We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Ranked #21 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at this property for a long weekend. Staff were wonderful!! Room was nice but on the smaller side. The restaurant fare could be improved upon. Would return to this hotel when in South Beach. Suggest oceanfront room with a larger suite.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. In regards to your comment about the size our rooms, it is important for us to point out; we are a boutique style hotel, just like the rest of the hotels on Ocean Drive. What our rooms lack in space they more than make up for in style and modernism.Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just renovated and a nice job. Great hotel and a great location. Not super lux, but with its update it is indeed a much better hotel than many of the hotels you might think are of a better quality (example, the Ritz where the rooms are sorely in need of an update). The updated rooms are wonderful. The beds are as comfortable and fluffy and the decor open and inviting. We stayed 1/26-31 on the 11th floor and must note that housekeeping was amazing. The room was cleaned every morning to perfection -- a standard you never see anymore when you stay multiple nights even at the finest hotels! We note for the management that they have a quality team cleaning the 11th floor and please complement them for us. Also the concierge lounge staff is great. It is set up with better food and a a better display then you see even at some of the nicest buffets. What a superior service. I forget the man's name who attends in the morning but he was also there when we stayed last year -- wonderful guy, does a great job. Check in and check out -- both ladies were outstanding. Patty at the pool and the man who works with her -- they do a great job as well. I have returned without sunburn due to the great effort Patty took to keep my umbrella properly situated -- what service. Food and food service -- super. Lunch items are super and a perfect price point. Great burger, nachos and salads. Door men - great job.

Note on a few things near the location that will make your trip even more enjoyable -- in addition to being in a super spot on the beach, please note a few things that will make your visit outstanding. The hotel is 2 blocks from the local bus - 25 cents a trip and it makes the loop around the entire SoBe area. It just makes it super easy to get everywhere without a taxi. Bring some quarters and get around a bit further than you might on foot. Try yoga on the beach -- it is at the yellow life guard stand to teh left of the hotel every morning at 7 am and 5 pm - 3rdstreetbeachyoga.com for more info. All levels -- no set fee but you should give a donation -- and as most yoga classes I attend go for about $16-20 dollars, this is a super amenity near the hotel. A nice way to great the morning and add to your morning walk and I did a few of the classes and can tell you these are great instructors. Do not miss puerto Sagua on 7th -- quaity cuban food that is inexpensive, a local legend. And don't be intimidated by rime 112 across from the hotel. It has amazing food. finally go to Joe's Stone Crab, but go to the take out, not the restaurant. You can pick out the food a bit better because it is on display (and thus not over order) and you can purchase bottled wine at store prices. The dining area is adorable and the staff will make sure you have what you need! Enjoy! These tips will give you an excellent line up for a short trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have a city or beach view. You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 71Teal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for providing such a detailed description of your stay with the Marriott Stanton South Beach. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great Stay at Marriott Stanton South Beach. Their entire staff is quick to smile and eager to please.
Location is wonderful as it sits right on the beach with a view of the beach while at the pool which is rare at South Beach. Steps to the Art Deco section and bike rentals as well. Our second time at this property and very pleased with the remodel of the rooms which were great with the balcony and beach/city view.
Patti at the pool made our time sunning there a wonderful experience. Spot on service with style and a great attitude. Behind all this is their wonderful GM David Cronin a man of his word, a true professional. Great place to stay at South Beach!

Room Tip: Balcony with ocean and art deco view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billscottvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments.Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Stanton beach, south beach Miami. It is a nice beachfront boutique hotel with up to date guest rooms. The room we booked was citi view, which upon entering pleasantly surprised us to be able to see beach and ocean as well. Another nice touch was receiving extra points on our account as appreciation from Marriott for being a card holder for seven years. One thing our room needed was a "please make up the room" door card, so that we could let them easily know when to make up the room, as a couple of days were missed. As Marriott elite gold card members we had access to concierge lounge benefits which included breakfast daily and happy hr drinks/snacks nightly (not fri/sat) which we really enjoyed. The pools were nice, some days warmer than others. Poolside food was good with great service from a woman who you could tell, enjoyed the job. She greeted us by name the following day. They also had a very nice pool towel and chair service woman, Patty, who excelled at her job! She set up our towels on the lounges, put up and moved the umbrellas when needed and consistently knew when we needed something at the pool. It was a very pleasurable experience. We did not lay out on the beach much but there were towels available, chairs, umbrellas and even shaded beds which we really were considering relaxing on for a day (everything but the towels was extra $). My husband and I indulged in a wonderful couples massage outside. The only qualm about it was, we were told tip was included in the price, come to find out they added 20% after the fact which showed up on our check out statement. The morning we were leaving, we spoke with the front desk about this and instead of handling it, they wanted us to speak to the massage therapists about it. Well, they were not around before we had to head to the airport. We really thought the handling of the situation was unprofessional. Be watchful of bills, because some areas of the hotel include tip while others don't, which is inconsistent. The weather was amazing and the hotel is in a great location. We could easily walk to and see the huge cruise ships and container ships coming in as well as to nice parks and restaurants. All in all we are likely to return to Miami and possibly stay at this hotel, although we usually do not return to the same hotel more than once when there are many other tempting places to try.

Room Tip: Choose a city view room on the side of the hotel in order to see both ocean/beach, city and the huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverlymlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for providing such a detailed description of your stay with the Marriott Stanton South Beach. While I am happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, I would like to express my apologies for the misunderstanding you experienced with our Spa. I can assure you that we will share your feedback with our team in order avoid any misunderstandings in regards to the added gratuity for our spa services and we will move forward with your review in mind. Above all, we wish for our guests to have the most attentive and superior service possible, and we make it our priority to provide that. Let us know when you head back to South Beach; we'd love to have you back to see the improvements we've made and show you a hassle free vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My friends and I go away every year for our Girls weekend, often to Miami. We stayed at the Marriott Stanton this year. First, the good - 1. Great location, right on Ocean Dr. in South Beach, on the beach, walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. 2. Great staff, front desk, valet and especially the beach staff (thanks Byron, Fonzi and crew for fabulous service) - all friendly, ready to go the extra mile. Now the 'Needs Improvement' - 1.$17.99 to rent a movie, really?, the 2. 'Spa' is 2 chairs and a table in a tiny space for a $50 pedicure. Rooms were OK, not great, very cheap furniture on balcony, in rooms with 2 beds they were Doubles. (how about a Queen). The pool area is tired, pools are small, water feature is moldy. Really not up to Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean view, rooms in front are very noisy at night with all the activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationlover061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest:
I’d like to thank for sharing your experience at the Marriott Stanton South Beach. I am pleased to hear that you were extremely satisfied with our staff's level of service though we apologize you were disappointed with our recreation areas, as well as the price for some of our pay per view movies, and the size of our beds in our double rooms . You can be rest assured that we take all feedback we receive under serious consideration and use it to improve our guests' experiences every day. In reference to your comments about our recreation areas, we have great renovation plans for mid-2015. In regards to the price of the pay per view movies, we offer a variety of movies at different prices; the ones that are still showing in theaters are priced higher. I hope that you will consider returning to the Marriott Stanton South Beach once our re-design is completed; we would love your experienced opinion on the changes we make!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a great location on Ocean Drive, close enough to walk to all of the great shops and restaurants yet quiet and relaxing when you return after the day's activities. Very nice setting with pools overlooking the beach and direct beach access. Very helpful staff at the pool, front desk, valet service. When I made our reservation, I mentioned that my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. So, that first night the hotel surprised us with a small bottle of Prosecco and chocolate covered strawberries - nice! We were upgraded to an ocean view concierge room that was beautifully decorated in white and gray, very modern and sleek. The Concierge Lounge was fantastic, more than just continental breakfast and snacks. Breakfast items were hot and cold, everything you could want for adults and kids. Happy hour food was wonderful as were the late-night chocolate cake bites. We come to the Art Deco Weekend each year and we'll be sure to come back to this hotel many more times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review. Please let us know when your travels bring you back this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was my 3rd trip to South Beach in the last year. I have previously stayed at Eden Roc (previously Marriott owned) & Fountainbleau. The Marriott Stanton South Beach has a great location oceanfront right on Ocean Dr. It is right across from the delicious Prime 112 and next to Prime Italian. Since we were only there for a long weekend, this location was perfect as we did not have to take a taxi anywhere. This hotel is definitely less of a "resort" feel, but it was sufficient for what we needed (beach, pool, nice room and nice location). The pools are a little smaller, but the hotel was not super busy so it didn't matter. The hotel was just renovated, so the rooms were spacious, clean and new. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room which had a great balcony with beautiful views of the beach. There isn't much nightlife at the hotel. It seemed like everyone went out for dinner and or drinks. If you like a quiet hotel with a great location right on the beach and ocean drive - this is definitely a great hotel. Check out my other reviews of Fountaibleau and Eden Roc - certainly a different atmoshphere depending on what you are looking for out of your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum4843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you liked our redesigned new rooms, as well as our excellent location, and our hotel amenities. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back !

#TravelBrilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,642 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,315 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $265 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy effortless glamour at Marriott Stanton South Beach. Our Art Deco-inspired South Beach hotel in Miami Beach, Florida fits right in on Ocean Drive with some of the most stylish buildings in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing