We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it for the price”
Review of Hawaii Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawaii Hotel
Ranked #201 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“I liked it for the price”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

it's not perfect but fun. Under 70 get you in a decent location on Miami beach. The owners do need to take care of a few things but it's not that bad. The tile floors look nice but I dont think they mop them very well. I took a swiffer mop with me but next time i will take my Hann steam mop . There is a little mold around the windows bit this hotel is very old and it's on the beach. I would advise you to pack extra towels and an area rug, and an universal remote. Dont count on the breakfast, its only white bead , and generic cereal.I will stay again because I'm on a tight budget. There is a great grocer around the corner across the street that sells hot cuban food and made salads and sandwiches that are good and dont cost much.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor, I cannot vouch for the first floor as far as mildew smell or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    25
    26
    74
See reviews for
24
64
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

There were little flies in the room. I had killed a handful and it felt like they just kept multiplying. The room had a stench of mold. I asked for a refund because no one should be subject to those living conditions, but there was no manager available and could not help. The next day I was advised that the bathroom had been fumigated. Total lie. The flies were still there. I understand this isn't a 5 star hotel but still shouldn't this bad either. I read the awful reviews and thought it couldn't be that bad, but it is. Turn away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebe9912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I'm here now actually awaiting on the Shuttle to the Airport. Despite reading all the Negative Reviews I decided on taking a Chance only because I love the Beach!!! Honestly The Room wasn't bad!!! Who comes to Miami to stay in their room? Its a bed,restroom,old TV,old air conditioner Clean tiled floors!! Diana the front desk clerk was Pleasant. The midnight clerk was pleasant!!! That's it!!! I love the Large front Terrace at The Ocean Spray next door that I used!!! Would I return? Not Sure!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location is great but the rooms and facilities are very tired for the money. The days inn next door looks much better. The a/c didn't work and both the bathroom and fridge doors were rotting out at the base. Breakfast was a hoot. Served next door there were about 10 seats so people ate sitting on the walls and steps and a rush developed any time they topped up the meagre supplies of frozen bread, muffins or fruit.

Room Tip: Go next door to the Days Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoveToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

His place is the worst hotel I have stayed at in my life.. I have been to remote places in Africa and the had better hotels there ... This place is is shambles and not even worth 30 dollars a night ... Just stay away and spend your money on a better place which will give you piece of mind .. The service is terrible.. They don't even provide enough towels ... The TV remote doesn't work .. The room phone does not work and there is no hot water... Please do not spend money on this... Sleep in your car rather

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Unhelpful front dest. Hesitate to help. Too much attitude for a place like this.
Extra money for parking on the street.

The first room we got smells mouldy. The bed sheet was damp. No remote control for the air con and TV. No hair dryer. Dead bugs were found on the floor. Live mosquitoes were flying around, sucking blood.
We went to the front desk to have our room changed. She was reluctant. But eventually did so. The interaction was very unpleasant.
The new room we got was on the second floor, much better than the one on the first floor, but still, it was just okay.

In conclusion, we won't stay there ever again.

Room Tip: If you have to go there, ask for a room facing the beach on the second floor. At least the room won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is overpriced for what you get, wait hold on, you don’t get anything! This hotel is part of 3 hotels. Need the iron? Go next door. Need a microwave? Go next door. Need to get into the hotel? Buzz and next door will open it for you. Let’s just say the person who sits at the front desk is not concierge she is the accountant...lol My boyfriend made the shower head by tying a towel to allow the water to spray...lol Let’s just say I will never be staying at this hotel again or any of their neighboring hotels.

Great Location :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelQueen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#142 of 208 in Miami Beach
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Baltic Hotel
Baltic Hotel
#162 of 208 in Miami Beach
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.9 mi away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#5 of 9 in Surfside
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Hotel
The New Hotel
#9 of 27 in Miami Beach
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Hotel

Property: Hawaii Hotel
Address: 7430 Ocean Ter, Miami Beach, FL 33141-2719 (Formerly Ocean Way Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawaii Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawaii Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Ocean Way Hotel
Rodeway Inn Miami Beach
Miami Beach Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing