We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific for our one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Ranked #22 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
271 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Terrific for our one night stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We landed in Miami and hopped in a cab to the South Beach Marriott. It was still pretty early so we correctly assumed that our room wouldn't be ready. The hotel held our bags for us and we headed out for some lunch.

After lunch we headed back to the South Beach Marriott (which was brightly and boldly decorated for Christmas) and our room was ready. Before heading up the room the staff offered us a complimentary Mojito. That is the way to start a vacation!! The room was bright, airy, and modern with two full size beds. We also had a nice view of the ocean (no balcony but did have a sliding window), counter top, chair, coffee maker, refrigerator, shower, and large bathroom.

Breakfast was buffet style and offered a good variety. The one downside was the service. There really wasn't enough staff to handle the guests inside and outside. It took us ages to flag someone down to order drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustHrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for providing such a detailed description of your stay with the Marriott Stanton South Beach. While I am happy to hear that you your vacation had a great start and that you liked our redesigned new rooms, I would like to express my apologies for the service failure you experienced at our restaurant. I can assure you that we will share your feedback with our team and we will move forward with your review in mind. Above all, we wish for our guests to have the most attentive and superior service possible, and we make it our priority to provide that. Let us know when you head back to South Beach; we'd love to have you back to show you a hassle free vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    692
    206
    85
    59
See reviews for
543
838
81
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We travel over 200 days a year, and as you can imagine we have seen the good and the bad. but never have we experience something this severely horrible. Let me first point out that the horrible experience is solely because of the management at this location, the line-staff was actually very accommodating and pleasing.

Prior to our arrival at the Stanton we received an upbeat letter from the Stanton reassuring us that although they were nearing completion of their construction, it would not affect our stay; and specifically, there would not be any construction going on in occupied rooms. Further, the letter stated construction would start at 9am. We actually called and confirmed all of this, and we were reassured by phone as well.

We arrived with another couple and they put both of us in -the only line of- rooms that had construction going on. There was actually scaffolding set up on our balcony and men on our balconies from 6:30am on, everyday. The simple thing to do would have been to move us to one of the many ,many available rooms that did not have construction going on, but the general manager and his assistant manager refused to move us ,and continuously lied. Yes I said "lied" , there is no mistaking the lies.

First they lied and said there were no other rooms, a blantant lie , as we could see the hotel was not nearly fully occupied. But since they continued to lie, we actually booked all the days of our vacation online and presented it to them. So the next lie was that we booked it through a discount vendor and therefore they wouldn't do anything for us, another lie we documented. Then the next lie was that we knew there was construction going on in our rooms, another lie that we proved by presenting their own letter stating that construction was after 9am in unoccupied rooms. Next, Manager actually tried to say that we were not telling the truth and there was no construction on our balcony, such a big lie, I have photos of the scaffolding and the men on our balcony I took everyday. And we brought manager's assistant over to the area underneath my balcony ,where he actually heard my wife screaming in fear to get the men off my balcony because She had just come out of the shower and was asking them to get out of my room.we asked Mr. Managers assistant manager to move us ,please ,begged him even, and the assistant said that he wanted to see the men because he didn't believe us, even though there they were , right in front of him, next he tells me that he is Jewish and because he is Jewish he doesn't lie. Wow, this is getting weirder !!!!

The story goes on, and Manager and his assistant go on to make up new and additional lies which the four of us innocent customers have to disprove, but the bottom line is that they never did move us to another room, and we were not safe the entire trip.

We never experienced something this bad at any hotel, and the worse part of it all is that it never should have happened, all they had to do was the right thing, to move us. We still don't know why they refused, but it seems like it has to do with revenue, they were holding other rooms for higher paying folks perhaps? I imagine Manager will write another lie about this review , just as he lied all along. We were able to disprove all of manager lies objectively , so customer beware!!!!

By the way, the line staff is great, too bad they have to take direction from these two men, the line staff was so sympathetic, but that they couldn't do anything to help us get out of these rooms because it was solely up to the management.

I would hope that anyone would be very upset if he left his wife at an unsafe hotel room with men on her balcony peering in , whille he left for business meetings. And I would hope that anyone would be aghast when the men in his hotel room came into his room and veiwed his wife naked and refused to leave for 5 days, and there was nothing that he could do, because ( manger) refused to get him a safe room for his wife and friends.

This experience shows that you are taking your chances when you stay at this location. If everything goes right, you will have a good experience, but if something goes wrong, don't look for management to make good on it and do the right thing.

I don't think anyone (except The management ) could argue that the guest is entitled to a safe room that does not have contruction workers in the actual room. Marriott guest relations was very sympathetic to our situation with the management at stanton , and they agreed that we should be moved, but they said they did not have the authority to help us because the hotel is independant. They did elevate the case to Mr. Marriott's office because they thought that perhaps they could do something. In case you are curious, the most frustrating part of this is that Mr. Marriott's office stood by management, obviously becuase they had no authority to help us,management has the final say because they are independently run.

I can't imaging that "Mr. Marriotts office" would actually stand behind Managements decision not to move 4 people out of a dangerous rooms.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Honeyman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, General Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Community,

As you see, we do our best to respond to and acknowledge every post on TripAdvisor, good or bad, and we respect and encourage your feedback and experiences in order to help us continually maintain and improve on the experiences we provide. That said, there is certainly another side to this story and we find it in everyone’s best interest not to ignite the fire so to speak by continuing the conversation further on this forum. This guest was asked to not return to the Marriott Stanton South Beach. No successful hotel would operate in the manner described in his posts and our Management & Associates have been successfully operating Marriott Stanton South Beach for years and have years of professional experience that wouldn’t allow for such a situation to occur. We welcome you to contact us directly with any questions concerning this post.

We look forward to welcoming you and having you be our guest to experience our newly renovated resort for yourself!

Thank you for your consideration and understanding.


David Cronin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This Marriott beach hotel is ok. Old but refurbished in many areas. We got a newly refurbished suite with very comfortable and good bed. The service was friendly and nice. We stayed for three days and then continued on a cruise. There are a lot of restaurants and breakfast places nearby.
Recommended place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a new refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjornGSallstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel, our service, and especially your upgraded Suite! I Please let us know when your travels bring you back this way, I t would be a true pleasure to host you again!

#TravelBrilliantly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I read Trip Advisor reviews about this Marriott, before making reservations. My wife and I stayed here for three nights and requested an ocean front room. The view was great. We were on the south side of the hotel so we could see the inlet where the cruise ships enter and exit the port of Miami. The room also overlooked the pools and the beach. We ate several meals at the hotel, since the food was good and convenient. All staff at the Hotel were outstanding. Overall , one of the best places that I have stayed.

Room Tip: I recommend any room that has an ocean view. South side you will see the inlet and cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

As good a marriott as you will find. Perfect beach spot, clean comfortable rooms. A little south of mass craziness. But right next to Nikki beach. Pools are great and have some nice shade. Fitness center small but works. Starbucks in lobby super helpful. Would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 4MGOBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we look forward to serving you again soon and hearing your feedback after your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice beach area, staff has been great, especially fonzi green, the beach manager...he is so accommodating, so nice, I would come back just for him...he made the day....Marriott, u have a a great guy there

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments. I will share your very nice comments with Fonzi. We look forward to serving you again soon and hearing your feedback after your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Overall I thought it was a nice hotel with modern furnishings and friendly staff. I stayed only one night before leaving for a cruise and it was conveniently located to the port of Miami. (only about $20 in a taxi)
Our oceanfront room had an incredible view with a balcony and two chairs. It made for a relaxing night before the cruise.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine15106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at Marriott Stanton South Beach! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you enjoyed the incredible view from your oceanfront room and that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!

#TravelBrilliantly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,975 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,480 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,228 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Property: Marriott Stanton South Beach
Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing