We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #49 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Hotel had been recently done up on our arrival. It is in a great location, a block from Ocean Drive/ the beach. Staff were all so friendly and extremely helpful. Staff at reception advised what we could see and do in the immediate location, doorman/bellboy also told us some of the things on offer while he took our bags to the room. Had breakfast and dinner in FIX and would highly recommend trying it, the staff were only too happy to talk through the menu and make recommendations. The freshly made cocktails at the bar were delicious, the barmen again were happy to make many suggestions about what they could make for you. The room we were in was small but was comfortable, there was a dressing table and flat screen so we couldn't complain. We did not use the pool but it is very small. Bus stop is very convenient for Aventura Mall. Would definitely recommend if you are after a boutique hotel in a quiet location of Miami Beach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatsMyNameAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    632
    176
    101
    61
See reviews for
201
705
85
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Like most of the other reviews here, my experience ate the Blue Moon was great. I had no problems with noise in the room although the potential was there. We had a second floor room overlooking the pool. Had there but a large group of noisy people using the pool at night it would have been heard but we did not have that problem. The room was spotless and everything was in perfect condition.

The room was small and had little storage space but that is typical of all 'historic' hotels. I am much happier that they kept the Art Deco style and didn't end up removing walls to enlarge the rooms. The new decor is very much in keeping with the Art Deco spirit and very well done.

The front desk, wait staff, and bellman were all very friendly and accomodating.

I did see reviews about the additional cost of parking and lack of a fitness center. All I can say to that was both are true of virtiually every hotel in South Beach. If you are interested in those things, go to one of the big chain hotels not the boutique style hotel. The cost of valet parking is listed on the hotel web site so should not be a surprise. If you want to park your cark yourself, there is a city parking garage 2 blocks away. You can save $7/day over the cost of the valet parking.

The bar is comfortable and the drink prices are 30% cheaper than on Ocean Drive. They also have an espresso macine for those of us that enjoy real coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeb1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was here on business at the end of September, and it was a very nice experience. The location is very good, a block from Ocean Drive, so if you want all that crazines, it's very close to the center of the action, but much, much quieter. On the downside of the quieter, the bar tended to close early, like right at midnight. So, if you wanted a quieter drink, you had to go somewhere else. Lots of options close by though. This is convenient to the Miami Beach Convention Center and all of South Beach.

The room was also good. A little small, but not anything that made you feel cramped. The renovation in the room was good. The very small, old fashioned elevator, was something of an adventure. But hey, at least they have one. You don't need the pool, since the beach is a block away. Plus, the pool is about the size of 3 bathtubs, with no air ventilation. So it's really really hot! You're likely to be the only one there as it isn't much of a hangout kind of place.

No fitness center is the only other major facility drawback. If I was that motivated I could have asked if they had any affiliation.

Front desk service was excellent at all hours. Got me a taxi to the airport very early on a Sunday morning. Were very helpful with a late check in after an awful flight.

Overall, a good value, good facility, boutique flavor. I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Membermaine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This property was built in the late 1930s and has been recently updated. Everything is new. The rooms, although on the small side and no balconies, are very comfortable. The staff is very helpful and the location is also very nice, one block from the beach. If you are looking for a quiet hotel with the charm of an Art Deco building but with brand new interiors, I think you will like this. It is affiliated with Marriott so you can earn Marriott Rewards when staying here.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Collins Ave and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was really impressed by this place, because I didn't know anything about it other than some reviews on tripadviser. It's really chic up-to-date Miami design, in gorgeous art deco building. The location is fantastic if you're wanting to be near the action, and the beach. Yet, it wasn't noisy.

I didn't dine or have breakfast, but the bar and dining / breakfast areas looked really really cute. I wished I could stay longer.

Great experience. And friendly local staff. Nice surprise ... I will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpareOfTheMoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I travel to Miami frequently for business. When I have to choose a SOBE hotel, it's a nightmare. There are so many properties, and most are old, dingy and spartan inside. This trip, I checked into the President, stayed in my room for 1 hour, then checked out - it was pretty bad. I pulled up the Marriott website and noticed the Blue Moon, which I had not seen before. I booked it hoping for the best. I absolutely love this hotel. I will stay here everytime I go to SOBE. Yes, the building is old, but everything has been redone. It's modern and clean inside and the staff is super friendly. The rooms are small, but they are well appointed - drawers, lots of plugs. Everything is new, clean and very comfortable. I never felt cramped. The hotel restaurant and bar Fix has really amazing breakfast menu. It's also very modern, clean decor and a very accomodating staff. The hotel is in great spot, just a block from Ocean Drive and within walking distance of everything. I didn't spend any time at the pool, but they have a beautiful back patio area as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laketravishill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice stay at Blue Moon Hotel. Just a short walk to the beach from the hotel, very convenient. Staff was courteous and friendly. Fantastic lamb burger at the bar. Room was recently renovated and small but nice. Awesome bartender Travis helped make the stay exceptional. Thanks guys for a great stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the alley or higher up. Was quite noisy outside, but I'm a heavy sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,724 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Essex House
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,853 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#77 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,440 reviews
Dream South Beach
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection is ideally located on Collins Avenue, combining two historic Miami Beach hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool at this Florida beauty or on the sky-lit patio with breathtaking views of South Beach. Enjoy our fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing