We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
Ranked #146 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dirty and smelly”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel and booked to stay for 5 days. I left on the 3rd day!

The staff are lovely but the hotel room and corridors are discusting and dirty. The carpets are unhoovered and smelly and the bathroom was just as bad. I did not feel clean the whole time I was there.

The walls are very thin so I could hear all the noise and music from the person staying next door.

The location is great and I know this is a budget hotel but I expect my room to be clean. There was also bugs in the room.

I have to stress that the staff were lovely and very helpful but I couldn't stay in the hotel another night.

Pay extra to stay elsewhere. You also have to pay for parking all day and night!



  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pankol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are very sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations and you decided to leave early. We hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your vacation in Miami Beach. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns so we may learn from them and we appreciate your kind words about the staff. We wish you a happy and healthy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    168
    266
    173
    391
See reviews for
299
306
118
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went for a family holiday and stayed in the hotel for a couple of days and the service was awful, the staff were rude and have no people skills nor manners. The room quality was vial, cigarette burns in bed sheets, dirty carpet, unclean bathroom and the worst was additional costs which were not mentioned like the safe which they charge you even when you do not use it. The only plus side was the refill on towels but awful service and the hotel smelt of weed not to mention the lift breaking down on people. Do not go here!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am very sorry we let you down and you were not happy with the hotel and received poor service. I wish we were able to address your concerns during your stay so we could have acted on them immediately. We hope you had a safe trip home and wish you a happy and healthy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Ok it's not a five stars hotel and it's not exactly new. But, at this price and for such a location (it's right on the beach), it's quite a bargain. Rooms are spacious and clean; all the amenities are there too, like in a more expensive hotel. The reception girl was not that smiling but who cares!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmdaguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again in the future and we will make sure the receptionist is friendly and smiling. We wish you a happy and healthy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Please do not book this hotel. The staff are RUDE. The rooms are dirty! You dont even wanna use the shower as you will come out dirtier than you went in! I dont even no how this hotel is still open. The swimming pool worse than the southend sea. You cant even close your eyes and sleep as you are worried cockroaches will crawl up next to you. My poor god son was sick after we stayed here maybe it was all the mold on the walls and the floor. How the cleaning staff cleaned the hotel is beyond me as they looked like they needed a good scrub too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shujah12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,NJ
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I'm writing another review because I always use this hotel as an example!! I'm HotelBody & I travel a lot. Years ago it was my first time in MiamiBeach & @ that time the hotel was The Days Inn. Everything in this place was nasty, dirty & I have know idea why this place is still operating??!!!!! The elevator got stuck twice, the doors had been broken into, my view was a roof, the beds had a real foul smell, the tub was well just 4get that part, I'm not sure but I swear I seen a mouse but I can't be sure nor would I be surprised... Even though it's a new name, I'm sure by the new recent pictures it's under the same mgt so please please please don't stay here!!!!!! I'm so sad for those who were suckered in like I was years ago by bogus online pictures. PS, I didn't stay here in Oct 2011 but the date thingy doesn't go back to when I did so you have to pick a date to write a review.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am a huge NBA fan and I had to visit the miami heat nba finals in south beach this summer... I stayed in this hotel because it offered a relatively cheap price when compared to all the other hotels, especially during such rush time when everyone wants a place to stay near the miami heat's stadium. Anyways, the hospitality was great, the rooms were very clean, and the staff was very friendly. Best of all, the price was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I loved my stay. Everything from the room to the staff. The overall value was excellent. If you are looking for a place to call home while in Miami, this would be it. This hotel should not be confused other hotels

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evaninvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#163 of 208 in Miami Beach
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#100 of 208 in Miami Beach
952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ocean Spray Hotel
#186 of 208 in Miami Beach
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
3.4 mi away
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Property: Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
Address: 100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Days Inn
Miami South Beach Days Inn
Hotel Days Inn South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing