily and the food there wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmorals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The people were nice but this place is a dump. The lobby is deceptive compared to the rooms. I just needed a place to stay before catching my flight and was too tired to keep driving and looking. It looked busy enough so how could so many people be wrong? I'm not sure but they were!

I had a room on the ground floor in the back of the hotel alley / pool area. I had to use the chain lock because the other lock turned so hard because the metal framed door was beat. Not a safe room to stay in for sure. The tub was dirty and grout was falling out of the tiling. Couldn't check in til 4pm and wanted to check out 2 seconds after seeing the room. I don't know if they had hot water because there's no way I'm stepping in that tub.

I would never even think of staying here for more than one night. It wasn't even cheap enough to say that it would be a crash pad while partying but the room was really large.

Room Tip: Choose another place. You're almost at the nice one's if you're coming from the North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller6719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review, i am very sorry you were disappointed in the pool room that you chose. We take your concerns very seriously and are looking into your comments. Thank you again for your time and have a happy and healthy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You are better off finding a park bench or a hostel than staying here. I have stayed in some pretty horrible places in my time but this one takes the cake. Yes it might be in an alright position but unless you like dilapidated rooms, weird smelling lobbies, doors that are jammed shut and paying way too much for poor service don't go here. The elevator sounds like it is going to break every time you get in it, the in room phones don't work and if you are tired and hungry and don't feel like venturing out of your room you may as well live in the bathroom at maccas. There is no food available to the room and the bathrooms at maccas would probably be a better place to be than the ones here. The handy man here should be fired as it looks like a two year old has patched up the holes in the wall with Papier-mâché.

Room Tip: Any room that is no inside this hotel. PLEASE DON"T DO IT TO YOURSELF!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomPilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, I am sorry you were not happy with your stay and did not find our hotel to your liking. We are in the process of upgrading it this year. We wish you a happy and healthy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#148 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#179 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
#173 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#153 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Property: Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
Address: 100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Days Inn
Miami South Beach Days Inn
Hotel Days Inn South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing