We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Moon Hotel - great place to stay in South Beach Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #51 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at the Blue Moon hotel for one night on our way back from Peru. Our flight landed at 6am and we got to the hotel by 8am. The taxi cost $32. We had hoped to check in early but the hotel was full so we were not able to check in until 3pm. They stored our luggage until check-in time. The hotel was very nice and the woman at the front desk was courteous. They offered a nice buffet breakfast which is included in the room price. They had boiled eggs, waffles, breads and pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruits and juices. They also have free afternoon snacks and lemonade. The hotel provides beach towels. The bedroom was very nice and peaceful. The bed had a duvet. The bathroom had toiletries and there were comfy bathrobes in the closet. There is a great Cuban restaurant down the street called Puerto Sagua at 700 Collins Avenue. Also my favorite gelato place, called Leccalecca, is at 1051 Collins Avenue. The hotel is central and only a block from the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. We booked our room on the hotel’s website. I chose it based on reviews I had read on this website. I thought the price of $111 was extremely reasonable. Also, the hotel seems to be very popular with Europeans.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2009

Being in the hospitality and tourism industry I tend to approach my travel with a critical eye. Having not been to SOBE for a number of years, I was unfamiliar with the hotels and really wanted a hotel with a great location and that was clean. The SOBE stay was on the front end of our vacation prior to a Western Caribbean cruise so I wanted things to start out right. After reading many reviews, we decided to book the Blue Moon and I was very happy with our choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was well maintained and clean. My only bit of advise is that if you are not used to street & city noise request a room away from the front of the hotel - on the Saturday night of our stay SOBE was hopping until the wee hours and found the street noice keeping us awake. The fact that there were ear plugs as a room amenity (which don't really work) would indicate that we were not the first ones to experience this issue. As for the location, just one block off of Ocean Dr. in the heart of SOBE was, for us, a A1 location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrTCfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is a great little hotel that is one block away from the beach. It has a continental breakfast and its avarage. The rooms are good some have been upgraded some have not. The best part about this hotel is that its so close to the beach. The staff is excellent and the most important thing to me. IT'S CLEAN!! If you don't want to drop a ton of money then go here and as for the food you are in one of the best areas for restaurants in genral so take advantage and go out to eat.....recomend emeril's on collins ave....

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Really cute hotel in a great location 1 block from the madness that is Ocean Drive. Our room (311) overlooked the garden and pool area and yes the garbage truck came at 7am on the Mon morning but that lasted for about 2mins and did not disrupt our stay at all. I wouldn't have liked a room on Collins Ave as I think that might have been quite noisy but an e-mail to the hotel with a request for a quiet room solved that - thank you Marc. The staff were helpful without being over friendly and we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was simple (my husband loved making his own waffles) and we enjoyed eating outside every morning listening to the water fall. All in all a good hotel in a great location - although the only slight niggle would be the price but then everything in Miami Beach is expensive and it was a Sat/Sun we stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfan2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed at the Miami Blue Moon Hotel Mar-31-April-2-2009 Talk about a slice of paradise. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff who always had a smile and a fun suggestions for my wife & I. The hotel is only a short distance to breathtaking South Beach, and some of the best restaurants in Florida. South Beach Miami is filled with sounds of the ocean, laughter & the many languages and accents of friendly beautiful people from all over this world. Our Room at the Blue Moon was in a King suit in the older building, looking over Collins Ave. It was just beautiful and modern mixed with the old Miami Deco feel. The Florida bay windows were a little noisy from street noise, but why are you in your room it's MIAMI have FUN!!! The AC got icy cold if needed. I loved the intimate deco pool and soft loungers. We were so relaxed when we got home we needed another vacation. I'm sure the rooms in the new section are much quieter. The staff is very accommodating! Heads Up- There is a 7.00 USD per. day charge for Beach Towels & Breakfast etc. Also be prepared to spend 25.00 USD. Per. Day. on Valet. NO PARKING! word of advise to car owners...renters, Whatever you do do not parallel park it's like "Bumper Cars" out there & we have a nice car $$$ so Valet it ASAP! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlacidSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Blue Moon is a nice art deco hotel in South Beach, Miami Beach.
Location is great, one block from Ocean Drive and the beach and one block from Washington Ave, with a lot of food places and nightlife.
The hotel itself is white and blue with three stories and light and airy rooms. The only elevator is a squeeking old thing that has a logic of its own. Some oil for the inner iron gates would silence the operation.
Day staff were friendly and very helpful, night staff when we checked in was somewhat grumpy and would not lift a finger to help with suitcases etc. at check-in.
There is a funny extra fee of 7 USD per day for "amenities" such as internet access, breakfast, pool towels etc. Small fee for a lot of extras. But I find it a strange system, why not add 7 bucks to the room price???

Breakfast is OK, with make-your-own waffles, a selection of bagels , muffins and croissants. But it bothers me to drink OJ and coffee out of plastic cups, when the plates and cutlery are real and washable. Not good from an environmental perspective, and certainly lowers the breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatianatemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This is a great place to stay for the money. I thought the hotel was a good price, and it was in an excellent location for South Beach. You can walk a block and get on the beach in just a few minutes. The room we stayed in was very clean and nicely decorated. Room service was good, and they provide towels for going to the beach.

The two drawbacks we had:
1. The airconditioning is super noisy, impossible to sleep when its running. Perhaps that's why they provide ear plugs on the bed side table. After trying to sleep with it running the first night, we had to chill down the room and turn it off before going to bed the remaining nights. There is also construction across the street, which starts pretty early in the morning.

2. If you want a room with two beds, be sure to call the hotel directly to book, instead of booking with a travel site. We thought we would get a room with two beds based on what Hotel.com said was available, but when we got there were told they had sold out of that room quite a while ago.

You have to pay an extra amount per day for amenities which you dont find out until you get there and check-in. It coveres continental breakfast and a snack in the afternoon, and a few other things. The breakfast is pretty good but the afternoon snack is not. Its usually consists of apples and the packaged peanut butter cracker snacks.

The martini bar is really nice, I recommend the Chocolate Martini. Bartenders are friendly and informative about the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvycattraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Dream South Beach
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,328 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#95 of 212 in Miami Beach
781 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $164 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection is ideally located on Collins Avenue, combining two historic Miami Beach hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool at this Florida beauty or on the sky-lit patio with breathtaking views of South Beach. Enjoy our fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing